You are not logged in.

#1 2013-09-16 07:50:22

shmibs
Member
Registered: 2012-09-11
Posts: 90

[Solved] rebuild a currently installed package

hey everyone! a while ago, i accidentally pacman -Scc rather than just -Sc because i was being dumb and not paying attention, and now it turns out that i actually need one of those packages i deleted. is it possible to re-make a currently installed package from the the files scattered around my system?

Last edited by shmibs (2013-09-16 15:19:45)


[site] | [dotfiles] | あたしたち、人間じゃないの?

Offline

#2 2013-09-16 08:26:16

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,407
Website

Re: [Solved] rebuild a currently installed package

bacman

Offline

#3 2013-09-16 08:43:44

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,688
Website

Re: [Solved] rebuild a currently installed package

Note that bacman will included modified configuration files in the package (those specified in the backup array, i.e. the ones that generate .pacnew files). This can be a problem if the configuration file contains sensitive data (e.g. security software) or hardware-specific data.

@Allan
Is that by design? If not, the ".PKGINFO stuff" could be moved above the file copying and used to populate an array with the backup files. That could then be used to check for matching .pacnew files when copying. It could even be made optional.

Offline

#4 2013-09-16 09:00:05

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,346
Website

Re: [Solved] rebuild a currently installed package

@ Xyne, I was thinking the same thing!

But, what happens if you have deleted a .pacnew, and modified the configuration files?

Offline

#5 2013-09-16 09:10:32

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,522
Website

Re: [Solved] rebuild a currently installed package

@OP - Not what you asked, but be aware that you can look for the package and build an older version yourself.  Example for [extra]/vim:
https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/x86_64/vim/

*Click 'view changes'
*Let's say I want to build package version 7.3.515-1 for some reason
*Click 'upgpkg: vim 7.3.515-1'
*Click the link next to 'Download' to grab the tarball
*Extract it and go into '/path/to/archive/trunk'
*There you will find all the needed files to build said package


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#6 2013-09-16 10:37:42

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,407
Website

Re: [Solved] rebuild a currently installed package

Xyne wrote:

@Allan
Is that by design?

Sure... lets say we designed it!  tongue

I'm sure improvements could be made and patches will be accepted.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB