You are not logged in.

#1 2013-09-30 19:25:54

omqpewpew
Member
Registered: 2013-09-30
Posts: 11

Alsa and Pulseaudio

Hi all,
i seem to have some serious problems setting up my sound the right way >_>

The last time i accepted using alsa-only for my sound
But things start getting unfamiliar when installing pulseaudio

Ok, so here is where i'm now. (i uninstalled Rns all the stuff i recently installed hopelessly trying package for making it work)

pacman -Ss alsa |grep installed
extra/alsa-lib 1.0.27.2-1 [installed]
cat /proc/asound/cards 
 0 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xfaef8000 irq 22
 1 [Headset        ]: USB-Audio - 2.4G Wireless Headset
                      2.4G Wireless Headset at usb-0000:00:02.1-3.3, full speed
 2 [NVidia_1       ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xfaf7c000 irq 19

As you can see i got a NVidia Device and one usb-headset which i use for Teamspeak/skype etc
A few minutes ago everything "worked" but only with 1 sound source at a time (this was with alsa only, nothing else expected)
but now i want to play games listen to music play videos and my sound is only working on the process i started first.

My Nvidia device can do this hardware-site as it can create multiple subinterfaces, this was what i'm used to,
i also cant figure out how i can set a "REAL" default device :X at some reboots the devices switch places in /proc/asound/cards

I'm currently pretty messed up with all the sound-thing happening on my system >_> i searched the wiki and the forums but it seems like everybody else can just pacman -S alsa-utils and pacman -S pulseaudio and everything works O_o

it would be very nice if somebody could assist me in this behavior :X


thanks in advance
and sorry for my bad engl hmm

Offline

#2 2013-09-30 19:40:06

omqpewpew
Member
Registered: 2013-09-30
Posts: 11

Re: Alsa and Pulseaudio

Ok update:
after reinstalling alsa-utils
my subinterfaces are working

but there is no work-around for sound-servering
in this, as i want to have the same for my usb-headset, which cannot create multiple sub-interfaces

still need assistance :X

Offline

#3 2013-09-30 19:46:04

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,302
Website

Re: Alsa and Pulseaudio

Not an Installation issue, moving to Multimedia...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#4 2013-09-30 22:14:30

Pse
Member
Registered: 2008-03-15
Posts: 383

Re: Alsa and Pulseaudio

I'm not sure I understand your problem. In any case, we should first try to get pulseaudio working for you. Remove all manual configuration files for ALSA (back them up if you want). Look for them in your home directory and /etc.

These are the ALSA/pulseaudio packages I have installed in my system:

local/alsa-lib 1.0.27.2-1
    An alternative implementation of Linux sound support
local/alsa-plugins 1.0.27-2
    Extra alsa plugins
local/alsa-utils 1.0.27.2-1
    An alternative implementation of Linux sound support
local/lib32-alsa-lib 1.0.27.2-1
    An alternative implementation of Linux sound support (32 bit)
local/lib32-alsa-plugins 1.0.27-1
    Extra alsa plugins (32-bit)
local/lib32-libcanberra-pulse 0.30-4
    PulseAudio plugin for libcanberra (32-bit)
local/lib32-libpulse 4.0-2
    A featureful, general-purpose sound server (32-bit client libraries)
local/libcanberra-pulse 0.30-4
    PulseAudio plugin for libcanberra
local/pavucontrol 2.0-1
    A GTK volume control tool for PulseAudio
local/pulseaudio 4.0-2
    A featureful, general-purpose sound server
local/pulseaudio-alsa 2-2
    ALSA Configuration for PulseAudio

Not all of them are necessary, but you may want to use this list as a reference. After installing everything, fire up pavucontrol and see if you can set things up as you want. Check that all the interfaces you want to use are picked up by pulseaudio. Don't forget to unmute everything. Check both pavucontrol and alsamixer. If things work, do not use alsamixer to control sound, use pulseaudio instead.

Offline

#5 2013-10-03 13:26:19

omqpewpew
Member
Registered: 2013-09-30
Posts: 11

Re: Alsa and Pulseaudio

Ohh thank you Pse!
i installed all the packages you've posted, and now everything is working fine with pulseaudio smile
i really like how the default device can be configured due pavucontrol.
Now i can pipe multiple output sources to my device need smile

oooomg its working smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB