You are not logged in.

#1 2014-02-16 14:25:09

decas
Member
Registered: 2012-12-13
Posts: 36

Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

This is a newbie question, but I cannot find how Thunar automatically mounts removable devices. I've read the wiki and it says that I don't have to do anything else besides installing Thunar. Once I plug in my removable device, it can be seen in lsblk, but I need to manually mount it using the terminal. Thunar doesn't do anything to make it appear in the file system. Did I miss something?


Arch Linux + Openbox

Offline

#2 2014-02-16 14:34:51

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

Do you have gvfs installed?

Last edited by karol (2014-02-16 14:37:30)

Offline

#3 2014-02-16 14:37:07

Steef435
Member
Registered: 2013-08-29
Posts: 565
Website

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

You'll need thunar-volman:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Th … me_Manager

Depending on what device you're trying to mount, you'll also need some gvfs plugins.


EDIT: He's aiming for the 30k at the end of the year I guess.

Last edited by Steef435 (2014-02-16 14:39:18)

Offline

#4 2014-02-16 14:38:26

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Th … me_Manager says

While Thunar can support automatic mounting and unmounting of removable media, the Thunar Volume Manager allows extended functionality, such as automatically running commands or automatically opening a Thunar window for mounted media.

so thunar-volman shouldn't be required.

Offline

#5 2014-02-16 14:39:39

decas
Member
Registered: 2012-12-13
Posts: 36

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

karol wrote:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Th … me_Manager says

While Thunar can support automatic mounting and unmounting of removable media, the Thunar Volume Manager allows extended functionality, such as automatically running commands or automatically opening a Thunar window for mounted media.

so thunar-volman shouldn't be required.

Exactly. However, I tried to install the volume manager, but it didn't help. It should work without it.

karol wrote:

Do you have gvfs installed?

I didn't (judging from the fact that writing gvfs in the terminal didn't find anything). I installed it, but nothing changed. How to configure it?

Last edited by decas (2014-02-16 14:43:16)


Arch Linux + Openbox

Offline

#6 2014-02-16 14:41:57

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Th … tomounting

Thunar uses GVFS for automounting.

https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/i686/thunar/

gvfs (optional) - for trash support, mounting with udisk and remote filesystems

Offline

#7 2014-02-16 14:44:19

decas
Member
Registered: 2012-12-13
Posts: 36

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

karol wrote:

Do you have gvfs installed?

I didn't (judging from the fact that writing gvfs in the terminal didn't find anything). I installed it, but nothing changed. Do I need to do something extra besides installation? I can see that it talks about Polkit and since I just use Openbox with X, should I just install any of the given four?

Last edited by decas (2014-02-16 14:46:00)


Arch Linux + Openbox

Offline

#8 2014-02-16 14:45:16

Steef435
Member
Registered: 2013-08-29
Posts: 565
Website

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

I can remember having to add a polkit rule too. This might do the trick(I have a rule like that right now):
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Po … r_any_user

Last edited by Steef435 (2014-02-16 14:46:16)

Offline

#9 2014-02-16 14:53:10

decas
Member
Registered: 2012-12-13
Posts: 36

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

I installed lxpolkit and added the Polkit's rule to /etc/polkit-1/rules.d/10-enable-mount.rules using nano.

Nothing changed. How can I see if it works? Where should I look for my removable devices? Maybe I need a reboot?


Arch Linux + Openbox

Offline

#10 2014-02-16 15:23:37

Steef435
Member
Registered: 2013-08-29
Posts: 565
Website

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

I wouldn't know if you have to reboot for the rules to be parsed. You don't need a graphical agent for this rule though, since it doesn't require authentication.

What I did to get my USB-stick to automount:
1. I opened Thunar
2. I hit edit->preferences
3. Checked "Enable Volume Management"
4. Hit "Configure"
5. Checked "Mount removable drives when hot-plugged"
6. Inserted the drive.
I then get a libnotify message and see the device mounted under the "DEVICES" list in the panel at the left of the window.

Do you have Thunar running when you hot-plug the device? What type of device is it? Digital cameras for example might require additional plugins.

Last edited by Steef435 (2014-02-16 15:23:51)

Offline

#11 2014-02-16 15:44:53

decas
Member
Registered: 2012-12-13
Posts: 36

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

I rebooted, nothing changed. I tried both - keeping Thunar open and closed. Nothing worked. Volume Management doesn't change anything. Under Devices, I can only see File System. It's an HDD (NTFS).


Arch Linux + Openbox

Offline

#12 2014-02-16 16:13:46

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

ntfs-3g package is useful when dealing with NTFS filesystem, but I'm not sure if it has anything to do with mounting, I think it only provides write support.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NTFS-3G

Offline

#13 2014-02-16 16:33:33

decas
Member
Registered: 2012-12-13
Posts: 36

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

Nah, doesn't seem to work this way. I found a work-around by using udevil, which has built-in devmon. I made udevil to run automatically together with Openbox and now the hard drive appears under file system. If someone finds another way to make this work, feel free to write in this thread.


Arch Linux + Openbox

Offline

#14 2014-03-04 06:04:16

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

I faced the same issue with automounting. See this bug report: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/38933#comment119964

An alternative, and I think preferable to udevil, is udiskie. It can use udisks2 and thus replicates the exact same mount behaviour as gvfs would do. I start udiskie as follows:

udiskie -2 -s &

Now automounting of all external devices works and thunar successfully recognises these devices as being mounted.

Last edited by orschiro (2014-03-04 06:06:45)

Offline

#15 2014-11-21 23:14:34

timwebster9
Member
Registered: 2014-11-21
Posts: 2

Re: Thunar doesn't automatically mount removable devices

I had this same problem.  gvfs isn't installed by default with xfce4 (or xfce4-goodies).  I installed it and it started working as expected.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB