You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-11 12:08:30

stefanwilkens
Member
From: Enschede, the Netherlands
Registered: 2008-12-10
Posts: 624

[SOLVED] How do I build GNOME related debug packages?

Hi,

In order to help track down possible memory leaks in gnome-shell I have been experiencing (gnome-shell hit 1.7 GiB the other night) I am in need of debug packages (debug symbols) for:
* mozjs
* gjs
* clutter
* gnome-shell

The related bugreport:
https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=685513

I have been using valgrind to produce logs, but without debug symbols I'm faced with lots of this:

==1180== 40 bytes in 1 blocks are possibly lost in loss record 8,332 of 19,839
==1180==    at 0x4C2757B: malloc (in /usr/lib/valgrind/vgpreload_memcheck-amd64-linux.so)
==1180==    by 0x84837C9: ??? (in /usr/lib/libmozjs-17.0.so)
==1180==    by 0x8487334: ??? (in /usr/lib/libmozjs-17.0.so)
==1180==    by 0x848813D: ??? (in /usr/lib/libmozjs-17.0.so)
==1180==    by 0x848837B: ??? (in /usr/lib/libmozjs-17.0.so)
==1180==    by 0x2759A5D4: ???
==1180==    by 0x83FB038: ??? (in /usr/lib/libmozjs-17.0.so)
==1180==    by 0xFFFB80002550B47F: ???
==1180==    by 0x1E7E5CAF: ???
==1180==    by 0x2463C35F: ???

In order to get meaningful output, i require debug symbols. This is a new concept for me.

A search of the forums and wiki pages landed me here:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/De … n_settings

As I understand it, options=(debug !strip) will set compile time flags for debug. Will this produce packages with the required debug symbols or am I misunderstanding the concept?

Looking to learn here, any links to debug 101 documentation or related information would be very welcome smile

Last edited by stefanwilkens (2013-10-12 21:59:02)


Arch i686 on Phenom X4 | GTX760

Offline

#2 2013-10-11 22:23:38

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 11,544

Re: [SOLVED] How do I build GNOME related debug packages?

Adding the 'debug' option will build with debugging symbols. You can add '!strip' if you want, which will leave the symbols in the binaries themselves, or use the default 'strip' which will strip the symbols out into a separate package that you can install and uninstall whenever you want.

Simple as that.

Offline

#3 2013-10-12 21:58:46

stefanwilkens
Member
From: Enschede, the Netherlands
Registered: 2008-12-10
Posts: 624

Re: [SOLVED] How do I build GNOME related debug packages?

Thanks for confirming that for me, Scimmia, I've been able to build functional debug packages and produce usefull logs.

Marking as solved smile


Arch i686 on Phenom X4 | GTX760

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB