You are not logged in.

#1 2013-10-31 15:21:57

KingYes
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2011-05-08
Posts: 120
Website

Firefox 25 issue?

Hi.. I just upgrade firefox to 25 version, but it's not seen good. Maybe any else get this issue?


Web Developer.

Offline

#2 2013-10-31 15:23:26

vik_k
Member
From: Pune, India
Registered: 2009-07-12
Posts: 227
Website

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

please clarify more. what issue ?


"First learn computer science and all the theory. Next develop a programming style. Then forget all that and just hack." ~ George Carrette

Offline

#3 2013-10-31 15:31:02

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

Firefox 25 seems OK here, but my crystal ball is acting up - I'm afraid you'll have to post more info.

Offline

#4 2013-10-31 15:34:00

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,038

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

I just had some teething issues with it, it closed immediately after opening, with no errors or warnings or any indication that anything was actually wrong. I opened it in safe-mode and disabled all my extensions, then re-enabled them one by one, restarting firefox after each one. Since then, I haven't had any crashes.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#5 2013-10-31 15:36:19

KingYes
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2011-05-08
Posts: 120
Website

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

I have bad render the pages, and loading icon (in tabs) work very slow.


Web Developer.

Offline

#6 2013-10-31 15:45:21

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,038

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

Hmm, now that you mention it, my tab loading icon isn't animated, but I've not had any problems with rendering. Could you link to an affected page, and take screenshots of what you're seeing (don't post big images on the forum though, use url tags to link to the image instead)


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#7 2013-10-31 17:08:44

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

WorMzy wrote:

Hmm, now that you mention it, my tab loading icon isn't animated, but I've not had any problems with rendering.

The second icon (not the grey one, the reddish-orange) isn't moving indeed.

Offline

#8 2013-10-31 17:45:24

gerstrong
Member
Registered: 2013-10-31
Posts: 2

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

Well I use Gnome-Shell and it works pretty well except for one thing and thunderbird is also effected. The applications icons are gone. I cannot open it by typing it in the activities overview and it is missing under the Apps. I can launch through the terminal though, so it is there. I guess the latest update forget to correctly update the desktop files. Hope they fix that in the next hours. Would be nice...

Offline

#9 2013-10-31 17:47:35

KingYes
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2011-05-08
Posts: 120
Website

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

@gerstrong, press ALT+F2 and then `r`.


Web Developer.

Offline

#10 2013-10-31 22:27:10

89c51
Member
Registered: 2012-06-05
Posts: 648

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

karol wrote:
WorMzy wrote:

Hmm, now that you mention it, my tab loading icon isn't animated, but I've not had any problems with rendering.

The second icon (not the grey one, the reddish-orange) isn't moving indeed.


How on earth they missed this "bug".

Offline

#11 2013-10-31 22:31:27

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

89c51 wrote:
karol wrote:
WorMzy wrote:

Hmm, now that you mention it, my tab loading icon isn't animated, but I've not had any problems with rendering.

The second icon (not the grey one, the reddish-orange) isn't moving indeed.


How on earth they missed this "bug".

Firefox has gone to the dogs - I'm going back to IE.

Should this be reported upstream?

Offline

#12 2013-10-31 23:17:55

89c51
Member
Registered: 2012-06-05
Posts: 648

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

I don't know if you got my comment as ironic but i meant it seriously. Its not like a bug that occurs randomly or is hidden somewhere. Its something you see every day.

Offline

#13 2013-10-31 23:20:35

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

I read it straight, not ironic, but it's not a huge bug, more like a "bug".
The question remains: has anyone notified upstream?



Edit: I think you meant 'sarcastic', not 'ironic'.

Last edited by karol (2013-10-31 23:21:40)

Offline

#14 2013-10-31 23:57:07

cedeel
Member
From: ~
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 171
Website

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

Did the orange icon ever move?

Offline

#15 2013-10-31 23:58:45

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

cedeel wrote:

Did the orange icon ever move?

It used to - in the opposite direction to the gray throbber.

Offline

#16 2013-11-01 01:00:03

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

What orange icon?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#17 2013-11-01 01:05:46

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

cfr wrote:

What orange icon?

There are icons (favicons) in the tabs. When you load or refresh the page, the icon gets replaced by a throbber.

Offline

#18 2013-11-01 01:07:33

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,038

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

cfr wrote:

What orange icon?

lNMPN7i.png

This one.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#19 2013-11-01 01:10:08

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

karol wrote:
cfr wrote:

What orange icon?

There are icons (favicons) in the tabs. When you load or refresh the page, the icon gets replaced by a throbber.

OK, in the toolbar I have the grey whirly thing.

In each tab, if I reload the page, the icon does turn into a reddish whirly thing and it whirls until the page is loaded when the icon reappears. Is that what you mean? If so, I don't have the problem with an upstream build of Firefox 25.

WorMzy wrote:
cfr wrote:

What orange icon?

http://i.imgur.com/lNMPN7i.png

This one.

Definitely do not see the bug in an upstream build. That is, the reddish whirly thing whirls just as the grey whirly thing whirls.

Last edited by cfr (2013-11-01 01:12:29)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#20 2013-11-01 01:14:40

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,038

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

I'm rebuilding the package on my home machine now, it may just be a problem with the repo package.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#21 2013-11-01 01:19:04

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

It does not whirl here.

I disabled plugins / extensions - no change. I even had some wine and it still doesn't whirl.

Offline

#22 2013-11-01 01:26:30

HalosGhost
Member
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 1,485
Website

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

I'm using the Aurora branch, and both throbbers (yes, that's the technical name) are still spinning fine.

I never had this bug, even when Aurora was on 25.x, so I don't know what to tell you. Might something else be affecting it?

All the best,

-HG


"All errors are ᴘᴇʙᴋᴀᴄ errors—It's just a matter of narrowing down which keyboard and chair." -Trilby
\ldots

Offline

#23 2013-11-01 01:35:15

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

Just to be clear, I'm using 25.0 i.e. the current stable build. It's the 64 bit version from http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla … x86_64/cy/. However, I can't load that page right now.

EDIT: Er... apparently Mozilla aren't hosting stuff there any more - or they are not hosting Mozilla any more. Does anybody happen to know where Mozilla is now posting 64 bit builds? Their download page still only offers me 32 bit.

EDIT 2:  https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org … x86_64/cy/ seems to work.

Last edited by cfr (2013-11-01 01:51:04)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#24 2013-11-01 01:43:00

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,038

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

I, and I assume everyone else with the problem, am using extra/firefox-25.0-1.

I'm using the 64-bit build. I've not checked the 32-bit version yet.

EDIT: same problem on 32-bit.

Last edited by WorMzy (2013-11-01 01:53:04)


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#25 2013-11-01 01:55:10

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,661

Re: Firefox 25 issue?

The PKGBUILD includes this

  # Fix tab loading icon (flickers with libpng 1.6)
  # https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=841734
  cp "$srcdir/firefox-20.0.1-fixed-loading-icon.png" \
    browser/themes/linux/tabbrowser/loading.png

'Fixed' is ambiguous. Do they mean 'repaired' or do they mean 'unmoving'?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB