You are not logged in.

#1 2013-12-03 10:09:25

naesk
Member
Registered: 2013-11-28
Posts: 8

[SOLVED] No Sound with ALSA & Pulseaudio

Recently I made the transition from Debian to Arch, installed on a
seperate partition using the chroot install method.

All went smoothly, with the exception that there is no audio whatsoever.
Over the last week I've read through the related topics on the wiki and searched the forum,
but to no avail sad

Any assistance would be appreciated.


Here are some details;

lspci | grep audio

00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW
(ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller [8086:2668] (rev 03)

lsmod | grep snd

snd_intel8x0m           9736  0
snd_ac97_codec         89404  1 snd_intel8x0m
ac97_bus                 910  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_hda_codec_realtek    35187  1
snd_hda_intel          31255  0
snd_hda_codec         128666  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               4750  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss            33509  0
snd_mixer_oss          12450  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                63880  5
snd_pcm_oss,snd_ac97_codec,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_intel8x0m
snd_page_alloc          5978  3 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel,snd_intel8x0m
snd_seq_dummy           1131  0
snd_seq_oss            25116  0
snd_seq_midi            4104  0
snd_seq_midi_event      4484  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_rawmidi            14828  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                41044  6
snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_device          4256  5
snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_midi
snd_timer              14946  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd                    44566  14
snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_pcm_oss,snd_ac97_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_se$
soundcore               4386  1 snd

ls /dev/snd/*

/dev/snd/controlC0
/dev/snd/hwC0D2
/dev/snd/seq
/dev/snd/timer

/dev/snd/by-path:
pci-0000:00:1b.0

cat /proc/asound/modules

0 snd_hda_intel

aplay -lL

null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
default
    Default ALSA Output (currently PulseAudio Sound Server)
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****

Screenshots of alsamixer
http://www.imgbin.org/index.php?page=image&id=15874
http://www.imgbin.org/index.php?page=image&id=15875

pavucontrol shows no devices for configuration

Last edited by naesk (2013-12-13 08:11:44)

Offline

#2 2013-12-06 17:45:58

yevra
Member
Registered: 2013-12-06
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] No Sound with ALSA & Pulseaudio

It looks like OSS and ALSA are installed but I think ALSA replaces OSS. When I do "lsmod | grep snd" I do not get any lines containing oss. I think I would try removing OSS.

Offline

#3 2013-12-13 08:10:39

naesk
Member
Registered: 2013-11-28
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] No Sound with ALSA & Pulseaudio

Having tried various methods, of configuring, removing OSS, Pulseaudio, reinstalling etc I left it alone for a few days so as to concentrate on other matters.

Yesterday, I returned back to the issue determined to resolve it.
Despite having already tried the removal & reloading of the snd-hda-intel kernel module this time it magically worked! \o/

Offline

#4 2013-12-13 08:38:07

hcjl
Member
From: berlin
Registered: 2007-06-29
Posts: 180
Website

Re: [SOLVED] No Sound with ALSA & Pulseaudio

a couple of days i had a similar problem, because sound modules for my internal modem were loaded. maybe you can try to blacklist the snd_hda_codec_realtek module, which looks like a network card.

you can achieve that by putting

blacklist snd_hda_codec_realtek

in /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf and reboot.

rgds
hcjl

Last edited by hcjl (2013-12-13 08:39:48)

Offline

#5 2013-12-13 09:26:27

naesk
Member
Registered: 2013-11-28
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] No Sound with ALSA & Pulseaudio

hcjl

Thanks for the reply, much appreciated.

Before submitting this post I had tried various methods and configs, including the blacklisting, removing and reloading modules.
Fortunately I've managed to get it working and have marked post as solved smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB