You are not logged in.

#726 2014-10-23 20:10:19

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Following the changes in the linux package 3.17.0-2 I installed intel-ucode and it looks like we do have a microcode update with the 2955U.

dmesg|grep intel-ucode

Without intel-ucode:
23:00:56 arch-720 kernel: microcode: CPU0 sig=0x40651, pf=0x40, revision=0x15
23:00:56 arch-720 kernel: microcode: CPU1 sig=0x40651, pf=0x40, revision=0x15
23:00:56 arch-720 kernel: microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

With intel-ucode:
23:01:54 arch-720 kernel: CPU0 microcode updated early to revision 0x1c, date = 2014-07-03
23:01:54 arch-720 kernel: CPU1 microcode updated early to revision 0x1c, date = 2014-07-03
23:01:54 arch-720 kernel: microcode: CPU0 sig=0x40651, pf=0x40, revision=0x1c
23:01:54 arch-720 kernel: microcode: CPU1 sig=0x40651, pf=0x40, revision=0x1c
23:01:54 arch-720 kernel: microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

Last edited by dhead (2014-10-23 20:11:10)

Offline

#727 2014-10-24 14:19:36

scot14
Member
Registered: 2014-06-02
Posts: 123

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

SolarBoyMatt wrote:

I realize I haven't had the will/energy/time to fortify this machine better for Arch (eg. setting GBB flags, flashing custom ROM). I use this machine pretty heavily for school work, and losing my Arch install due to empty battery/accidentally hitting space on the splash screen, etc, would be pretty bad.

If you make a usb stick with the chromeos recovery image, you can go back to a known good state even after modifying the gbb flags. Don't ask me how I know :-) But this seems much harder to do with the custom firmware, which is why I don't use it.

If you don't want to modify the gbb flags, you could create a thumb drive with some bootable linux distro like finnix (or maybe the arch installer in x86 mode? i can't remember). Then once a week 'dd' the whole SSD to another thumb drive or an SD card. Voilà, a complete backup!

Offline

#728 2014-10-25 23:10:52

parchedas
Member
From: Cambridge, UK
Registered: 2013-06-01
Posts: 74

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Hi guys, I'm back and come bearing gifts in the form of a repo with linux-chromebook.

I set up a server at home so you can add

[parched]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server=http://202.0.41.202/archlinux/repo/$repo/$arch

to

/etc/pacman.conf

and linux-chromebook will update automatically, no compiling etc.

I'll add linux-mainline-chromebook later today.

Thank you Matt for taking over the packages in my absence. I'm happy to take them back if you would like, but up to you smile

EDIT: Thank you also Scot, for you work on those patches.

EDIT2: linux-mainline-chromebook has been added too now

Last edited by parchedas (2014-10-26 00:19:11)

Offline

#729 2014-10-26 01:44:32

melkir
Member
Registered: 2014-10-21
Posts: 28

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

The touchpad multitouch isn't working by default for me with linux-mainline-chromebook. I have installed synaptic, but it's not a perfect solution.

Last edited by melkir (2014-10-27 02:53:52)


Asus K73SD : ArchLinux | W8 ~ Acer  C720P : ArchLinux | ChromeOS

Offline

#730 2014-10-26 10:24:55

daxofdeath
Member
Registered: 2014-03-22
Posts: 10

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

parchedas wrote:

Hi guys, I'm back and come bearing gifts in the form of a repo with linux-chromebook.

I set up a server at home so you can add

[parched]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server=http://202.0.41.202/archlinux/repo/$repo/$arch

to

/etc/pacman.conf

and linux-chromebook will update automatically, no compiling etc.

That's really great, thanks for this!

Offline

#731 2014-10-26 13:11:35

SolarBoyMatt
Member
From: Columbus, Ohio
Registered: 2012-01-07
Posts: 258
Website

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

parchedas wrote:

Hi guys, I'm back and come bearing gifts in the form of a repo with linux-chromebook.

I set up a server at home so you can add

[parched]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server=http://202.0.41.202/archlinux/repo/$repo/$arch

to

/etc/pacman.conf

and linux-chromebook will update automatically, no compiling etc.

I'll add linux-mainline-chromebook later today.

Thank you Matt for taking over the packages in my absence. I'm happy to take them back if you would like, but up to you smile

EDIT: Thank you also Scot, for you work on those patches.

EDIT2: linux-mainline-chromebook has been added too now

That would probably be best, since I've reinstalled Chrome OS on this machine until I have the time to do everything needed to flash a custom ROM, so I haven't been able to test the kernels myself. I'll go ahead and orphan the AUR packages.

Offline

#732 2014-10-26 16:01:25

scot14
Member
Registered: 2014-06-02
Posts: 123

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

SolarBoyMatt wrote:
parchedas wrote:

Thank you Matt for taking over the packages in my absence. I'm happy to take them back if you would like, but up to you smile

That would probably be best, since I've reinstalled Chrome OS on this machine until I have the time to do everything needed to flash a custom ROM, so I haven't been able to test the kernels myself. I'll go ahead and orphan the AUR packages.

The usb patch made it into 3.18-rc1 & I've been waiting a month hear back from the tpm device driver maintainers about the other patch.

Offline

#733 2014-10-26 16:24:13

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

@scot14

Thanks, that's great.
I did saw a C710 user post about non functional usb ports with the misc patches in linux-chromebook, is related to the usb patch ?

Offline

#734 2014-10-26 16:41:20

scot14
Member
Registered: 2014-06-02
Posts: 123

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

dhead wrote:

@scot14

Thanks, that's great.
I did saw a C710 user post about non functional usb ports with the misc patches in linux-chromebook, is related to the usb patch ?

I'd guess the C710 requires the EHCI modules which aren't in the chromebook kernels. Not sure why the standard kernels are not working for the OP, so followed up there. Thanks!

Last edited by scot14 (2014-10-26 19:08:18)

Offline

#735 2014-10-27 03:27:23

melkir
Member
Registered: 2014-10-21
Posts: 28

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

parchedas wrote:

Hi guys, I'm back and come bearing gifts in the form of a repo with linux-chromebook.

I set up a server at home so you can add

[parched]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server=http://202.0.41.202/archlinux/repo/$repo/$arch

to

/etc/pacman.conf

and linux-chromebook will update automatically, no compiling etc.

I'll add linux-mainline-chromebook later today.

Thank you Matt for taking over the packages in my absence. I'm happy to take them back if you would like, but up to you smile

EDIT: Thank you also Scot, for you work on those patches.

EDIT2: linux-mainline-chromebook has been added too now

Does these patch are include when I install for the first time from your repo or I need to compile just once and then add your repo for the next update ?

config
config.x86_64
backlight-dell-11.patch
change-default-console-loglevel.patch
linux.preset
v10-tpm_tis-verify-interrupt-during-init.patch

Last edited by melkir (2014-10-27 03:28:30)


Asus K73SD : ArchLinux | W8 ~ Acer  C720P : ArchLinux | ChromeOS

Offline

#736 2014-10-27 04:00:06

parchedas
Member
From: Cambridge, UK
Registered: 2013-06-01
Posts: 74

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

No, you just need to add my repo and do

# pacman -Syu linux-chromebook

and then update grub if you haven't done it with linux-chromebook installed before

Offline

#737 2014-10-27 09:47:14

daxofdeath
Member
Registered: 2014-03-22
Posts: 10

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I just upgraded to 3.17 using the linux-chromebook repo that parchedas is hosting. I'm not sure if this is a chromebook thing or not, but i think it makes sense to post here first.

Before upgrading, my touchpad was totally unrecognized - a problem I know some of you have also dealt with.  The upgrade fixed this issue and I'm back to using a touchpad, which is great as I do a lot of traveling and carting around a USB mouse is annoying.

I use sublime as a text editor for programming.  When in the editor, if  I use two-finger trackpad scrolling, the system freezes and I need to hard restart.  At first I thought this was a trackpad issue, as the trackpad has been a pain point in the past, but two finger scrolling doesn't cause any problems when used in any of the other applications I've tested (chromium, evince, gnome-terminal).  Additionally, using the arrows to scroll inside of sublime also causes the system to freeze (although not immediately like using the touchpad). 

This is a weird problem, and I know it's not totally isolated - but has anyone else run into something like this?

[EDIT] I reinstalled  sublime, and at first I thought it was working - but it seems like it's only working (that is, not causing system freezes) when I'm connected to the internet.  Maybe a problem with netctl?

Last edited by daxofdeath (2014-10-27 18:13:33)

Offline

#738 2014-10-27 15:18:17

melkir
Member
Registered: 2014-10-21
Posts: 28

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

On the last linux-mainline-chromebook I have some errors in my log

journalctl -b0 --priority 2..3

-- Logs begin at jeu. 2014-10-23 18:13:15 CEST, end at lun. 2014-10-27 16:14:34 CET. --
oct. 27 16:13:19 arch kernel: usb 1-4: language id specifier not provided by device, defaulting to English
oct. 27 16:13:19 arch kernel: tpm_tis 00:08: [Firmware Bug]: TPM interrupt not working, polling instead
oct. 27 16:13:22 arch pulseaudio[414]: [pulseaudio] bluez5-util.c: GetManagedObjects() failed: org.freedesktop.systemd1.LoadFailed: Unit dbus-org.bluez.service failed to load: No such file or directory.
oct. 27 16:13:22 arch pulseaudio[432]: [pulseaudio] pid.c: Daemon already running.
oct. 27 16:13:30 arch pulseaudio[615]: GetManagedObjects() failed: org.freedesktop.systemd1.LoadFailed: Unit dbus-org.bluez.service failed to load: No such file or directory.
oct. 27 16:13:30 arch pulseaudio[644]: [pulseaudio] pid.c: Daemon already running.


Asus K73SD : ArchLinux | W8 ~ Acer  C720P : ArchLinux | ChromeOS

Offline

#739 2014-10-27 15:29:20

SolarBoyMatt
Member
From: Columbus, Ohio
Registered: 2012-01-07
Posts: 258
Website

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

The tpm_tis and USB errors are harmless as far as I know. The rest of those look GNOME related. Are you trying to use Bluetooth for anything? I recall others having issues getting it working properly.

Last edited by SolarBoyMatt (2014-10-27 15:29:48)

Offline

#740 2014-10-29 09:21:48

ioos
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 125

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

jquagga wrote:

I created an .icc profile for mine with a Spyder color meter.  DispWinGui loads it when I log in, but for a second there is a notable blue tint before the profile loads and trys to normalize things. 

I put the .icc file up on github, but your machine might be different.  https://github.com/jquagga/AcerC720


Thank you for this. It looks much better than default or even the tweaks with redshift. It's a significant improvement.

Offline

#741 2014-10-31 05:36:51

alexis_evo
Member
Registered: 2013-07-04
Posts: 33

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Okay, I'm stumped and frustrated. HP14 here, but I imagine same problem exists on C720. Trying to setup Alt + Up/Down to PageUp/PageDown. Use bindkeys to get the codes for the keys:

[alexis@pinky ~]$ xbindkeys -k
Press combination of keys or/and click under the window.
You can use one of the two lines after "NoCommand"
in $HOME/.xbindkeysrc to bind a key.
"(Scheme function)"
    m:0x8 + c:111
    Alt + Up
[alexis@pinky ~]$ xbindkeys -k
Press combination of keys or/and click under the window.
You can use one of the two lines after "NoCommand"
in $HOME/.xbindkeysrc to bind a key.
"(Scheme function)"
    m:0x8 + c:116
    Alt + Down

Toss these into .xbindkeysrc

#Page Down
"xvkbd -xsendevent -text '\[Page_Down]'"
   m:0x8 + c:116
   Alt_L + Down

#Page Up
"xvkbd -xsendevent -text '\[Page_Up]'"
   m:0x8 + c:111
   Alt_L + Up

Launch xbindkeys, alt tab to chrome, everything works! Alt tab to gnome-terminal... and it doesn't work. PageUp/PageDn are not passed into terminal programs by gnome-terminal. I use weechat for IRC and by default pgup/pgdn scrolls through the buffer, but it's doing nothing. Weechat has a keybind setup to display keycodes that it receives (alt k). I hit it, then press alt up, and it doesn't output anything. I press any other key after that and it gives me that keycode.

I've disabled all terminal shortcuts and unchecked 'use mnemonics' in gnone-terminal's settings. I tried firing up rxvt and it works great in there, just not gnome-terminal. However, I really don't want to switch terminals over this -- I like the looks and features of gnome-terminal. Anyone have any ideas?

Offline

#742 2014-10-31 19:14:18

DoctorSamulus
Member
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 53

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

daxofdeath wrote:

I just upgraded to 3.17 using the linux-chromebook repo that parchedas is hosting. I'm not sure if this is a chromebook thing or not, but i think it makes sense to post here first.

Before upgrading, my touchpad was totally unrecognized - a problem I know some of you have also dealt with.  The upgrade fixed this issue and I'm back to using a touchpad, which is great as I do a lot of traveling and carting around a USB mouse is annoying.

I use sublime as a text editor for programming.  When in the editor, if  I use two-finger trackpad scrolling, the system freezes and I need to hard restart.  At first I thought this was a trackpad issue, as the trackpad has been a pain point in the past, but two finger scrolling doesn't cause any problems when used in any of the other applications I've tested (chromium, evince, gnome-terminal).  Additionally, using the arrows to scroll inside of sublime also causes the system to freeze (although not immediately like using the touchpad). 

This is a weird problem, and I know it's not totally isolated - but has anyone else run into something like this?

[EDIT] I reinstalled  sublime, and at first I thought it was working - but it seems like it's only working (that is, not causing system freezes) when I'm connected to the internet.  Maybe a problem with netctl?

I am also getting freezing like this. It happened immediately after I upgraded to 3.17 as well and seems to happen whenever I'm scrolling randomly as well.  Does anyone have a hotfix? It is super annoying.

Offline

#743 2014-11-04 01:11:19

mshan
Member
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 105

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I am trying to remap search key to capslock key in openbox on acer c720.
I do

(sleep 2s && xmodmap -e "keycode 133 = Caps_Lock") &

in
autostart file.
but does not work.

I also create ~/.Xmodmap editing as keycode 133 = Caps_Lock
and edited ~./xinitrc as mentioned in arch wiki.
it also doesn't work

Last edited by mshan (2014-11-04 01:21:52)


Amazing !

Offline

#744 2014-11-04 15:43:29

serh
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 20

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

Hello, folks!

I have been using my C720 and have been pretty happy with it until recently the fan on the left side started blowing full speed, making a very annoying noise, especially if I am working in a quiet room.

Is there any way to get the fan speeds under control?
I've tried sensors, but it couldn't detect fans at all.

Offline

#745 2014-11-04 16:32:34

hckr
Member
Registered: 2014-05-03
Posts: 12
Website

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

I am unable to boot back into arch. SeaBIOS says that there are no bootable devices found.

What happened was that I was upgrading all my packages with paceman -Syu then the system froze completely, forcing me to do a hard power off.

How do I fix this? Is it a hardware issue?

Offline

#746 2014-11-04 17:38:54

scot14
Member
Registered: 2014-06-02
Posts: 123

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

serh wrote:

Is there any way to get the fan speeds under control?
I've tried sensors, but it couldn't detect fans at all.

It's controlled by an EC?
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n … px=MTMwOTY

Offline

#747 2014-11-04 18:11:04

serh
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 20

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

hckr wrote:

I am unable to boot back into arch. SeaBIOS says that there are no bootable devices found.

What happened was that I was upgrading all my packages with paceman -Syu then the system froze completely, forcing me to do a hard power off.

How do I fix this? Is it a hardware issue?

It's possible that you've left an SD card or a USB stick in and SeaBIOS tries to boots them by default. Otherwise, sounds like your boot messed up.
Get a Live USB, fsck your partitions and try re-installing the bootloader.

scot14 wrote:

It's controlled by an EC?

So it's a hardware problem then? What I notice is that after a sufficiently long power-off or suspend there is no noise when I power it back on for about five minutes and as soon as I open Firefox it spins in. I hear bleeping noises and the loud fan combined, almost sounds like the coil whine, but on quick inspection I suspect the fan most.
Since I can't power on with the back lid open I am still not sure.

Last edited by serh (2014-11-04 18:11:34)

Offline

#748 2014-11-04 22:30:40

dhead
Member
Registered: 2012-09-26
Posts: 190

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

scot14 wrote:

Pretty amazing that this is also OSS.
It does look like the C720 (peppy) got its own firmware branch (re-check in the git repo).

The bad side is that now I really hold myself from dismantling my C720 to check which IC is used. Edit: scratch that, from the git repo it looks like 32bit Arm Cortex M3 or M4.

Last edited by dhead (2014-11-04 23:06:58)

Offline

#749 2014-11-05 01:00:19

scot14
Member
Registered: 2014-06-02
Posts: 123

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

serh wrote:

So it's a hardware problem then? What I notice is that after a sufficiently long power-off or suspend there is no noise when I power it back on for about five minutes and as soon as I open Firefox it spins in. I hear bleeping noises and the loud fan combined, almost sounds like the coil whine, but on quick inspection I suspect the fan most.
Since I can't power on with the back lid open I am still not sure.

Any dust on the fan or motherboard?

Offline

#750 2014-11-05 02:44:58

serh
Member
Registered: 2011-08-16
Posts: 20

Re: Acer C720/C720P Chromebook

scot14 wrote:

Any dust on the fan or motherboard?

Doesn't look like it. This C720 is only about three weeks old.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB