You are not logged in.

#1 2014-04-05 15:17:29

freijon

[SOLVED] No operating system found after installation

Hey there,

I'm new to Arch, I switched from Ubuntu and I'm willing to give Arch a fair try. My system is now more or less up and running and I'm very excited.
However, I can only boot with the CD inserted and by choosing "Boot existing OS". If I remove the CD, I cannot boot because no OS is found on the harddisk.
I tried running "grub-install /dev/sda" again, but that didn't work.

I installed using "gdisk". My main system partition is encrypted, but /boot is not encrypted. I used a simple partition layout with LUKS, no LVM. I tried to find my error on the Installation Guide and the Beginners Guide, but I can't figure out what I did wrong...
Help would be much appreciated. Let me know if you use further information.

Thanks in advance
Jonas

Last edited by freijon (2014-04-06 14:04:36)

#2 2014-04-05 15:48:30

teateawhy
Website

Re: [SOLVED] No operating system found after installation

Welcome.
Have you created a BIOS boot partition?

#3 2014-04-05 16:00:01

freijon

yes I have, I set it to be 2MB. When I first tried the installation on Virtualbox, I forgot about that, but that results in "grub-install" returning errors. But on this system, grub-install exits with no errors.

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size            Code  Name
   1            2048            6143                 2.0 MiB       EF02  BIOS boot partition
   2            6144          415743               200.0 MiB   8300  ArchLinux boot part...
   3          415744        17192959           8.0 GiB       8200  Linux swap
   4        17192960       500118158        230.3 GiB   8300  ArchLinux root part...

Last edited by freijon (2014-04-05 16:21:43)

#4 2014-04-05 17:24:11

ewaller
Administrator

Is this a BIOS or an EFI system?

Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday