You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-24 23:47:20

gu3
Member
Registered: 2013-11-24
Posts: 8

[solved] No shell in Konsole after last update

After doing pacman -Syu with testing enabled, some terminal applications (konsole, tilda) are not working correctly. I can't see any shell, just a black screen. Only xterm is working. I tried executing /bin/sh inside xterm and it works.

Thanks!

Last edited by gu3 (2013-11-25 02:03:11)

Offline

#2 2013-11-24 23:50:22

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,374
Website

Re: [solved] No shell in Konsole after last update

What did you upgrade? What happens if you try and launch another term from xterm: are there any errors?


If you are going to use [testing] please help out by including relevant diagnostic information in your posts. See How To Ask Questions The Smart Way


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2013-11-25 00:09:55

gu3
Member
Registered: 2013-11-24
Posts: 8

Re: [solved] No shell in Konsole after last update

I upgrade everything, including kdelibs and bash. I'm asking here because i have testing enabled. Feel free to move the post if you think it is not related.

Launching konsole from xterm gives the same result.

Offline

#4 2013-11-25 00:18:51

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: [solved] No shell in Konsole after last update

Do you see the cursor? Are you sure it's not black text on a black background?

Offline

#5 2013-11-25 01:10:54

gu3
Member
Registered: 2013-11-24
Posts: 8

Re: [solved] No shell in Konsole after last update

Cursor is set on the first line, not responding to the keyboard input. No black text or anything.

Last edited by gu3 (2013-11-25 01:11:21)

Offline

#6 2013-11-25 01:18:46

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: [solved] No shell in Konsole after last update

IIRC https://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail … 25332.html similar issues.
Check your fstab.

I'm also using [testing], I've installed tilda and it works for me.

Offline

#7 2013-11-25 02:04:53

gu3
Member
Registered: 2013-11-24
Posts: 8

Re: [solved] No shell in Konsole after last update

Thanks, deleting the devpts line in fstab was the solution!

I think this should be flagged as a manual intervention in the upgrade process, right?

Offline

#8 2013-11-25 02:09:20

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [solved] No shell in Konsole after last update

Except that this happened a while ago, and the changes have already made it to [core]...

Offline

#9 2013-11-25 02:10:21

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: [solved] No shell in Konsole after last update

gu3 wrote:

I think this should be flagged as a manual intervention in the upgrade process, right?

Nope, you should have removed them a long time ago when dealing with a .pacnew file https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit … 3f21375d00


BTW, when was the last time you updated?

Offline

#10 2013-11-25 02:15:28

gu3
Member
Registered: 2013-11-24
Posts: 8

Re: [solved] No shell in Konsole after last update

I was living abroad for several months and my desktop was outdated. My bad!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB