You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-31 05:29:48

xtian

[SOLVED] Newbie asks how to suggest edits to LVM Luks Wiki page...

I'm a newb to Arch. I've been using Fedora for about four years, so Arch is a fun challenge. And I wish to contribute to the clarity of the Wiki page. Having set up LUKS with LVM for Fedora twice, and now Arch, one or two points might benefit the following wiki pages.

First, The instructions for kernel parameters on Kernel parameter configuration of the bootloader refers to the kernel parameter as:

cryptdevice=<device>:<dmname>

<device>
    The path to the raw encrypted device. Usage of Persistent block device naming is advisable.
<dmname>
    The name given to the device after decryption, will be available as /dev/mapper/<dmname>. (<dmname> MUST NOT be set to a name already used for LVM partitions!)

While higher up the page LVM on LUKS:

cryptsetup luksOpen /dev/sda3 lvmpool (alternate)
    For setting up LVM ontop the encryption layer the device file for the decrypted volume group would be anything like /dev/mapper/lvmpool instead of /dev/sda3. LVM will then give additional names to all logical volumes created, e.g. /dev/mapper/lvmpool-root and /dev/mapper/lvmpool-swap.

The alternate reflects the LVM setup which seems to be a best practice in Fedora. My working setup is

cryptdevice=/dev/sda3:<LVMvolumeGroup>

. And when mounting the LUKS partitions I found it necessary to activate the volume group name with

#vgchange -ay <volumeGroup>

In that scenario the configuration install was:

# cryptsetup luksFormat -y --cipher aes-xts-plain --key-size 512 /dev/sda3
   # cryptsetup luksOpen /dev/sda3 cryptVG
   # pvcreate /dev/mapper/crypt
   # vgcreate cryptVG /dev/mapper/crypt
   # lvcreate -n root -L 20.0G cryptVG
   # lvcreate -n swap -L 6.0G cryptVG 
   # lvcreate -n data -l 100%FREE cryptVG
   /** For Arch you're applying the file-systems now, but in Fedora, the Anaconda installer takes care of it.**/
   # cryptsetup luksClose crypt