You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-22 18:47:03

mythus
Member
From: MS Gulf Coast
Registered: 2008-05-15
Posts: 509
Website

[SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Greetings,

After my update preformed on August 22, 2013, at around 13:20 CDT, I go and reboot my computer like any good linux user does after a kernel update. I of course checked out the news and whatnot before the update.

When I rebooted and after KDM loaded, I was greeted with this:

We are sorry. Plasma Desktop Shell closed unexpectedly.

Executable: plasma-desktop PID: 830 Signal: Segmentation fault (11)

So I alt-f2 and ran firefox to search for ways to fix this.

I found one thread that said to change the plasma-desktop.desktop startup type from unique to mulit, so I checked that out. It was already on multi.

Rebooted. Nothing. Problem still exists.

I then saw a thread that said to add a sleep 10 to the execute plasma line, but it was for 32bit systems. Mine is a 64bit system. No matter, worth a try right? Didn't work.

I have searched and searched some more, but no luck. So now I must come to you and hope that I didn't somehow overlook something.

What can I do to get plasma desktop to run again on my x64 arch linux system?

Thanks in advance for all your help!

EDIT: I figured out the answer after I posted this topic. Figures. I just needed to remove the .kde4 folder. So I made a backup of it, and now, no more crash.

Last edited by mythus (2013-08-22 18:52:18)


Legends of Nor'Ova - role playing community devoted to quality forum-based and table-top role play, home of the Legends of Nor'Ova Core Rule Book and Legends of Nor'Ova: Saga of Ablution steam punk like forum based RPG

Offline

#2 2013-08-22 21:51:53

gartrog
Member
Registered: 2009-04-15
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Same problem here.
I wouldn't call 'removing .kde4' a solution... I have a lot of config and stuff here, and I don't want to spend hours re-adding stuff from backup to new empty folder one by one to make sure things work everytime.

Looking at my install log I would say the more probable culprit is pyqt : 4.4.10.2-2 -> 4.10.3-1
No idea why that would break plasma badly though.

EDIT
Downgrading pyqt did not solve the issue... Weird.
I booted the computer today, everything was fine. Upgrade showed only a handful small things (inc. pyqy4, see below). After a reboot plasma started crashing.

List of packages updated today:
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded gnupg (2.0.20-2 -> 2.0.21-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded isl (0.12-1 -> 0.12.1-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded lib32-gettext (0.18.3-1 -> 0.18.3.1-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded lib32-glib2 (2.36.3-2 -> 2.36.4-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded pyqt4-common (4.10.2-2 -> 4.10.3-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded sip (4.14.7-1 -> 4.15-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python-sip (4.14.7-1 -> 4.15-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python-pyqt4 (4.10.2-2 -> 4.10.3-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python2-sip (4.14.7-1 -> 4.15-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python2-pyqt4 (4.10.2-2 -> 4.10.3-1)

Last edited by gartrog (2013-08-22 21:59:33)

Offline

#3 2013-08-22 22:46:34

MrJabucko
Member
Registered: 2012-12-28
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Same problem. For me, also kded crashed. Removing whole .kde4 folder is not a solution to me too. But since it seemed to 'solve' the issue ( it made it work ), i tried to find something inside the folder.

What helped was (re)moving two folders.

cd .kde4/share/apps/
mv kded kded_old
mv plasma plasma_old

Before moving both folders, try to move just plasma folder. For me it froze ( not even ctrl+alt+F1 did not work ) right after loading plasma, then i tried to do that to kded too.
After reboot it works. Everything seems normal so far, except for two lost widgets - cpu load and temperature ( they were in the plasma/plasmoids folder ).
Trying to reinstall and readd them causes plasma to crash and restart. Maybe the two plasmoids are not compatible with new KDE4 yet? Or bug?

Offline

#4 2013-08-22 23:40:35

Thaodan
Member
From: Dortmund, Nordrein-Westfalen
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 448

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

just downgrade its not your fault


Linux odin 3.13.1-pf #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Mar 5 21:47:28 CET 2014 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Offline

#5 2013-08-23 00:04:26

rufus
Banned
From: san francisco
Registered: 2013-04-20
Posts: 153

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

@Mrjabucko can you narrow it down to one app probably temperature plasmoid
  and file a bug please.


end ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
     'the machine is not the end to the means., we are. In history, in board rooms and politic the greatest  decision and effort
        evolves from passion, lust for life, and a common sense of humanity. Never forget what you are and why'.         -me

Offline

#6 2013-08-23 00:14:31

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 7,143

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Thaodan wrote:

just downgrade its not your fault

I don't understand this logic. What does it's being your fault or not have to do with identifying the best technical solution?

Last edited by cfr (2013-08-23 00:15:22)


CLI Paste | How To Ask Questions

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | refind | stub loader | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x270 | Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @ 2.50GHz | Intel Wireless 8265/8275 | US keyboard w/ Euro | 512G NVMe INTEL SSDPEKKF512G7L

Offline

#7 2013-08-23 04:31:18

MrJabucko
Member
Registered: 2012-12-28
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

rufus wrote:

@Mrjabucko can you narrow it down to one app probably temperature plasmoid
  and file a bug please.

Both plasmoids caused crash. I was not using any other plasmoids, maybe other would cause it too ( i'm going to check it out ). I'll investigate it a little bit more before filing a report, if i find a fix, i'll post.

Offline

#8 2013-08-23 05:09:38

Thaodan
Member
From: Dortmund, Nordrein-Westfalen
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 448

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

cfr wrote:
Thaodan wrote:

just downgrade its not your fault

I don't understand this logic. What does it's being your fault or not have to do with identifying the best technical solution?

Because its related to:
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded pyqt4-common (4.10.2-2 -> 4.10.3-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded sip (4.14.7-1 -> 4.15-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python-sip (4.14.7-1 -> 4.15-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python-pyqt4 (4.10.2-2 -> 4.10.3-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python2-sip (4.14.7-1 -> 4.15-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python2-pyqt4 (4.10.2-2 -> 4.10.3-1)
and not through an config error caused by him.


Linux odin 3.13.1-pf #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Mar 5 21:47:28 CET 2014 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Offline

#9 2013-08-23 09:27:40

elfio
Member
Registered: 2011-05-03
Posts: 34

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

I had the same issue and I solved it just by rename .kde4/share/apps/plasma and I lost nothing. I have two plasmoids: notes and calendar, and both of them are still ok and plasma-desktop working back smile

Thank you!
I hope this could help somebody smile

Offline

#10 2013-08-23 11:21:55

Xi0N
Member
From: Bilbao - Spain
Registered: 2007-11-29
Posts: 832
Website

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

I have the same issue on 32 bit and removing   .kde4 did not fix it..... I still get the error plasma-desktop giving  a segfault....
Any more ideas?

Offline

#11 2013-08-23 11:58:28

Thaodan
Member
From: Dortmund, Nordrein-Westfalen
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 448

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Downgrade python-pyqt4 python-sip sip pyqt4-commonto the last version  (booth python and python2).


Linux odin 3.13.1-pf #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Mar 5 21:47:28 CET 2014 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Offline

#12 2013-08-23 12:32:15

Shimara
Member
Registered: 2013-08-23
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Same problem + after wake from suspnend plasma didn't restore. Tried remove .kde4, but after while err was back.

kcrash report

Application: Shell plochy Plasma (plasma-desktop), signal: Segmentation fault
Using host libthread_db library "/usr/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
[Current thread is 1 (Thread 0x7fc50572d780 (LWP 857))]

Thread 3 (Thread 0x7fc4e3816700 (LWP 859)):
#0  0x00007fc503ff0fff in pthread_cond_wait@@GLIBC_2.3.2 () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#1  0x00007fc4f69c2fdb in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtScript.so.4
#2  0x00007fc4f69c3019 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtScript.so.4
#3  0x00007fc503fed062 in start_thread () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#4  0x00007fc502d71a2d in clone () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6

Thread 2 (Thread 0x7fc4543c8700 (LWP 860)):
#0  0x00007fc4ffe87b60 in g_main_context_check () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#1  0x00007fc4ffe8801b in ?? () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#2  0x00007fc4ffe8818c in g_main_context_iteration () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#3  0x00007fc5043aaba6 in QEventDispatcherGlib::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#4  0x00007fc50437cb5f in QEventLoop::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#5  0x00007fc50437ce55 in QEventLoop::exec(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#6  0x00007fc50427b6ef in QThread::exec() () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#7  0x00007fc50435e303 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#8  0x00007fc50427dd8f in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#9  0x00007fc503fed062 in start_thread () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#10 0x00007fc502d71a2d in clone () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6

Thread 1 (Thread 0x7fc50572d780 (LWP 857)):
[KCrash Handler]
#5  0x00007fc4e517de86 in TaskManager::TaskGroup::add(TaskManager::AbstractGroupableItem*, int) () from /usr/lib/libtaskmanager.so.4
#6  0x00007fc4e5162474 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libtaskmanager.so.4
#7  0x00007fc4e51652c8 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libtaskmanager.so.4
#8  0x00007fc504391ba8 in QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, QMetaObject const*, int, void**) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#9  0x00007fc4e5183ce5 in TaskManager::TaskManager::activityChanged(QString const&) () from /usr/lib/libtaskmanager.so.4
#10 0x00007fc4e5185fb9 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libtaskmanager.so.4
#11 0x00007fc504391ba8 in QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, QMetaObject const*, int, void**) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#12 0x00007fc4ed9a7d02 in KActivities::Consumer::currentActivityChanged(QString const&) () from /usr/lib/libkactivities.so.6
#13 0x00007fc504391ba8 in QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, QMetaObject const*, int, void**) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#14 0x00007fc4ed9a7f35 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libkactivities.so.6
#15 0x00007fc4ed9a7bf9 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libkactivities.so.6
#16 0x00007fc504391ba8 in QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, QMetaObject const*, int, void**) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#17 0x00007fc4ed9b2649 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libkactivities.so.6
#18 0x00007fc4ed9b2893 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libkactivities.so.6
#19 0x00007fc5010e7246 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtDBus.so.4
#20 0x00007fc504395f5e in QObject::event(QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#21 0x00007fc50350412c in QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libQtGui.so.4
#22 0x00007fc50350a6f0 in QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libQtGui.so.4
#23 0x00007fc50512e72a in KApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libkdeui.so.5
#24 0x00007fc50437defd in QCoreApplication::notifyInternal(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#25 0x00007fc504380f4f in QCoreApplicationPrivate::sendPostedEvents(QObject*, int, QThreadData*) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#26 0x00007fc5043ab2c3 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#27 0x00007fc4ffe87d96 in g_main_context_dispatch () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#28 0x00007fc4ffe880e8 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#29 0x00007fc4ffe8818c in g_main_context_iteration () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#30 0x00007fc5043aab85 in QEventDispatcherGlib::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#31 0x00007fc5035a12e6 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtGui.so.4
#32 0x00007fc50437cb5f in QEventLoop::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#33 0x00007fc50437ce55 in QEventLoop::exec(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#34 0x00007fc504381f8b in QCoreApplication::exec() () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#35 0x00007fc4ee04c2cc in kdemain () from /usr/lib/libkdeinit4_plasma-desktop.so
#36 0x0000000000408069 in _start ()

Offline

#13 2013-08-23 12:50:38

Chawoosh
Member
From: Russia, Siberia, Tomsk
Registered: 2013-05-11
Posts: 40

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Today I had crash of plasma. Removing plasma configs (~/.kde4/share/config/plasma*) restore normal boot.

Offline

#14 2013-08-23 17:12:49

gartrog
Member
Registered: 2009-04-15
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Downgrading sip in addition to pyqt indeed solved the issue.
Waiting impatiently for the patch to come smile

Thanks guys !

Offline

#15 2013-08-23 18:36:18

Shimara
Member
Registered: 2013-08-23
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Still problem, after downgrading these packages

[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded pyqt4-common (4.10.2-2 -> 4.10.3-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded sip (4.14.7-1 -> 4.15-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python-sip (4.14.7-1 -> 4.15-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python-pyqt4 (4.10.2-2 -> 4.10.3-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python2-sip (4.14.7-1 -> 4.15-1)
[2013-08-22 21:06] [PACMAN] upgraded python2-pyqt4 (4.10.2-2 -> 4.10.3-1)

Edit: I had no choice, downgrade plasma and workspace, waiting for repair this bug

Last edited by Shimara (2013-08-23 19:57:42)

Offline

#16 2013-08-23 20:14:34

Potomac
Member
Registered: 2011-12-25
Posts: 528

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Xi0N wrote:

I have the same issue on 32 bit and removing   .kde4 did not fix it..... I still get the error plasma-desktop giving  a segfault....
Any more ideas?

for i686 architecture the workaround is to edit the file /usr/share/autostart/plasma-desktop.desktop

and replace the line:

Exec=plasma-desktop

by this :

Exec=sleep 10 && plasma-desktop

the segfault is gone and KDE 4.11 now can start without problem,

this workaround was found in a gentoo forum :

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-967222.html

Offline

#17 2013-08-23 21:57:58

salafrance
Member
From: Aelfang's Barrow
Registered: 2013-04-17
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Hi,

I updated earlier today, and I'm getting a consistent plasma-desktop crash on login (I'm using WindowLab, currently). I'm running 64-bit Arch on a Turion RM74 dual core laptop with an ATI HD3200 video chipset.

I've tried the sleep workaround (it didn't work). My plasma-desktop.desktop file was already set to 'multi'.

The closest I've seen thus far to a solution is the procedure suggested by Chawoosh. The desktop *didn't* crash, although it ran *incredibly* slowly and some parts of the screen didn't update. Still investigating.

Offline

#18 2013-08-23 22:47:56

nourathar
Member
From: Bxl
Registered: 2013-04-26
Posts: 110

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Hi Salafrance, as far as I understand the 'sleep' workaround only works on i686/32-bit ?

downgrading python-pyqt4 python-sip sip pyqt4-common to the last version worked on my 64-bit system..

Offline

#19 2013-08-23 22:53:22

frumble
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-05-20
Posts: 162
Website

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Thank you all, downgrading these packages solved the problem on my 64-bit system too.

Offline

#20 2013-08-23 23:05:35

salafrance
Member
From: Aelfang's Barrow
Registered: 2013-04-17
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

An update. I'm back in KDE.  I deleted the .kde4 directory and KDE now seems solid again.

Offline

#21 2013-08-24 09:42:53

fettouhi
Member
Registered: 2007-05-07
Posts: 745

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

elfio wrote:

I had the same issue and I solved it just by rename .kde4/share/apps/plasma and I lost nothing. I have two plasmoids: notes and calendar, and both of them are still ok and plasma-desktop working back smile

Thank you!
I hope this could help somebody smile

I did that, e.g. renaming .kde4/share/apps/plasma* but now I can't launch desktop-effects. Nothing happens when I hit alt+shift+F12.

EDIT: Just ignore this post I just realised that I was running KDE in failsafe mode, DOOH!!!

Last edited by fettouhi (2013-08-24 12:28:40)

Offline

#22 2013-08-25 02:03:11

salafrance
Member
From: Aelfang's Barrow
Registered: 2013-04-17
Posts: 43

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

I have those days, too ^^

Offline

#23 2013-08-25 17:40:40

firewalker
Member
From: Hellas (Greece).
Registered: 2006-06-05
Posts: 553

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

Did anyone reported it upstream?


Γίνε ρεαλιστής, μείνε ονειροπόλος ...

Offline

#24 2013-08-26 01:42:36

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

firewalker wrote:

Did anyone reported it upstream?

Not sure if it's th same issue, but
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/36652
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=323899

Offline

#25 2013-08-26 13:59:11

Chawoosh
Member
From: Russia, Siberia, Tomsk
Registered: 2013-05-11
Posts: 40

Re: [SOLVED!] Plasma Desktop Crash, KDE 4.11.02, x64

I'm testing two possibility:
1. Office comp: plasma configs are removed, all updates enabled.
2. Home comp: problem libs downgraded and blocked from update.
Seems like first way is the most possible. smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB