You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-27 18:19:53

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

[Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

My network controller is Broadcom BCM43142, and I use the broadcom-wl-dkms package. Just now, I performed the latest upgrade. After doing so, I couldn't modprobe wl. I would get this error:

modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'wl': Exec format error

Even after reinstalling broadcom-wl-dkms, I'm getting the same error on modprobing wl. My wifi used to work perfectly so far. Any fixes?

Last edited by swaraj (2013-08-29 20:47:57)

Offline

#2 2013-08-27 18:24:51

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,352

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Did you check the AUR page for comments?

Offline

#3 2013-08-27 18:25:57

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,433

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Rebuild broadcom-wl and reboot.

Offline

#4 2013-08-27 18:40:05

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Sorry, but how do I rebuild? Is it the same as reinstalling by yaourt (because I've already done that)? [I can also do it manually, but I think the process is the same.]

Offline

#5 2013-08-27 18:42:33

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,433

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

swaraj wrote:

Sorry, but how do I rebuild? Is it the same as reinstalling by yaourt (because I've already done that)? [I can also do it manually, but I think the process is the same.]

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Makepkg#Usage

Offline

#6 2013-08-27 18:45:36

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

@Scimmia: I checked the AUR page.
Here's what I ran, and what I got. I suppose there are no errors considering the installation of the module.

swaraj@swaraj ~ $ dkms status -m broadcom-wl
broadcom-wl, 6.30.223.30, 3.10.9-1-ARCH, x86_64: installed

Offline

#7 2013-08-27 18:46:46

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Even while installing broadcom-wl-dkms, I got the error mentioned in the top post.

Kernel preparation unnecessary for this kernel.  Skipping...

Building module:
cleaning build area....
make KERNELRELEASE=3.10.9-1-ARCH -C /usr/lib/modules/3.10.9-1-ARCH/build M=/var/lib/dkms/broadcom-wl/6.30.223.30/build......
cleaning build area....

DKMS: build completed.

wl:
Running module version sanity check.
 - Original module
   - No original module exists within this kernel
 - Installation
   - Installing to /usr/lib/modules/3.10.9-1-ARCH/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/

depmod.....

DKMS: install completed.
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'wl': Exec format error
==> For more information on this driver, see:
==> https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=145884

Offline

#8 2013-08-27 18:49:23

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,433

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Offline

#9 2013-08-27 19:01:18

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Rebooting doesn't help.

Also, I tried rebuilding (if this is what it means):

swaraj@swaraj ~ $ sudo dkms install broadcom-wl/6.30.223.30
Module broadcom-wl/6.30.223.30 already installed on kernel 3.10.9-1-ARCH/x86_64

Last edited by swaraj (2013-08-27 19:03:58)

Offline

#10 2013-08-27 19:10:07

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,433

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

I meant rebuilding the broadcom-wl package with makepkg.

Offline

#11 2013-08-27 19:16:38

graysky
Member
From: The worse toilet in Scotland
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,818
Website

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

karol wrote:

I meant rebuilding the broadcom-wl package with makepkg.

This is one of the problems I have experienced with dkms.  Perhaps it's me, but I don't find it to reliably build the modules it manages.  Do as karol suggests and you should be fine.  No need to reboot, just `sudo rmmod wl` after you install the rebuilt one and then reload it `sudo modprobe wl` and you should be fine.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#12 2013-08-27 19:30:15

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Sorry guys, but rebuilding doesn't do anything. It gives me the same error when I modprobe. I doubt anyone would want to upgrade now and give it a shot, but if you do, and it works, please let me know how.

Offline

#13 2013-08-27 19:37:47

graysky
Member
From: The worse toilet in Scotland
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,818
Website

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Did you remove the old version with rmmod after installing and attempting to probe again?  If in use, you can force an rmmod I think but best to reboot... and you are certain you removed the dkms package prior to building the standard one?

Last edited by graysky (2013-08-27 19:38:24)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#14 2013-08-27 19:39:05

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

It's not in use at all, which is why rmmod doesn't do anything. Trying to modprobe it gives me that same old error.

Offline

#15 2013-08-27 19:40:37

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,352

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

karol wrote:

I meant rebuilding the broadcom-wl package with makepkg.

karol, he isn't using the broadcom-wl package.

Offline

#16 2013-08-27 19:59:35

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,433

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Scimmia wrote:
karol wrote:

I meant rebuilding the broadcom-wl package with makepkg.

karol, he isn't using the broadcom-wl package.

Argh, you're right.
For some reason I thought he used broadcom-wl and later wanted to try if broadcom-wl-dkms would work instead.

Sorry everyone.

Offline

#17 2013-08-28 12:22:52

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Here's what my /lib/modules/3.10.9-1-ARCH/extramodules/ folder looks like:

swaraj@swaraj extramodules $ cd /lib/modules/3.10.9-1-ARCH/extramodules/
swaraj@swaraj extramodules $ ls
bbswitch.ko.gz  nvidia.ko.gz  version  wl.ko

Maybe the wl.ko should be something like wl.ko.gz?

Offline

#18 2013-08-28 12:42:21

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

It doens't matter if they are gzipped or not.  It is just a feature that allows for the system to save space and potentially read and write the modules faster.  You can manually gzip it if you want, but there is no real advantage here.

Offline

#19 2013-08-28 13:04:19

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

So, any other ideas? Or should I downgrade my kernel to some more reasonable version?

Offline

#20 2013-08-28 13:23:59

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Also, here's what I get when I insmod:

swaraj@swaraj extramodules $ sudo insmod wl.ko
insmod: ERROR: could not insert module wl.ko: Invalid module format

I think something may be wrong with the module, if at all that's possible. I'm sure I installed everything properly.

Last edited by swaraj (2013-08-28 13:24:59)

Offline

#21 2013-08-28 21:37:48

surfatwork
Member
Registered: 2012-01-05
Posts: 133

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Your posts above are a bit confusing, but I think you are running the broadcom-wl-dkms driver. try this:
1. go to https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/broadcom-wl-dkms and download the tarball. save it some place
2. Make sure you are running the new kernel (i.e the one on which the wl module doesnt load). Also make sure that you have updated the linux-headers - they should match the kernel you are running.
3. untar the tarball ("tar -zxvf <filename>") and cd into the folder created
4. run "makepkg -s" and wait for it to finish building the package
5. Run "sudo pacman -U <name of package created>". This should install the driver
6. run "sudo modprobe wl" - this should load the wl module.

btw, I would consider it bad practice to solely rely on yaourt to install AUR packages with no knowledge of what's really happening.

Offline

#22 2013-08-29 08:06:45

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Thanks for your reply, surfatwork.
I've done the exact same things that you've posted (and I had been doing it for the last 2-3 times) and I'm still getting the same error. Here's what I did:
Checking my linux-headers:

swaraj@swaraj ~ $ sudo pacman -Ss linux-headers
[sudo] password for swaraj: 
core/linux-headers 3.10.9-1 [installed]
    Header files and scripts for building modules for Linux kernel
swaraj@swaraj ~ $ uname -a
Linux swaraj 3.10.9-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Aug 21 13:49:35 CEST 2013 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Saving the tarball in a folder and doing all those commands:

swaraj@swaraj ~ $ cd builds/
swaraj@swaraj builds $ ls
broadcom-wl-dkms.tar.gz
swaraj@swaraj builds $ tar -zxvf broadcom-wl-dkms.tar.gz 
broadcom-wl-dkms/
broadcom-wl-dkms/001-Arch-Makefile.patch
broadcom-wl-dkms/002-Module-License.patch
broadcom-wl-dkms/PKGBUILD
broadcom-wl-dkms/broadcom-wl-dkms.conf
broadcom-wl-dkms/install
broadcom-wl-dkms/dkms.conf
swaraj@swaraj builds $ cd broadcom-wl-dkms
swaraj@swaraj broadcom-wl-dkms $ makepkg -s
==> Making package: broadcom-wl-dkms 6.30.223.30-1 (Thu Aug 29 11:58:42 MSK 2013)
==> Checking runtime dependencies...
==> Checking buildtime dependencies...
==> Retrieving sources...
  -> Downloading bcmwl_6.30.223.30+bdcom.orig.tar.gz...
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--     0
100 3294k  100 3294k    0     0  1043k      0  0:00:03  0:00:03 --:--:-- 1772k
  -> Downloading bcmwl_6.30.223.30+bdcom-0ubuntu2.diff.gz...
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--     0
100 17771  100 17771    0     0  18935      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 18935
  -> Found broadcom-wl-dkms.conf
  -> Found dkms.conf
  -> Found 001-Arch-Makefile.patch
  -> Found 002-Module-License.patch
==> Validating source files with sha1sums...
    bcmwl_6.30.223.30+bdcom.orig.tar.gz ... Passed
    bcmwl_6.30.223.30+bdcom-0ubuntu2.diff.gz ... Passed
    broadcom-wl-dkms.conf ... Passed
    dkms.conf ... Passed
    001-Arch-Makefile.patch ... Passed
    002-Module-License.patch ... Passed
==> Extracting sources...
  -> Extracting bcmwl_6.30.223.30+bdcom.orig.tar.gz with bsdtar
  -> Extracting bcmwl_6.30.223.30+bdcom-0ubuntu2.diff.gz with gzip
==> Starting build()...
patching file debian/bcmwl-kernel-source.prerm
patching file debian/bcmwl-kernel-source.postrm
patching file debian/rules
patching file debian/bcmwl-kernel-source.modaliases
patching file debian/copyright
patching file debian/compat
patching file debian/control
patching file debian/bcmwl-kernel-source.postinst
patching file debian/bcmwl-kernel-source.install.in
patching file debian/dkms.conf.in
patching file debian/changelog
patching file debian/patches/0007-nl80211-move-scan-API-to-wdev.patch
patching file debian/patches/0004-Add-support-for-Linux-3.2.patch
patching file debian/patches/0005-add-support-for-linux-3.4.0.patch
patching file debian/patches/0001-MODULE_LICENSE.patch
patching file debian/patches/0003-Make-up-for-missing-init_MUTEX.patch
patching file debian/patches/0006-add-support-for-linux-3.8.0.patch
patching file debian/patches/0008-add-support-for-linux-3.9.0.patch
patching file debian/patches/0009-add-support-for-linux-3.10.0.patch
patching file debian/patches/0002-Makefile.patch
patching file src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c
Hunk #1 succeeded at 179 (offset 20 lines).
patching file Makefile
Hunk #1 succeeded at 113 with fuzz 1.
Hunk #2 succeeded at 132 with fuzz 1 (offset 1 line).
patching file src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c
Hunk #1 succeeded at 105 with fuzz 2 (offset 6 lines).
patching file src/include/bcmutils.h
patching file src/wl/sys/wl_cfg80211_hybrid.c
patching file src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c
Hunk #1 succeeded at 916 (offset 6 lines).
patching file src/wl/sys/wl_cfg80211_hybrid.c
Hunk #1 succeeded at 47 (offset 1 line).
Hunk #2 succeeded at 497 (offset 12 lines).
patching file src/wl/sys/wl_cfg80211_hybrid.c
patching file src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c
patching file bcmwl-6.30.223.30+bdcom/Makefile
patching file src/wl/sys/wl_linux.c
==> Entering fakeroot environment...
==> Starting package()...
==> Tidying install...
  -> Purging unwanted files...
  -> Compressing man and info pages...
  -> Stripping unneeded symbols from binaries and libraries...
==> Creating package "broadcom-wl-dkms"...
  -> Generating .PKGINFO file...
  -> Adding install file...
  -> Generating .MTREE file...
  -> Compressing package...
==> Leaving fakeroot environment.
==> Finished making: broadcom-wl-dkms 6.30.223.30-1 (Thu Aug 29 11:58:54 MSK 2013)
swaraj@swaraj broadcom-wl-dkms $ sudo pacman -U broadcom-wl-dkms-6.30.223.30-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz 
loading packages...
warning: broadcom-wl-dkms-6.30.223.30-1 is up to date -- reinstalling
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Packages (1): broadcom-wl-dkms-6.30.223.30-1

Total Installed Size:   9.68 MiB
Net Upgrade Size:       0.00 MiB

:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
(1/1) checking keys in keyring                                                                       [############################################################] 100%
(1/1) checking package integrity                                                                     [############################################################] 100%
(1/1) loading package files                                                                          [############################################################] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                                                                    [############################################################] 100%
(1/1) checking available disk space                                                                  [############################################################] 100%
>>> DKMS: Module uninstall
(1/1) reinstalling broadcom-wl-dkms                                                                  [############################################################] 100%

From the looks of the output so far, I don't think I've made any errors. But now when I modprobe:

swaraj@swaraj broadcom-wl-dkms $ sudo modprobe wl
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'wl': Exec format error

Offline

#23 2013-08-29 08:07:30

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Can anyone confirm that this driver works for them in the latest kernel?

Offline

#24 2013-08-29 10:02:04

swaraj
Member
Registered: 2013-08-05
Posts: 35

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Also, there is no output on typing this command: 'dkms status -m broadcom-wl'.

Offline

#25 2013-08-29 11:05:00

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,768

Re: [Solved] After doing the latest update, I can't modprobe wl.

Are you runing the stock arch kernels?


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB