You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-23 04:33:17

justin-8
Member
From: Queensland, Australia
Registered: 2013-06-18
Posts: 53

Unable to upload package to AUR

I'm attempting to upload version 4 of unrar to the AUR as pyunrar2 is not compatible with unrar v5 that is now in the main Arch repos.

Whenever I attempt to upload the package to AUR I get "Invalid name: only lowercase letters are allowed.". I attempted to use the name 'unrarfour' instead of unrar4 (and respectively the same for libunrar(4/four)) to no avail. There is more than just lowercase characters allowed, or at least has been in the past as we have things like '0ad' and '2gis-*' and '389-*' packages on the AUR.

Does anyone know why this might be happening?

The source pkg is availbale here: https://www.dray.be/arch/pkgbuilds/unra … src.tar.gz

Offline

#2 2013-10-23 05:06:34

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,533
Website

Re: Unable to upload package to AUR

I think it might be the epoch, though I cannot say for sure.

Offline

#3 2013-10-23 05:08:29

Allan
is always right
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,463
Website

Re: Unable to upload package to AUR

pkgname=('unrar4' 'libunrar4')

AUR does not support package splitting.

Offline

#4 2013-10-23 22:48:00

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,655

Re: Unable to upload package to AUR

officially AUR doesn't support split pacakges, but there is a workaround :
however https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/splittest/


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#5 2013-10-24 03:54:56

justin-8
Member
From: Queensland, Australia
Registered: 2013-06-18
Posts: 53

Re: Unable to upload package to AUR

Thanks guys; Work has been super busy but I'll hopefully get to test this stuff in the next couple days.

The message that is displayed when uploading a split package is not exactly clear smile

Offline

#6 2013-10-24 05:03:01

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,533
Website

Re: Unable to upload package to AUR

justin-8 wrote:

Thanks guys; Work has been super busy but I'll hopefully get to test this stuff in the next couple days.

The message that is displayed when uploading a split package is not exactly clear smile

Indeed. Maybe you should open a feature request on the bugtracker.

Offline

#7 2013-10-26 05:17:01

justin-8
Member
From: Queensland, Australia
Registered: 2013-06-18
Posts: 53

Re: Unable to upload package to AUR

It was definitely the split package. Uploaded just fine as a single package (libunrar was not really required anyway). Thanks guys!

@x33a: Great idea; it has now been opened!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB