You are not logged in.

#1 2014-02-19 10:30:37

tck

How to delete the hdd and re-partition during the installation.

Hi,
I am new to Arch, currently I have a laptop that installed with Opensuse os, now I want to switch it to Arch entirely.

So, I need to delete the whole partitions that previously created when install Openesuse. I just want to install single Arch on the machine only.

How can I do it?

Thanks

#2 2014-02-19 10:54:52

pks

Re: How to delete the hdd and re-partition during the installation.

You should probably refer to the beginners guide which explains the whole installation process, including disk formatting.

#3 2014-02-19 11:00:52

rexineffect

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Beginners'_guide#Prepare_the_storage_drive

This should help you, I'm new also but I got my arch installed.

This guide recommends using gparted to do it for new guys from a live cd. That way you can use a graphical program to set up your disk.

First you have to choose your partition table type, GPT or MBR.
Then choose your partition scheme - (/ and /home) or (/boot / and /home) or (/boot swap / and /home) there are lots of options here.

Then you need to read the "additional required partitions" on that page I gave you cause if you have UEFI there's special steps, same for bios motherboard and same if you are using GPT table.

Its all there though, if you still need help ask, and if you can't figure it out at all with that page I'll try to be more specific.

Good luck man have fun!

#4 2014-02-19 11:41:06

tck

rexineffect wrote:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Beginners'_guide#Prepare_the_storage_drive

This should help you, I'm new also but I got my arch installed.

This guide recommends using gparted to do it for new guys from a live cd. That way you can use a graphical program to set up your disk.

First you have to choose your partition table type, GPT or MBR.