You are not logged in.

#1 2005-12-19 20:12:47

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

dvdrip won't open

Ok, heard these nice things about dvdrip.  thought I'd try it.

dvdusty:~ $ dvdrip
[filterlist] (re)scanning transcode's module path /usr/lib/transcode...

and nothing..... I thought this was a GUI program, but its not bringing any windows up. Forum search yields lots of people having problems, but they all got errors to debug with, I just get nothing..... any ideas?

Dusty

Offline

#2 2005-12-19 21:20:16

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: dvdrip won't open

Upstream bug, apparently, Dusty - I just saw it here myself.

There's a kludgy workaround at the end of the bug report.

Offline

#3 2005-12-19 21:31:31

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: dvdrip won't open

thanks, that worked.... now just to figure this program out!

Dusty

Offline

#4 2005-12-19 23:42:07

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: dvdrip won't open

gah, when it rips, the audio and video tracks don't line up.... google is not being very kind to me as to how to fix this, apparently it works for every other living soul on this godforsaken planet!

minirant over, does anyone know what option I'm not setting to make dvdrip tell transcode to line up the audio?

Offline

#5 2005-12-19 23:53:32

mic64
Member
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 173

Re: dvdrip won't open

well

anyone noticed that there are no filter available in dvdrip anymore.
Is this a compile bug of transcode?

mic

Offline

#6 2005-12-20 00:20:19

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: dvdrip won't open

are the filters supposed to fix the audio delay bug?

I just managed to encode one with acidrip, which is odd, because I tried it before and had the same problem.

Random errors!!! :'(

Dusty

Offline

#7 2005-12-20 02:55:51

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: dvdrip won't open

Dusty wrote:

gah, when it rips, the audio and video tracks don't line up....

The only time this happened to me was when I didn't rip the whole DVD as a single session, and ripped the chapters individually, then tried to slice them together. That worked like trying to put out a volcano with pee.... roll


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#8 2005-12-20 03:13:17

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: dvdrip won't open

I *am* trying to do that... hmmm. I'm just using acid rip for now, but that uses mencoder, which rips  at actual speed, apparently,. I don't know if it can be any faster though or not.

Dusty

Offline

#9 2005-12-20 07:26:50

robot5x
Member
Registered: 2004-01-26
Posts: 266

Re: dvdrip won't open

I had a lot of sync problems with dvdrip... first of all, if your source material is NTSC (and sometime even if it isn't) checking 'Use PSU core' on the transcode page will help. Also, using the transcode option '-M X' will help, where X is a number - default is 2, and sometimes trying 0,1 or 3 can improve sync (IIRC).
However, while I tested all my rips on mplayer I began to realise that mplayer itself seems to have stopped playing movies in sync so I used xine and found that the dvdrip rips were actually fine.

Offline

#10 2005-12-20 07:37:39

mic64
Member
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 173

Re: dvdrip won't open

Hi

so..you guys cn access the filter settings?
Mine is greyed out.
What can this be?

mic64

Offline

#11 2005-12-20 10:48:35

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: dvdrip won't open

mic64 - did you apply the workaround from the bug report i.e. this one? If you did, I'd say it's reasonable to expect errors - in general, removing/renaming libraries will do that. wink

I've done the fix here, and the Filters button is also greyed out.

Offline

#12 2005-12-20 14:34:03

mic64
Member
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 173

Re: dvdrip won't open

yes I did the workaround, also installed an older version of transcode.
Button is greyed out.
So..you could say dvdrip is useless..
nevermind..we still got mencoder :-)

mic64

Offline

#13 2006-01-01 19:19:22

mic64
Member
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 173

Re: dvdrip won't open

well the new dvdrip package brings new problems.
It is complaining the usr/lib/perl something is not readable by user..
this message appear for a lot of perl modules
it works as root.
The issue with the missing filters is also still there.

mic

Offline

#14 2006-01-01 21:54:17

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

Re: dvdrip won't open

mic64 wrote:

well the new dvdrip package brings new problems.
It is complaining the usr/lib/perl something is not readable by user..
this message appear for a lot of perl modules
it works as root.
The issue with the missing filters is also still there.

mic

There is anew perl package fixing this AFAIK.

-neri

Offline

#15 2006-05-27 18:33:02

mic64
Member
Registered: 2005-03-03
Posts: 173

Re: dvdrip won't open

Hi

bringing this old topic back.
Now that the new dvdrip is here..and it looks really good,
I am still not able to use any filter. It is still greyed out.

any idea?

thanks
mic

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB