You are not logged in.

#1 2013-07-30 20:53:59

Legogris

makepkg fails to build kernel

This is my first time building the kernel myself. Following this wiki page:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ke … ild_System

makepkg or makepkg -i fails with this output:

[...]
Hunk #1 succeeded at 56 with fuzz 2 (offset -2 lines).
==> Starting build()...
make: *** INTERNAL: readdir: Not a directory
. Stop.
==> ERROR: A failure occured in build().
Aborting...

Subsequent calls to makepkg looks like this: http://ix.io/6Xf

Additional info:
* Linux 3.10.3-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT x86_64 GNU/Linux
* Trying to build 3.10.

I made a bug report here after consulting people on #archlinux here: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/36337

As you can see it's closed since it's intended behavior. What did I miss?

#2 2013-07-30 22:42:01

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
Website

Re: makepkg fails to build kernel

rm -rf src/ and then makepkg finishes without errors.

What does this tell you? And if you've made a package, why are you requesting assistance?

The point of the prepare() function, is to make the sources ready for the build() function. In this case, a file was created in the source directory due to a patch. When you next ran makepkg, it extracted the contents of the source archive, overriding the previously extracted and patched sources of the first 'makepkg', and then applied the patches to the newly extracted files. Once it encountered the file that was created during the last prepare() function it didn't know what to do, and flagged an error, causing the build to fail. I recommend that you use a clean chroot for your building purposes. Not only will you avoid these problems, you will also prevent packages compiling against libraries that you may not want them to build against. (which prevents headaches down the line after you remove package X, and then find out that package Y was greedy and compiled against package X's libraries, even though you didn't explicitly tell it to)