You are not logged in.

#1 2006-01-05 07:53:51

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

can't play any video...

I'm on a dell optiplex GX1 with an nvidia mx 400 card, this same card worked on the model that came before this machine fine but i just noticed that i can't play any type of video, not standalone files of through the mplayer-plugin. any help would be appreciated. i also tried the different options for the nvidia driver with/out "RenderAccel", disabled dri and glx in the xorg file, and still nothing, though everything else works fine. i also tried the different outputs in mplayer too. if it helps, this is the output i get from an .avi file:

CPU: Intel Pentium III Katmai/Pentium III Xeon Tanner (Family: 6, Stepping: 3)
Detected cache-line size is 32 bytes
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 0
Compiled with runtime CPU detection - WARNING - this is not optimal!
To get best performance, recompile MPlayer with --disable-runtime-cpudetection.

Failed to open /dev/rtc: No such file or directory (it should be readable by the user.)


[1]+  Stopped                 mplayer 07.avi

Offline

#2 2006-01-05 10:27:11

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: can't play any video...

Load the rtc module - you can do this rc.conf, or if you're using hwdetect, it should do it for you. That will solve the /dev/rtc problem, which may or may not be your entire problem.

Offline

#3 2006-01-05 22:30:14

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: can't play any video...

i loaded the rtc module wich wasnt loaded tho i have hwd listed in the daemons array. but, in mplayer i tried to use different sound plugins, for some reason the alsa plugin gives me nothing and freezes mplayer, but if i try the oss and even esd plugin i get video but no sound. still any more help is greatly appreciated since i'm deprived of video here, thx...

Offline

#4 2006-01-06 01:51:19

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: can't play any video...

Can you play the video in another video playing app like xine, for example?

Offline

#5 2006-01-06 05:40:27

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: can't play any video...

matter of fact i gives me video in xine and vlc but no audio.

Offline

#6 2006-01-12 18:28:17

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: can't play any video...

I guess im getting closer to finding a solution if someone can help me with this output i got. 'Mplayer interrupted by signal 15 in module: ao2_init', i get this when using mplayer with its default configuration wich has always worked on this same video card. By going into the audio section and trying different drivers and different configurations of those drivers all i can get is just the video and still no sound. Whats the entry in the modprobe.conf file i would use for my audio card (als4000), to see if that would do anything. thx...

Offline

#7 2006-01-13 15:19:08

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: can't play any video...

Can you post the output of

mplayer -v $videofile

Offline

#8 2006-01-13 19:21:37

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: can't play any video...

here's the output, thx...

[bhrich902arch2@arch2 downloads]$ MPlayer 1.0pre7try2-4.0.3 (C) 2000-2005 MPlayer Team
CPU: Intel Pentium III Katmai/Pentium III Xeon Tanner (Family: 6, Stepping: 3)
Detected cache-line size is 32 bytes
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 0
Compiled with runtime CPU detection - WARNING - this is not optimal!
To get best performance, recompile MPlayer with --disable-runtime-cpudetection.

CommandLine: '-v' 'Scrubs - s5e01 - my intern's eyes.avi'
init_freetype
get_path('font/font.desc') -> '/home/bhrich902arch2/.mplayer/font/font.desc'
font: can't open file: /home/bhrich902arch2/.mplayer/font/font.desc
font: can't open file: /usr/share/mplayer/font/font.desc
Using MMX (with tiny bit MMX2) Optimized OnScreenDisplay
Linux RTC init error in ioctl (rtc_irqp_set 1024): Permission denied
Try adding "echo 1024 > /proc/sys/dev/rtc/max-user-freq" to your system startup scripts.
Using nanosleep() timing
get_path('input.conf') -> '/home/bhrich902arch2/.mplayer/input.conf'
Can't open input config file /home/bhrich902arch2/.mplayer/input.conf: No such file or directory
Can't open input config file /etc/mplayer/input.conf: No such file or directory
Falling back on default (hardcoded) input config
get_path('Scrubs - s5e01 - my intern's eyes.avi.conf') -> '/home/bhrich902arch2/.mplayer/Scrubs - s5e01 - my intern's eyes.avi.conf'


[1]+  Stopped                 mplayer -v Scrubs - s5e01 - my intern's eyes.avi

Offline

#9 2006-01-13 19:51:46

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: can't play any video...

bhrich902 wrote:

Linux RTC init error in ioctl (rtc_irqp_set 1024): Permission denied
Try adding "echo 1024 > /proc/sys/dev/rtc/max-user-freq" to your system startup scripts.

As root:
# echo 1024 > /proc/sys/dev/rtc/max-user-freq

then try playing the video again. BTW, are you in the audio group?

Offline

#10 2006-01-13 20:37:19

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: can't play any video...

yup i'm in the audio group and nope that command does nothing. thx tho.

Offline

#11 2006-01-15 14:01:08

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: can't play any video...

MPlayer 1.0pre7try2-4.0.3 (C) 2000-2005 MPlayer Team
CPU: Intel Pentium III Katmai/Pentium III Xeon Tanner (Family: 6, Stepping: 3)
Detected cache-line size is 32 bytes
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 0
Compiled with runtime CPU detection - WARNING - this is not optimal!
To get best performance, recompile MPlayer with --disable-runtime-cpudetection.

CommandLine: '-v' 'Scrubs - s5e01 - my intern's eyes.avi'
init_freetype
get_path('font/font.desc') -> '/home/bhrich902arch2/.mplayer/font/font.desc'
font: can't open file: /home/bhrich902arch2/.mplayer/font/font.desc
font: can't open file: /usr/share/mplayer/font/font.desc
Using MMX (with tiny bit MMX2) Optimized OnScreenDisplay
Linux RTC init error in ioctl (rtc_irqp_set 1024): Permission denied
Try adding "echo 1024 > /proc/sys/dev/rtc/max-user-freq" to your system startup scripts.
Using nanosleep() timing
get_path('input.conf') -> '/home/bhrich902arch2/.mplayer/input.conf'
Can't open input config file /home/bhrich902arch2/.mplayer/input.conf: No such file or directory
Can't open input config file /etc/mplayer/input.conf: No such file or directory
Falling back on default (hardcoded) input config
get_path('Scrubs - s5e01 - my intern's eyes.avi.conf') -> '/home/bhrich902arch2/.mplayer/Scrubs - s5e01 - my intern's eyes.avi.conf'


[1]+  Stopped                 mplayer -v Scrubs - s5e01 - my intern's eyes.avi

This looks bad, mplayer doesn't even try to do anything, I have absolutely no clue what happens here? But I have another q: Why do you run mplayer in background?

Offline

#12 2006-01-16 06:32:51

bhrich902
Member
Registered: 2003-09-21
Posts: 75

Re: can't play any video...

no reason, just did it quickly so i can paste up here. wether by command line or gui none of my video players would play both the audio and video at the same time.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB