You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-13 22:24:53

doc1623

interface old vs new naming

I'm new to arch. I installed 3.10.5-1-ARCH

Here
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Beginners'_Guide
it states
"Warning: As of v197, udev no longer assigns network interface names according to the wlanX and ethX naming scheme. If you are coming from a different distribution or are reinstalling Arch and not aware of the new interface naming style, please do not assume that your wireless interface is named wlan0, or that your wired interface is named eth0. You can use the command ip link to discover the names of your interfaces."

and from here
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … vice_names
"Device names
For motherboards that have integrated NICs, it is important to have fixed device name. Many configuration problems are caused by interface name changing.
Udev is responsible for which device gets which name. Systemd v197 introduced Predictable Network Interface Names, which automatically assigns static names to network devices. Interfaces are now prefixed with en (ethernet), wl (WLAN), or ww (WWAN) followed by an automatically generated identifier, creating an entry such as enp0s25.
This behavior may be disabled by adding a symlink:
# ln -s /dev/null /etc/udev/rules.d/80-net-name-slot.rules
Users upgrading from an earlier systemd version will have a blank rules file created automatically. So if you want to use persistent device names, just delete the file."

So I had a wireless interface wls2s0. New and different to me, but something I can get used to. But after reboot it all of the names changed back to the old names (well after two reboots, first the wireless was old but the regular nic was new). Old being eth0 wlan0.