You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-10 14:54:37

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,868
Website

WARNING: Not enough clusters for a 32 bit FAT! [SOLVED]

Trying to create a fat32 partition on a new SSD for the efi.  I partitioned a 150 M partition on /dev/sda1 and marked it as an EFI System with gdisk (ef00 code).  When I try to format it to fat32 I get:

# mkfs.vfat -F32 /dev/sda1
mkfs.fat 3.0.20 (12 Jun 2013)
WARNING: Not enough clusters for a 32 bit FAT!

My EFI bios does not recognize the filesystem even though I copied over Shellx64.efi to it.  Nothing on a google search of relevance.  Anyone else hit this and solve it?

Last edited by graysky (2013-08-10 15:38:20)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#2 2013-08-10 15:38:09

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,868
Website

Re: WARNING: Not enough clusters for a 32 bit FAT! [SOLVED]

EFI is such a poorly implemented f*cking pain.  Repeating this same procedure no less than 1 mo ago worked fine on identical hardware but now I had to add the following to my formatting step for reasons that baffle me (this is the solution):

mkfs.vfat -F32 -s 2 /dev/sda1

/hissy-fit

Last edited by graysky (2013-08-10 15:43:23)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2013-08-10 20:41:56

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,413

Re: WARNING: Not enough clusters for a 32 bit FAT! [SOLVED]

I am curious how you managed to find that solution to your problem?  I mean, what lead you to think to specify the sector size at all?

FWIW, I have heard in the past that it is often not possible to make a FAT32 filesystem on anything less than a half a GB (512M).  Though, I have been able to specify 'F32' on smaller without any kind of warning like what you have gotten.  I am not sure what influences this (in)ability to do this, but from my experience I know that this filesystem size is not always a limitation.

These days, I just always make my ESP 512MB to 1024MB just for the sake of ensuring that I don't ever have to deal with that crap.  Though I am fairly certain that my machine is fine with FAT16 as well, so I don't know that it would actually make a difference.

I'm not sure how you arrived at calling EFI poorly implemented, when in reality it is the FAT filesystem that you are battling.  I'm not saying that I thnk that the implementation of UEFI is perfect, but it just seems that you are complaining about the wrong thing in that statement.

Offline

#4 2013-08-10 21:19:15

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 9,868
Website

Re: WARNING: Not enough clusters for a 32 bit FAT! [SOLVED]

@Wonderwoofy - The solution was actually on this wiki page.  What pisses me off is the inconsistency... I have partitioned 100 MB EFIs for a while now formatting them to fat32 via `mkfs.vfat -F32 /dev/target` with no issues.  Why all of a sudden does it throw errors causing the BIOS to not recognize the partition?  EFI is a mess if you asked me.  Never had an issue with a "bios" setup before.

BTW, it looks like I have Intgr to thank for posting the solution to the wiki page on 05-Aug.  Thank you, Intgr.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#5 2013-08-10 21:35:35

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,413

Re: WARNING: Not enough clusters for a 32 bit FAT! [SOLVED]

I too would be interested i knowing what cases cause a system to be unable to format a FAT32 partition that is less than 512MB.  It seems odd to me that I can heard numerous times of this being an issue, yet have never run into it myself. 

I don't know that the actual UEFI spec is a mess so much as the implementation by the hardware vendors.  Even in these cases, I still don't know if it is the UEFI that is causing the issues so much as the closed and buggy firmwares that are often shipped.  It is unfortunate that the standard by which firmware is deemed acceptable is in its ability to successfully operate with windows... that same can be said about acpi.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB