You are not logged in.

#1 2013-09-19 15:31:05

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

Recently I acquired the Blue Yeti microphone. It was said to be plug and play, also with Linux. And that's true, but just not for Skype. I am able to record something just fine with the Gnome audio recorder, Audacity and other apps. However, it does not work for Skype. As per wiki instructions I installed lib32-libpulse. I'm pretty certain it works, because Skype is able to output audio over pulse just fine. I have selected pulseaudio in the settings (which are the only available options for some reason).

Anyone have a clue what the problem could be? Thanks in advance!

Offline

#2 2013-10-02 18:28:48

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

Nobody is experiencing a similar issue? Unfortunately I don't have a regular mic (or a mic-in), so I can't really test if it's microphone-specific. I only have been able to determine that it seems to be Skype-specific, so far.

Offline

#3 2013-10-02 18:34:56

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 2,955

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

Install pavucontrol and check that the correct microphone is selected when skype should be recording.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#4 2013-10-02 19:46:50

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

Well I already did and it does, but just not in Skype. Gnome audio recorder & Audacity work out of the box.

Offline

#5 2013-10-02 20:35:28

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 2,955

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

You could try to see the output of 'pactl list source-outputs' and see if skype is listed, if not then skype itself is not recording.

No other ideas here, it just works for me, both with laptop's builtin soundcard and usb headsets.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#6 2013-10-02 20:50:04

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

Thanks for the help smile. Skype is definitely listed. However, when I use the Skype call testing service no message is being played back to me. If I do the same thing on Windows it works fine.

Source Output #8
	Driver: protocol-native.c
	Owner Module: 11
	Client: 24
	Source: 4
	Sample Specification: float32le 1ch 25Hz
	Channel Map: mono
	Format: pcm, format.sample_format = "\"float32le\""  format.rate = "25"  format.channels = "1"  format.channel_map = "\"mono\""
	Corked: no
	Mute: no
	Volume: 0:  71%
	        0: -8,84 dB
	        balance 0,00
	Buffer Latency: 0 usec
	Source Latency: 0 usec
	Resample method: peaks
	Properties:
		application.id = "org.gnome.VolumeControl"
		media.name = "Peak detect"
		application.name = "GNOME Volume Control Dialog"
		native-protocol.peer = "UNIX socket client"
		native-protocol.version = "28"
		application.icon_name = "multimedia-volume-control"
		application.version = "3.8.5"
		application.process.id = "2582"
		application.process.user = "xxx"
		application.process.host = "arch"
		application.process.binary = "gnome-control-center"
		application.language = "en_GB.utf8"
		window.x11.display = ":0"
		application.process.machine_id = "66793670eed6f1d34dba595100000208"
		application.process.session_id = "1"
		module-stream-restore.id = "source-output-by-application-id:org.gnome.VolumeControl"

Source Output #9
	Driver: protocol-native.c
	Owner Module: 11
	Client: 21
	Source: 4
	Sample Specification: s16le 1ch 48000Hz
	Channel Map: mono
	Format: pcm, format.sample_format = "\"s16le\""  format.rate = "48000"  format.channels = "1"  format.channel_map = "\"mono\""
	Corked: no
	Mute: no
	Volume: 0:  71%
	        0: -8,84 dB
	        balance 0,00
	Buffer Latency: 0 usec
	Source Latency: 0 usec
	Resample method: copy
	Properties:
		window.icon_name = "skype"
		application.icon_name = "skype"
		media.role = "phone"
		media.name = "Input"
		application.name = "Skype"
		native-protocol.peer = "UNIX socket client"
		native-protocol.version = "28"
		application.process.id = "2499"
		application.process.user = "xxx"
		application.process.host = "arch"
		application.process.binary = "skype"
		application.language = "en_GB.utf8"
		window.x11.display = ":0"
		application.process.machine_id = "66793670eed6f1d34dba595100000208"
		application.process.session_id = "1"
		module-stream-restore.id = "source-output-by-media-role:phone"

Last edited by LB06 (2013-10-02 20:50:29)

Offline

#7 2014-05-19 17:44:08

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

Could it be that it has something to do with Skype being 32-bit? When I disable pulseaudio, Skype works fine directly via alsa.

Offline

#8 2014-05-19 21:49:40

theodore
Member
From: Aalborg / Denmark
Registered: 2008-09-09
Posts: 68

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

uninstall skype, erase the .Skype folder at /home/<user> and install and run skype again
that's what worked for me when I had some similar issues with the microphone

Offline

#9 2014-05-23 19:47:59

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

Didn't work, unfortunately.

Offline

#10 2014-05-27 21:19:08

pandaponium
Member
Registered: 2014-01-19
Posts: 8

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

This worked for me two days ago when I was having issues:

http://arunraghavan.net/2013/08/pulseau … and-skype/

Offline

#11 2014-05-27 21:27:57

pandaponium
Member
Registered: 2014-01-19
Posts: 8

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

pandaponium wrote:

This worked for me two days ago when I was having issues:

http://arunraghavan.net/2013/08/pulseau … and-skype/

So under the troubleshooting section of the Skype entry,

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/sk … -bit_OS.29

it says the solution is in response to crackling/noisy sound. I had that, but every other time or so, upon restart of Skype, I had no microphone as well. Hence, I think this solution will work for you.

Offline

#12 2014-06-29 20:00:40

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

Offline

#13 2014-08-25 10:07:15

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 620
Website

Re: No microphone with pulseaudio and Skype, other apps work fine

Also bumped into Skype (only) not using the microphone.
Thanks LB06 (and Boot for adding the tip to the wiki).
unfortunately that didn't help atm in this location (x86_64, Skype-4.3.0.37-3, USB mono external mic)

- Installed: PulseAudio, lib32-libpulse, libao, libcanberra-pulse, libpulse, pavucontrol, pulseaudio-alsa & lib32-alsa-plugins
- checked that mic is seen on pavucontrol and working in, say, Audacity
- then followed https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pu … ing_.3D_no and stopped / restarted PulseAudio
- then moved out ~/.Skype
- logged out; rebooted

A friendly bump out there to anyone who may have had a similar issue or advice on how to resolve this issue.... smile


PGP Key: 1C2A554EFF0157D9
Core i3 @3.30GHz | 4GB RAM | Arch linux-ck
Atom N450 | 2 gig RAM | Arch linux 4.6.0rc3 i686 / 4.07 x86_64 (5-6H battery life smile * ARM Tegra K1 | 4 gig RAM | Chrome OS
Atom Z520 | 2 gig RAM | OMV (Debian) kernel 3.16.0-0.bpo.4-586 on SDHC

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB