You are not logged in.

#1 2013-09-13 20:03:05

otto88
Member
Registered: 2012-12-16
Posts: 74

how to install proxy in my router linux inside ?

I have the router type, Digicom RAW300U-A02 , linux inside.

I would like install the proxy software "Squid".

I've connected my router through ssh and i've seen the busybox interface with this commands:

# busybox 
BusyBox v1.00 (2012.11.08-03:54+0000) multi-call binary

Usage: busybox [function] [arguments]...
   or: [function] [arguments]...

        BusyBox is a multi-call binary that combines many common Unix
        utilities into a single executable.  Most people will create a
        link to busybox for each function they wish to use, and BusyBox
        will act like whatever it was invoked as.

Currently defined functions:
        [, arp, ash, basename, busybox, cat, chmod, chown, cp, cut, date,
        dd, df, dirname, dmesg, echo, egrep, env, expr, false, fdisk,
        fgrep, find, free, getty, grep, gunzip, gzip, head, hostname,
        ifconfig, init, insmod, kill, killall, ln, login, ls, lsmod, md5sum,
        mkdir, more, mount, mv, netstat, nslookup, passwd, pidof, ping,
        ping6, ps, pwd, reboot, rm, rmdir, rmmod, route, sed, sh, sleep,
        sysctl, tar, test, tftp, top, traceroute, true, udhcpc, udhcpd,
        umount, uname, uptime, usleep, vconfig, wc, yes, zcat

# 

how to install software with only those commands ?

i should download the sw directly from busybox, meaning from router, or from my pc and then put it in the router ?

thanks

ps.

the why is limiting bandwidth usage of one pc.

Last edited by otto88 (2013-09-13 20:05:38)

Offline

#2 2013-09-21 18:57:11

t0m5k1
Member
From: overthere
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 301

Re: how to install proxy in my router linux inside ?

hmmm not sure if this will work at all because you have no idea as to what dependancies your going to need or if you will have the space required. Adding to that many routers load the OS into ram from a rom chip therefore you will loose everything you do on a reboot!

You could look into JTAG hacking your router at the risk of bricking it OR just get an old unused pc & re-purpoose it as a proxy with rules set up to only affect the target pc you wish to restrict.

If you insist on putting all of this in your router you will need space for the cache aswell also this will impact performance of the router due to more processes running & no clue of the resources the router has.


AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ - 8GB - GeForce 970 AwesomeWM (occasionally XFCE, i3)

If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!
Linux User: 401820   Last FM

Offline

#3 2013-09-21 19:23:03

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: how to install proxy in my router linux inside ?

See if your router is supported by dd-wrt, openwrt, or tomato alternative router firmwares - that would be your best option.

Just so you know, this board is actually intended for discussion about running Arch on other architectures.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB