You are not logged in.

#1 2006-01-06 13:28:27

PieterO
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-03-03
Posts: 27

grub error with hdc (Noodle 0.7.1)

I tried to install arch on my Acer Travelmate 4152 laptop. The manual says it has a PATA 60 GB HDD. I installed an other os on the first 15 GB.

I partitioned the rest of the drive using 0.7.1 Noodle like this
(I don't know why the disc is hdc)

/boot 50 MB Primary hdc2
swap 512 MB Primary hdc3
/ 44 GB Primary hdc4

Rest of the install goes fine but when I try to install Grub on hd2,1 (the default config of the installer) I get a grub error
hd2: Selected disk does not exist
Edit
I think the error occurs before I open and save the config file, is that possible?

But normally hdc is hd2 for grub, not?

Update
I tried (hd0,1) as well but it didn't work
Can it have something to do with this?
http://www.archlinux.org/pipermail/arch … 07482.html

Offline

#2 2006-01-06 15:48:20

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: grub error with hdc (Noodle 0.7.1)

That looks likely - hdc is the master device on the secondary ide channel, which is not usual for a single hard-drive machine. If you can boot your machine with a Live CD, look in dmesg for stuff like this:

    ide0: BM-DMA at 0x1080-0x1087, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:pio
    ide1: BM-DMA at 0x1088-0x108f, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:pio
Probing IDE interface ide0...
hda: HITACHI_DK23EA-30, ATA DISK drive
ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
Probing IDE interface ide1...
hdc: TOSHIBA CD-ROM XM-7102B, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15

That will tell you which disk is which.

Offline

#3 2006-01-06 16:38:29

PieterO
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-03-03
Posts: 27

Re: grub error with hdc (Noodle 0.7.1)

This is what lspci gives me

0000:00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FBM (ICH6M) SATA Controller (rev 04)

which is a bit strange because I thaugt I had a PATA drive  (I thougt PATA = ide?)

Update:

ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
ide0: I/O resource 0x1F0-0x1F7 not free.
ide0: ports already in use, skipping probe
Probing IDE interface ide1...
hdc: HTS421260H9AT00, ATA DISK drive
hdd: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-K16RA, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
hdc: max request size: 1024KiB
hdc: 117210240 sectors (60011 MB) w/1570KiB Cache, CHS=16383/255/63
hdc: cache flushes supported
 hdc: hdc1 hdc2 hdc3 hdc4
hdd: ATAPI 24X DVD-ROM DVD-R CD-R/RW drive, 2000kB Cache
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
3ware Storage Controller device driver for Linux v1.26.02.001.
3ware 9000 Storage Controller device driver for Linux v2.26.02.004.
libata version 1.12 loaded.
ahci version 1.01
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKD] enabled at IRQ 11
PCI: setting IRQ 11 as level-triggered
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1f.2[b] -> Link [LNKD] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:00:1f.2 disabled
ahci: probe of 0000:00:1f.2 failed with error -12
ata_piix version 1.04
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1f.2[b] -> Link [LNKD] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
ata: 0x170 IDE port busy
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1f.2 to 64
ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x1F0 ctl 0x3F6 bmdma 0x1100 irq 14
ATA: abnormal status 0x7F on port 0x1F7
ata1: disabling port
 

this is very strange, abnormal status ...

Offline

#4 2006-01-06 21:27:56

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: grub error with hdc (Noodle 0.7.1)

Something odd there alright. What does your BIOS say about all this?

Offline

#5 2006-01-06 21:46:25

PieterO
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-03-03
Posts: 27

Re: grub error with hdc (Noodle 0.7.1)

I can't change much in the bios. Only boot sequence and date and so.
Maybe I'll just install the lilo bootloader. Because I tried that the last time only had a problem to boot the encrypted filesystem, but I think installing lilo will be the best option

Offline

#6 2006-01-06 21:56:07

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: grub error with hdc (Noodle 0.7.1)

Did you try editing the device map, as suggested on the mailing-list?

Offline

#7 2006-01-06 22:51:48

poetofnumbers
Member
From: Kansas, United States
Registered: 2004-10-30
Posts: 106
Website

Re: grub error with hdc (Noodle 0.7.1)

relevant mailing list topic

In your case, the file /boot/grub/device.map would contain the following line.

(hd0) /dev/hdc

The assignment to (hd0) is arbitrary by the way.


Sweet, now I can play with myself.

Offline

#8 2006-01-07 03:16:09

uberGeek
Member
From: Near Chicago
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 65
Website

Re: grub error with hdc (Noodle 0.7.1)

Dang, I can't seem to find where in the install program I configure device.map.

Anyway, I can get grub to fire off my initrd with this in my menu.lst:

title  Arch Linux
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hde5 ro
initrd /initrd26.img

My problem is, my NetCell raid card is not seen, thus hde is not to be found, and I get dumped to a BusyBox prompt.

Now, when I boot the Arch install CD, then the NetCell card is found, of course, and the whole install proceure goes well, I can partition, set mount points and install packages.  But when grub time comes, grub fails with invalid device (hd4,0).  So I jump out of the installer and do a grub .. root (hd0,0) .. setup (hd0) and then exit.

After a few hours of fighting with it, I'm getting very bum'd. As I would love to see this bad boy run Linux.  Dual AMD 254 Opteron's, SLI'd 7800GTX video, 4GB RAM, blah, blah.  The 7800's are for the few hours a week the machine is in game mode. 98% of it's life I hope to have it running Arch, and then Arch64.

I've tried initrd26-full.img, and I've tried adding generic to the IDE line in mkinitconf.  Nothing works so far, except to boot with the CD, of course.

Any ideas?  A push in a direction or two.  Thank you all.

The NetCell card is supposed to be driverless (generic IDE).  So that has me wondering why it shows up (several lines mentioning the Revolution controller) as the CD kernel loads, and it does not when my initrd kernel loads.


carb $ now; uname -a; uptime
Sun 03Jul11 14:54:25 CDT -0500
Linux carb 2.6.17-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jul 7 09:15:53 CEST 2006 i686 Pentium III (Coppermine) GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
14:54:25 up 1463 days,  9:24,  1 user,  load average: 1.00, 1.00, 1.00

Offline

#9 2006-01-07 11:13:34

PieterO
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-03-03
Posts: 27

Re: grub error with hdc (Noodle 0.7.1)

Did you try editing the device map, as suggested on the mailing-list?

This is what I tried to solve the problem.
1) Open a new console window
2) Look for the device.map file in /mnt/boot/grub
3) I see that the file isn't there
4) Try to install grub myself (in /mnt/sbin/)
5) Error:

-sh: command not found

Any ideas how to solve that?

Offline

#10 2006-01-10 20:08:45

PieterO
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-03-03
Posts: 27

Re: grub error with hdc (Noodle 0.7.1)

I have googled around a bit and it looks like ata_piix is locking the drive. My hard disc and dvd drive are pata, but I have a sata controller. So it uses a sata to pata switch. But I don't know how to prevent the locking

Update: I tried the ubuntu 6.04 beta2 (with 2.6.15 kernel too) and there my disc is being detected as sda1, does someone has an idea to force this with the arch installer too?
I checked out this page
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problems_ … _hard_disk
and maybe pass a kernel argument is the way to go.
Is it possible to pass kernel arguments with the noodle install disc?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB