You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-22 12:57:59

WolleTD
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 70

Configuration of GRUB with grub-mkconfig?!

Ok,

so I wanted to configure my GRUB and came across some things I don't know what to do with.

First of all, I want to try configuring it with /etc/grub.d/-files. Editing the grub.cfg wouldn't be a problem at all, but why not try the recommended way?

Now to the mysterious things:
Why are there 10_archlinux AND 10_linux config files, both throwing around bootmenu-entries?
With default configuration, I got 4 entries:

  1. "Arch Linux pkg-linux kernel"

  2. "Arch Linux pkg-linux kernel (fallback initramfs)"

  3. "Arch Linux"

  4. "Advanced options for Arch Linux"

Option 1 and 3 are desired to do the same, 4 is a submenu with one entry doing the same thing again.

But 1 isn't doing the same at all: My /boot-partition is a subvolume of a btrfs partition and the 10_archlinux-generated menu entries aren't capable of finding vmlinuz-linux on this because they use /vmlinuz-linux while the 10_linux-entries use /boot/vmlinuz-linux and by this access the subvolume.

Next thing is, while checking the grub.cfg I saw that there are actually 28 menuentries for a bunch of different architectures. What the..? Why aren't the config-files just writing the actual needed menu entries to the file?

I just think the /etc/grub.d/-config-stuff is a huge mess.

Now, after I finished this post, I don't really know why I am trying to do this. I think I will write my own grub.cfg from scratch. Looks easier.

Wolle

Offline

#2 2014-01-22 13:14:14

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,591
Website

Offline

#3 2014-01-22 13:35:11

WolleTD
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 70

Re: Configuration of GRUB with grub-mkconfig?!

Thank you. Second one is exactly the situation for me. Following.

Offline

#4 2014-01-22 13:47:30

R00KIE
Forum Fellow
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,734

Re: Configuration of GRUB with grub-mkconfig?!

As a dirty quick workaround, if you don't have any other distros installed, you could do 'chmod -x /etc/grub.d/10_linux'. It would revert back on the next grub update though.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#5 2014-01-22 14:30:44

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,591
Website

Re: Configuration of GRUB with grub-mkconfig?!

I would use the last good version if I were you (works for me): ftp://seblu.net/archlinux/arm/2013/12/2 … pkg.tar.xz

For more on older packages, see: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ARM

Last edited by graysky (2014-01-22 14:31:32)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#6 2014-01-22 22:34:33

Roken
Member
From: South Wales, UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 1,250

Re: Configuration of GRUB with grub-mkconfig?!

To be honest, I stopped trusting grub-mkconfig a long time ago. These days, I simply edit grub.cfg manually and haven't had any problems since,


Ryzen 5900X 12 core/24 thread - RTX 3090 FE 24 Gb, Asus Prime B450 Plus, 32Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 5 HD (1 NvME PCI, 4SSD) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#7 2014-01-27 10:30:12

WolleTD
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 70

Re: Configuration of GRUB with grub-mkconfig?!

R00KIE wrote:

As a dirty quick workaround, if you don't have any other distros installed, you could do 'chmod -x /etc/grub.d/10_linux'. It would revert back on the next grub update though.

Then, I would only have non-working boot entries.

Offline

#8 2014-01-27 13:41:41

R00KIE
Forum Fellow
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,734

Re: Configuration of GRUB with grub-mkconfig?!

WolleTD wrote:
R00KIE wrote:

As a dirty quick workaround, if you don't have any other distros installed, you could do 'chmod -x /etc/grub.d/10_linux'. It would revert back on the next grub update though.

Then, I would only have non-working boot entries.

Fair enough, you are probably better off writing your grub.cfg. I've seen the latest 10_archlinux fail hard when the root fs is f2fs, in your case you use boot as a subvolume on btrfs(1) so it I suppose it is another corner case that is not handled (yet at least).

(1) This might not be the most practical approach as usually you want to snapshot the contents of boot and root at the same time, but you must have your reasons to have them separated.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#9 2014-01-28 07:22:16

WolleTD
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 70

Re: Configuration of GRUB with grub-mkconfig?!

R00KIE wrote:
WolleTD wrote:
R00KIE wrote:

As a dirty quick workaround, if you don't have any other distros installed, you could do 'chmod -x /etc/grub.d/10_linux'. It would revert back on the next grub update though.

Then, I would only have non-working boot entries.

Fair enough, you are probably better off writing your grub.cfg. I've seen the latest 10_archlinux fail hard when the root fs is f2fs, in your case you use boot as a subvolume on btrfs(1) so it I suppose it is another corner case that is not handled (yet at least).

(1) This might not be the most practical approach as usually you want to snapshot the contents of boot and root at the same time, but you must have your reasons to have them separated.

Compression. Grub isn't able to boot from lzo-compressed btrfs system.

Offline

#10 2014-01-28 10:00:59

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,591
Website

Re: Configuration of GRUB with grub-mkconfig?!

Compression seems pointless on a sufficiently lager partition.  Just use "cat" as the method.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#11 2014-01-28 17:21:52

WolleTD
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 70

Re: Configuration of GRUB with grub-mkconfig?!

Compression makes things smaller. on 250GB SSD in a notebook without the possibility of increasing space it is not that pointless...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB