You are not logged in.

#1 2014-02-05 21:48:06

joetemp
Member
Registered: 2013-12-16
Posts: 73

[SOLVED] Compass does not work after update.

For those of you not familiar, Compass is a Ruby gem that works with SASS , another Ruby gem. SASS is a CSS preprocessor. Anyway, I had Compass working fine, now I've completely broken it. I didn't see anything on the announcements that I thought would affect me, nor did I see anything on the forums.

When I try to run the command 'compass watch' which makes compass poll for changes, I get this:

/usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/2.1.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:55:in `require': cannot load such file -- sass/script/node (LoadError)
	from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/2.1.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:55:in `require'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/lib/compass/sass_extensions/monkey_patches/browser_support.rb:1:in `<top (required)>'
	from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/2.1.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:55:in `require'
	from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/2.1.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:55:in `require'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/lib/compass/sass_extensions/monkey_patches.rb:2:in `block in <top (required)>'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/lib/compass/sass_extensions/monkey_patches.rb:1:in `each'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/lib/compass/sass_extensions/monkey_patches.rb:1:in `<top (required)>'
	from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/2.1.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:55:in `require'
	from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/2.1.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:55:in `require'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/lib/compass/sass_extensions.rb:9:in `<top (required)>'
	from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/2.1.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:55:in `require'
	from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/2.1.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:55:in `require'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/lib/compass.rb:5:in `block in <top (required)>'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/lib/compass.rb:4:in `each'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/lib/compass.rb:4:in `<top (required)>'
	from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/2.1.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:55:in `require'
	from /usr/lib/ruby/site_ruby/2.1.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:55:in `require'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/bin/compass:20:in `block in <top (required)>'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/bin/compass:8:in `fallback_load_path'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/gems/compass-0.12.2/bin/compass:19:in `<top (required)>'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/bin/compass:23:in `load'
	from /home/joe/.gem/ruby/2.1.0/bin/compass:23:in `<main>'

From what I can tell, I have some sort of file path wrong. I added this to my ~/.bashrc file just like the wiki said:

PATH="$(ruby -e 'puts Gem.user_dir')/bin:$PATH"

Again, everything was fine but now it's not.

Last edited by joetemp (2014-02-05 22:33:07)

Offline

#2 2014-02-05 21:53:00

joetemp
Member
Registered: 2013-12-16
Posts: 73

Re: [SOLVED] Compass does not work after update.

Solved!

I managed to find this after MUCH searching:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1687 … -loaderror

Apparently, you just need to uninstall sass and reinstall. Sass is supposed to be a dependency of compass but I guess it's not installing right the first time. I don't know.

Offline

#3 2014-02-05 22:29:53

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Compass does not work after update.

Please remember to mark your thread as [Solved] by editing your first post and prepending it to the title.



Not a Pacman issue, moving to AUR Issues...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#4 2014-02-05 22:32:47

joetemp
Member
Registered: 2013-12-16
Posts: 73

Re: [SOLVED] Compass does not work after update.

Sorry. My bad. I was looking for a checkbox and didn't see one. Will do.

Also, is this really an AUR issue? Ruby is an official package. Please explain. Thanks!

Offline

#5 2014-02-05 22:38:58

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Compass does not work after update.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#6 2014-02-05 23:25:25

joetemp
Member
Registered: 2013-12-16
Posts: 73

Re: [SOLVED] Compass does not work after update.

Oh no I know Compass isn't an official package. But Ruby is and I was using RubyGems as the 'package manager' to install Compass.

I'm not at all trying to be a smartass but the reason I feel it belongs in the Pacman section is because everything I did... I did according to the wiki. Not a single AUR package is involved in this problem.

See here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ruby#RubyGems

Last edited by joetemp (2014-02-05 23:29:49)

Offline

#7 2014-02-06 01:12:06

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Compass does not work after update.

Yes, I know how ruby works. But unless you are installing gems with pacman, it is not a pacman upgrade issue.

It is exactly the same as the AUR: if you install packages that are not supported (whether from the AUR or using something like ruby gems or haskell packages) then it is your responsibility to manage them, not pacman's.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#8 2014-02-06 01:31:14

joetemp
Member
Registered: 2013-12-16
Posts: 73

Re: [SOLVED] Compass does not work after update.

Thank you. That is a very sensible answer. I appreciate you taking the time to explain that.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB