You are not logged in.

#1 2013-09-23 22:16:14

plomp90

Wrote over Windows EFI, now I can't boot

Hello, I've been running Arch on a USB up until now and I've been trying to install it from the USB to dual-boot alongside Windows 8. I disabled secure boot, so I'm able to boot from the USB, but whenever I run "cfdisk /dev/sda" or "cfdisk /dev/sda1" (the partition I made for Arch), it comes up with "FATAL ERROR: Bad primary partition 1: Partition begins after end-of-disk".
I have Windows 8 running on a 650 gb partition of my 1 tb hard drive, and another partition I created for Arch called sda1 (with 190 gigs), as well as 160 gigs of unused space. I did "fdisk /dev/sda" and it says something like "the device presents a logical sector size that is bigger than its physical sector size".

What am I doing wrong? I'm pretty stupid concerning partitioning, and I'm an Arch newbie, so sorry if this inquiry is a little dumb.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

Last edited by jasonwryan (2013-09-24 00:08:37)

#2 2013-09-23 22:26:51

headkase

Re: Wrote over Windows EFI, now I can't boot

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GU … tion_Table

I'm half guessing: your hard-disk partitions may be GPT format and fdisk is expecting MBR format.  Try cgdisk:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Be … partitions

To interact with your partitions.

Important note: disable Windows 8 hybrid boot (it is in the Power options) or you will run the risk of corrupting your Windows partition if you access it from Linux in your dual-boot.  Hybrid boot "hibernates and powers down" Windows.  It does not fully sync the filesystem when it does that as when it comes back up it is in the state it left with.  If between the hybrid shutdown and subsequent power up if you modify the Windows partition with Linux that can cause issues.