You are not logged in.

#1 2005-12-08 05:33:58

halmcelroy

Jacman

Hi All,
I am a long time Arch fan who generally lurks around in the forum reading posts off and on.
I am a Java programmer by trade and was intrigued by a post about Jacman. Since the post was originally about Archie, and already there was a significant discussion of Jacman in there, I didnt want to pollute the thread further, hence this new post.

I am interested in helping out with the application, if any help is needed. Please let me know if there is anything that I can help out with. Also arooaroo mentioned about the app losing out to inferior gtk ones due to its Java nature. I was wondering if using a native widget toolkit like SWT would ameliorate the situation a little.

Keep up the good work!

Hal

#2 2005-12-08 08:57:29

dtw
Forum Fellow
Website

Re: Jacman

Hal McElroy?  That is one COOL name...

Jacman has a project at berlios.de - contact through there would be the "better" option I reckon smile

#3 2005-12-08 09:33:29

arooaroo
Website

Ooo, "ameliorate". Now there's a word you don't hear everyday.

Hal, thanks for the interest. If you wish to contribute then I'd suggest that the first step would be to become familiar with the code in the CVS at the moment to see if you want to jump aboard. If you do, then register as a user at berlios.de, pm me your username and I'll add you to the project.

That said, there's a last minute attempt to finish off v0.3. It's a fairly subtle upgrade: key feature will be its multilingual support. So, it's not dying just yet.

The suggestion for using SWT is a valid one but is one I will not pursue. It's not really about the widget toolkit - it's merely that Jacman runs on a Java runtime.

#4 2005-12-08 17:29:13

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
Website

arooaroo wrote:

it's merely that Jacman runs on a Java runtime.

Basically he's saying a lot of people think Java is slow because they read it somewhere on the web once.