You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-13 19:37:29

Jatra

[SOLVED]Nano can't find some files to edit > Locate can't find ...

Hi! You've maybe heard this thousand times before, but I'm new to Arch Linux and Unix commands, so this is maybe stupid question and bla bla bla... but that's why there's Newbie Corner, right? I'm running Arch with LXDE on quite old and tired HP desktop, if that's important.

So, I'd like to have terminal right on my desktop, like hard core linux guys do. I googled a bit and found some how-tos. Tried to find file autostart.sh for openbox, didn't find it with command line nether graphical file browser, so I created one with nano to /home/user/.config/openbox folder, that's allright? After that, I'd like to edit rc.xml file. There's no such file (or at least I could't find one), so I tought that the file lxde-rc.xml in same folder is my target - graphical browser shows me that folder, Nano don't. Still on the map? BUT, there's where a problem occured - if I try to open the file for editing with Nano, there's just blank file. Tried several times, so it's not up to some misspelling or anything like that. There's been similar situations before, so is there something wrong with my installation, filesystem or Nano? I tried command 'locate' too, and it didn't work, too. What am I supposed to do?

And notice that question is about the Nano thing, Lxterminal on desktop isn't so important compared to undestandin my system tools and their behavior.

Last edited by Jatra (2014-01-15 18:47:31)

#2 2014-01-13 19:54:36

β ™

Re: [SOLVED]Nano can't find some files to edit > Locate can't find ...

I hope you aren't trying to edit a directory instead of a file? Can you show us a few examples (exactly as they are; command by command) of what you have been doing there recently?

#3 2014-01-13 20:08:56

Jatra