You are not logged in.

#1 2005-12-28 11:25:09

honzor
Member
Registered: 2005-12-18
Posts: 42

[SOLVED]snd-hda-intel takes ages to load

My system was taking really a long time loading the modules so i checked which module was causing the slowdown, and it actually is caused by snd-hda-intel. Has anyone a clue on how i could solve this?

UPDATE: as of 2.6.16, the module takes almost no time to load.

Offline

#2 2006-01-23 17:54:38

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: [SOLVED]snd-hda-intel takes ages to load

Any clue which chipset you are using?
You probably need a "model" argument in your modprobe.conf.
You can get a good idea reading here (its Debian specific, not difficult at all to follow/adapt).
If there's no improvement, ALSA's debug script should help.


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#3 2006-01-23 18:38:14

honzor
Member
Registered: 2005-12-18
Posts: 42

Re: [SOLVED]snd-hda-intel takes ages to load

Hi, thanks for the reply. No, i didnt found what chipset exactly im using, its a intel i915 board, but i didnt find info about what hda chip it has integrated. played around a bit with the modprobe.conf settings, but module still takes more than 18 seconds to load...

Offline

#4 2006-02-02 19:55:19

nirvanix
Member
From: Saskatoon
Registered: 2005-01-31
Posts: 193

Re: [SOLVED]snd-hda-intel takes ages to load

I've got the Realtek ALC880, which loads the snd-hda-intel module also. It loads very quickly on my machine but - I am using the ALSA version 11 (not in ARCH repository yet). I downloaded it from the ALSA website and compiled it myself. I found that the current ALSA (version 10) would not work for this soundchip.


I've got a lovely bunch of coconuts...

Offline

#5 2006-02-07 14:10:48

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: [SOLVED]snd-hda-intel takes ages to load

Actually ALSA 10.X does work with ALC880, but for having your softmixer displaying properly the I/O entries some footwork is needed...
Anyway, v.11 seems working right-out-of-the-box, or at least it does on my lappy.


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB