You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-21 19:43:15

diamantlefou
Member
Registered: 2013-11-21
Posts: 4

Second monitor on motherboard not detected

Hello there,
I just got a new monitor and I wanted to keep the old one as a second screen.
They're both VGA, though. Since my Geforce GTX650 has only one VGA port, I had to plug the second one onto my motherboard VGA-plug.
I have a dual-boot Windows/Arch and on Microsoft's OS, everything worked just fine, it automatically downloaded a driver and my old screen was detected, on Linux however, it's not detected.
The weirdest part is that the LED on the old monitor stays green, which means that it's not in sleep mode.
I tried installing Mesa, but it didn't change anything.
Do you know if there's anything I can do to fix this problem?
Sorry about the language mistakes, I'm not a native english speaker.
Thank you.

Offline

#2 2013-11-22 16:23:10

silverhammermba
Member
Registered: 2011-04-14
Posts: 141

Re: Second monitor on motherboard not detected

Does xrandr show the second monitor? If it doesn't, it might be tricky to get it working. If it does show it, it's probably just a matter of setting up your xorg.conf correctly. You can play around with xrandr settings until you find some that work.

Offline

#3 2013-12-04 13:39:52

diamantlefou
Member
Registered: 2013-11-21
Posts: 4

Re: Second monitor on motherboard not detected

Sorry for not answering earlier, I couldn't use my computer.
Anyway, xrandr doesn't seem to detect the other monitor.
Here's the output:

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 16384 x 16384
DVI-I-0 connected primary 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
   1280x1024      60.0*+   75.0 
   1152x864       75.0 
   1024x768       75.0     60.0 
   800x600        75.0     60.3 
   640x480        75.0     59.9 
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-D-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

The strange thing is my graphics card has only one DVI-I port and my motherboard doesn't even have one, xrandr shows two DVI-I ports. Is it a bug or is there something I missed ?
Thank you for helping me.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB