You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-14 04:53:14

OOT

Add Windows Vista entry to GRUB2?

First off total noob here. I have installed Arch twice (once on my own following various tutorials and YouTube videos). Then I opted for the ais/aui scripts. Everything is working well except for my GRUB2 menu. This machine was initially a MS Vista only machine. Then I partitioned using some software to clear up space. I tried installing Ubuntu (before I heard about the information/data sharing). So I deleted Ubuntu but during that distro's install my Windows MBR got corrupted. My fault I know but it is what it is. So I went with Arch and following the scripts all went well with using the 3 partitions I had set up (root/swap/usr).

But now I can not boot into my Windows partition. After the MS MBR was corrupted I was still able to boot into Windows using a Live Linux CD which let me choose the OS. But now using just Arch I can not. My GRUB2 options are Arch and Arch Fallback. I have read the Wiki and followed various "how-to's" but thus far have no luck. Most of which I see suggest editing the /etc/grub.d/40_custom file (or the 41_custom file). Most also suggest running update-grub but I've read here that that is not only not necessary but not possible. No command.

The closest I came was a post on the ArchBang board concerning writing one's own 40_custom file (and thus not needing the os-prober program). Honestly that was way above me.

Anyway, here is the output of my fdisk -l command:
144ddb301064558.jpg

This is what the ArchBang suggestion was (adding to the /etc/grub.d/40_custom file):
3132c7301064556.jpg

But as you can see from my /boot/grub.cfg file, my menu items end after the linux fallback entry.
72533a301064554.jpg