You are not logged in.

#1 2014-02-10 18:46:09

tzomatz

What Archlinuc project do you recommend to start contributing on?

Hello

I am a student at computer sience in Norway, and would maybe like to get into some of the ArchLinux related projects. I am new to programming. Soon to start on the secound year, so I am not that experienced. Therefore, I was wondering wich project that would be a good start for a beginner. Maybe something small...

We do C and Python at school, so I would prefer that.

#2 2014-02-10 19:19:59

ewaller
Administrator

Re: What Archlinuc project do you recommend to start contributing on?

Consider looking through the AUR for an orphaned project that is of interest to you.  Adopt it and take care of it.
Also, the wiki has an article on the topic.

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

#3 2014-02-10 19:22:28

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
Website

See https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Getting_Involved for ideas. I recommend that you don't try to run before you can crawl, and remember -- there's more ways to contribute to Arch than coding something.

Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

#4 2014-02-10 19:22:56

karol
Archivist

Go through the list https://projects.archlinux.org/ or some git repos like https://github.com/muennich/sxiv (it's not exactly Arch-related, but it's a nice application) and see if you can help.

#5 2014-02-10 19:26:57

tzomatz

Thanks for suggestions. I will check out that wikipage, and look trough the GIT repo and see if there is something there.