You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-01 13:52:17

monsieur moche
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-14
Posts: 47

Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

Hi Archers,

Often after a power saving blank screen, I move my mouse to wake the screen up and the lock screen of Gnome appears but is frozen.
I can still move the mouse cursor though. I have to kill GDM from a TTY to be able to open a new Gnome session.

I guess I haven't provided enough information for you to help me. Any idea of which log file I should dump here?

Thank you.

Last edited by monsieur moche (2013-11-01 14:21:00)

Offline

#2 2013-11-01 14:36:32

mrinx
Member
From: Richmond, VA
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 87
Website

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

Maybe give us your dmesg or his tail after the failure

dmesg | tail -n 50

English isn't my first language.
Is Arch Linux user called archer? Where are our bows and arrows?

Offline

#3 2013-11-02 13:11:55

monsieur moche
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-14
Posts: 47

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

Ok, the freeze just happened again at 13:40, so here is the dmesg:

root@flobox:/var/log$ dmesg | tail -n 50
[    3.192994] [drm]   VGA-1
[    3.192996] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
[    3.192996] [drm]   Encoders:
[    3.192997] [drm]     CRT2: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC2
[    3.192998] [drm] Connector 1:
[    3.192999] [drm]   HDMI-A-1
[    3.193000] [drm]   HPD1
[    3.193001] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e50 0x7e50 0x7e54 0x7e54 0x7e58 0x7e58 0x7e5c 0x7e5c
[    3.193002] [drm]   Encoders:
[    3.193003] [drm]     DFP1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY
[    3.193004] [drm] Connector 2:
[    3.193005] [drm]   DVI-I-1
[    3.193006] [drm]   HPD4
[    3.193007] [drm]   DDC: 0x7f10 0x7f10 0x7f14 0x7f14 0x7f18 0x7f18 0x7f1c 0x7f1c
[    3.193008] [drm]   Encoders:
[    3.193008] [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
[    3.193009] [drm]     DFP2: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2
[    3.193033] [drm] Internal thermal controller with fan control
[    3.193056] [drm] radeon: power management initialized
[    3.238582] [drm] fb mappable at 0xD035F000
[    3.238583] [drm] vram apper at 0xD0000000
[    3.238585] [drm] size 7299072
[    3.238586] [drm] fb depth is 24
[    3.238586] [drm]    pitch is 6912
[    3.238690] fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[    3.450235] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 210x65
[    3.453841] radeon 0000:01:00.0: fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
[    3.453843] radeon 0000:01:00.0: registered panic notifier
[    3.453846] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.34.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
[    4.373981] ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x30
[    4.373983] ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a direct regpair map
[    4.373985] ath: Country alpha2 being used: AM
[    4.373985] ath: Regpair used: 0x30
[    4.387029] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
[    4.387377] ieee80211 phy0: Atheros AR9280 Rev:2 mem=0xffffc90013d80000, irq=16
[    5.783317] EXT4-fs (sdb3): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
[    5.805434] systemd-journald[136]: Received request to flush runtime journal from PID 1
[    7.482968] r8169 0000:02:00.0 eth0: link down
[    7.482988] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[    7.500075] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[    9.283293] wlan0: authenticate with 14:0c:76:fb:5c:f4
[    9.307832] wlan0: send auth to 14:0c:76:fb:5c:f4 (try 1/3)
[    9.342400] wlan0: authenticated
[    9.345837] wlan0: associate with 14:0c:76:fb:5c:f4 (try 1/3)
[    9.362464] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 14:0c:76:fb:5c:f4 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=1)
[    9.362527] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
[    9.362673] wlan0: associated
[   24.616803] fuse init (API version 7.22)
[ 1840.127040] perf samples too long (2750 > 2500), lowering kernel.perf_event_max_sample_rate to 50100
[ 8650.862167] perf samples too long (5075 > 4990), lowering kernel.perf_event_max_sample_rate to 25200

There doesn't seem to be anything helpful here. I've tried to look for some other interresting log files:

root@flobox:/var/log$ ls -tl
total 21016
-rw-rw-r-- 1 root utmp            1115136 Nov  2 13:40 wtmp
-rw------- 1 root root              32032 Nov  2 13:40 faillog
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root              60886 Nov  2 13:40 Xorg.0.log
drwx--x--x 2 root gdm                4096 Nov  2 13:40 gdm
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root              69727 Nov  2 13:40 Xorg.0.log.old
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root             292292 Nov  2 13:39 lastlog
[...]

root@flobox:/var/log/gdm$ ls -tl
total 1424
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  54364 Nov  2 13:40 :0.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  61597 Nov  2 13:40 :0.log.1
[...]

… but:
- wtmp is unhelpful garbage
- faillog and lastlog are near empty
- all the other ones seem to be just informational logging

Offline

#4 2013-11-03 15:45:15

mrinx
Member
From: Richmond, VA
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 87
Website

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

Sorry for late response, do you have ~/.xsession-errors file on your hdd? In case that it's there, aren't there any errors?


English isn't my first language.
Is Arch Linux user called archer? Where are our bows and arrows?

Offline

#5 2013-11-03 18:08:51

monsieur moche
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-14
Posts: 47

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

I do have this file in my home directory, but its last modification date is Dec 2nd 2012 hmm.

Offline

#6 2013-11-03 18:29:44

mrinx
Member
From: Richmond, VA
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 87
Website

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

Weird. On the lock screen, can you blindly type your password and get in? When the lock screen is frozen and you switch to TTY, can you see in "top" any process eating a lot of CPU (like 99 %)?


English isn't my first language.
Is Arch Linux user called archer? Where are our bows and arrows?

Offline

#7 2013-11-07 23:43:43

monsieur moche
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-14
Posts: 47

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

I thought I was done with it but it just happened again…

On the lock screen, can you blindly type your password and get in?

What I called the lock screen is the screen displaying a digital clock and some blinking arrows indicating you can unlock the screen by sliding it up. Besides, there's no login screen behind it, so no password is needed.

When the lock screen is frozen and you switch to TTY, can you see in "top" any process eating a lot of CPU (like 99 %)?

No process eating 99% of the CPU, but there was plugin-container (i.e. Flash player) taking ~35%, which isn't that unusual.
I killed it anyway, just to be sure, but nothing magical happened.

Offline

#8 2013-11-09 20:33:20

mrinx
Member
From: Richmond, VA
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 87
Website

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

Hmmm, isn't there any way how to unlock it with keyboard? I think something just eats your mouse.


English isn't my first language.
Is Arch Linux user called archer? Where are our bows and arrows?

Offline

#9 2013-11-10 11:15:29

monsieur moche
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-14
Posts: 47

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

I don't think so, I don't have a cat.
The screen can be unlocked by pressing Enter, which I usually do. Neither the keyboard nor the mouse work.
Besides, in my last freezes, the screen was totally black. And when I switch to a TTY and switch back to X, the screen is full of… vsync glitches? I don't know how to describe this. Anyway, it's frozen.

I originally thought it was a Gnome problem and that X was fine, but it may be an X issue after all…

Offline

#10 2013-11-10 14:39:33

mrinx
Member
From: Richmond, VA
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 87
Website

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

But then, if it is an X issue, you should be able to find a log about it in X logs... I'm sorry that I'm not more helpful here.


English isn't my first language.
Is Arch Linux user called archer? Where are our bows and arrows?

Offline

#11 2013-11-10 21:49:16

monsieur moche
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-14
Posts: 47

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

Don't be sorry, thank you for your kindness smile.

Offline

#12 2013-11-11 21:43:29

mrinx
Member
From: Richmond, VA
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 87
Website

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

I wish I could help you more. You mentioned, that it could be a problem with X. What video driver are you using?

What if you issue gnome-shell --replace or DISPLAY=:N gnome-shell --replace (where N is a display with X running on it) after your system freezes?


English isn't my first language.
Is Arch Linux user called archer? Where are our bows and arrows?

Offline

#13 2013-11-12 19:38:45

monsieur moche
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-14
Posts: 47

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

I'm using ati-dri 9.2.2-1.

I'll try your command the next time the freeze occurs.

Offline

#14 2013-11-14 21:35:04

monsieur moche
Member
From: France
Registered: 2009-10-14
Posts: 47

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

I ran this command:

DISPLAY=:0 gnome-shell --replace

The command hanged (without writing anything on stdout), but nothing happened on the X display…

Last edited by monsieur moche (2013-11-15 17:16:58)

Offline

#15 2013-11-16 14:41:11

mrinx
Member
From: Richmond, VA
Registered: 2013-08-01
Posts: 87
Website

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

Hmmm, I don't know then. I thought that maybe some other archer would appear here with some idea, so I'm a bit surprised that it didn't happen yet. Maybe next time you can try to kill some other process related to gnome and see if it helps.


English isn't my first language.
Is Arch Linux user called archer? Where are our bows and arrows?

Offline

#16 2014-02-14 03:26:52

kenny3794
Member
Registered: 2013-05-04
Posts: 20

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

monsieur moche,

Did you get this resolved?  I've had a similar issue intermittently with a multi user login (some with and some without passwords).  The freeze I experience seems not to care about the use of a password, the number of logins, the length of login, the number of login switches, or the cpu/memory usage.  For example, on TTY 3  just an hour ago, I had a frozen login and switched to my wife's login on TTY 1.  Funny thing is gnome-shell on TTY 1 used 300+ MiB of RAM wheras the gnome-shell I was attempting to login to on TTY 3 had used 150MiB.

Typically, I resolve the problem by switching TTYs and logging in as the user who has a frozen gnome-shell.  then I run the command 'pkill -kill gnome-shell'.  Running this as a standard user without sudo priveleges will only kill that users gnome-shell.  The user's shell automatically restarts and I'm able to switch back to the user and log in.  However, this is not an ideal solution.  If you have gotten this resolved, I'd like to know what you were able to do so I can fix my performance as well.

Offline

#17 2014-02-14 18:43:37

w201
Member
Registered: 2012-10-04
Posts: 243

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

Same issue here. I've started noticing all the small annoyances in Gnome Shell related to screen lock, power saving and suspend features. I just disabled everything. Hoping Gnome team works out all the bugs soon. But yeah, if you just disable everything it won't freeze up anymore, but you won't be able to use those features.

Offline

#18 2014-04-01 00:15:33

HarlemSquirrel
Member
From: New York, NY
Registered: 2014-01-22
Posts: 95

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

I am having similar issues using the open source ati driver. I wonder if this has something to do with it? Auto syspend also causes issues but using `systemctl suspend` works flawlessly. I hope GNOME 3.12 works better once it hits the main repositories!


"Melody reigns supreme!"
    -J. J. Johnson

Offline

#19 2014-04-18 20:31:19

dimitxx
Member
Registered: 2014-04-18
Posts: 1

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

Well no fix ... I'm with gnome 3.12 (from the main repositories) and having the same issue. My graphical drivers are ati-dri 10.1.0 so since that appears to be the one thing we all have in common I guess the problem comes from them.

Offline

#20 2014-04-19 17:51:19

dunkles
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 2010-04-26
Posts: 64

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

i have the same problem

Offline

#21 2014-04-23 22:06:54

HarlemSquirrel
Member
From: New York, NY
Registered: 2014-01-22
Posts: 95

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

I can confirm I have the same issue with GNOME 3.12 and the 3.14 kernel. I am trying out the Enlightenment desktop now.


"Melody reigns supreme!"
    -J. J. Johnson

Offline

#22 2014-04-24 00:00:08

HarlemSquirrel
Member
From: New York, NY
Registered: 2014-01-22
Posts: 95

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

HarlemSquirrel wrote:

I can confirm I have the same issue with GNOME 3.12 and the 3.14 kernel. I am trying out the Enlightenment desktop now.

So far, auto suspend and black screen work well on the Enlightenment desktop.


"Melody reigns supreme!"
    -J. J. Johnson

Offline

#23 2014-04-24 13:26:26

sfrique
Member
Registered: 2013-12-12
Posts: 2

Re: Gnome 3.10 freezes after power saving blank screen

I have the same problem..

ati driver.. the is not log output anywhere i could find...

i have an another PC with nvidia and there is no such problem on it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB