You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-20 19:26:05

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 672

Genymotion and memory

I've recently been trying to use Genymotion for Android development and recently had to stop doing so because it cased my machine to slow to an unusable crawl - apparently from memory issues.  I noticed that they claimed to have fixed a memory leak in the latest version: https://cloud.genymotion.com/page/changelog/

I tried it again but have found that after about 10-15 minutes of heavy testing and deploying from eclipse, my machine becomes unusable again.  I have 4gb of memory, which I would have thought would be enough.

Does anyone else have this issue and, if so, do you still see it after upgrading?

Offline

#2 2013-11-27 13:05:39

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 672

Re: Genymotion and memory

No-one else have this issue? Or am I the only one using the combination of Eclipse and Genymotion?  I suppose that's possible given the popularity of AndroidStudio...

Offline

#3 2013-11-28 21:34:00

tavianator
Member
From: Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 858
Website

Re: Genymotion and memory

One thing I'd recommend is checking /usr/share/eclipse/eclipse.ini for the maximum heap size.  It defaults to 512MiB I think, raising it tends to help a lot.

Offline

#4 2013-12-07 15:20:10

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 672

Re: Genymotion and memory

Thanks for the reply, I'll certainly take a look at that.  But the problem is, I think, with Genymotion and the whole system is slowed to a crawl, not just eclipse.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB