You are not logged in.

#1 2014-04-10 02:15:30

TheGuyWithTheFace
Member
Registered: 2012-12-09
Posts: 113

[Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Hello,

I just did an update, (I didn't think it was a major one, I don't recall seeing graphics update, though I'm not sure how to confirm - is there a way to see recently updated packages in yaourt?) and after a brief issue with powertop that was solved by a restart (https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=179789 - it may be unrelated though) I found that when I restarted, KWin Crashed, and since then, my desktop effects are not working.

I have gone to the KDE Desktop Effects Settings Menu, and under the advanced menu, set the compositing type back to OpenGL 3.1, clicked apply, and confirmed that I wanted to try it even though it had evidently crashed Kwin. I then received a message stating "21 desktop effects could not be loaded". When I clicked details, a popup window said:

"For technical reasons it is not possible to determine all possible error causes.

Desktop effect system is not running."

For the record, I am on a Thinkpad X201 with intel graphics.

Any ideas?

Last edited by TheGuyWithTheFace (2014-04-19 07:35:43)

Offline

#2 2014-04-10 02:24:01

TheGuyWithTheFace
Member
Registered: 2012-12-09
Posts: 113

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Some Extra information:
I just tried a restart, that didn't work.
I then went back into effect settings, and saw that "enable effects at startup" was not checked. I also saw that under the advanced settings, Qt Graphics system was set to raster. Since I'm not sure which it was supposed to be on originally, but the current configuration wasn't working, I also set that to Native, and then clicked apply. KWin then crashed, here is the output:

Application: KWin (kwin), signal: Aborted
Using host libthread_db library "/usr/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
To enable execution of this file add
	add-auto-load-safe-path /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6.0.19-gdb.py
line to your configuration file "/home/perry/.gdbinit".
To completely disable this security protection add
	set auto-load safe-path /
line to your configuration file "/home/perry/.gdbinit".
For more information about this security protection see the
"Auto-loading safe path" section in the GDB manual.  E.g., run from the shell:
	info "(gdb)Auto-loading safe path"
[Current thread is 1 (Thread 0x7fafaa788800 (LWP 796))]

Thread 4 (Thread 0x7faf8beb3700 (LWP 797)):
#0  0x00007fafa3f7e3f8 in pthread_cond_timedwait@@GLIBC_2.3.2 () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#1  0x00007fafa420a034 in QWaitCondition::wait(QMutex*, unsigned long) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#2  0x00007fafa41fd745 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#3  0x00007fafa4209b7f in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#4  0x00007fafa3f7a0a2 in start_thread () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#5  0x00007fafa9fa9d1d in clone () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6

Thread 3 (Thread 0x7faf8b27a700 (LWP 798)):
#0  0x00007fafa3f7e3f8 in pthread_cond_timedwait@@GLIBC_2.3.2 () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#1  0x00007fafa420a034 in QWaitCondition::wait(QMutex*, unsigned long) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#2  0x00007fafa41fd745 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#3  0x00007fafa4209b7f in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#4  0x00007fafa3f7a0a2 in start_thread () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#5  0x00007fafa9fa9d1d in clone () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6

Thread 2 (Thread 0x7faf8a878700 (LWP 799)):
#0  0x00007fafa9fa2fd3 in select () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
#1  0x00007fafa42e6c13 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#2  0x00007fafa4209b7f in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#3  0x00007fafa3f7a0a2 in start_thread () from /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
#4  0x00007fafa9fa9d1d in clone () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6

Thread 1 (Thread 0x7fafaa788800 (LWP 796)):
[KCrash Handler]
#5  0x00007fafa9ef9389 in raise () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
#6  0x00007fafa9efa788 in abort () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
#7  0x00007fafa9ef24a6 in __assert_fail_base () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
#8  0x00007fafa9ef2552 in __assert_fail () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
#9  0x00007fafa7d6f8d9 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libX11.so.6
#10 0x00007fafa7d6f96e in ?? () from /usr/lib/libX11.so.6
#11 0x00007fafa7d6fc4d in _XEventsQueued () from /usr/lib/libX11.so.6
#12 0x00007fafa7d72905 in _XGetRequest () from /usr/lib/libX11.so.6
#13 0x00007fafa4dfe587 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libGL.so.1
#14 0x00007fafa4dfbf6b in ?? () from /usr/lib/libGL.so.1
#15 0x00007faf89bef6db in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#16 0x00007faf89befa33 in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#17 0x00007faf89befb8b in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#18 0x00007faf89b89ef6 in ?? () from /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/i965_dri.so
#19 0x00007fafa4dfd898 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libGL.so.1
#20 0x00007fafa4dd804c in glXMakeCurrentReadSGI () from /usr/lib/libGL.so.1
#21 0x00007fafaa34e479 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libkdeinit4_kwin.so
#22 0x00007fafaa350029 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libkdeinit4_kwin.so
#23 0x00007fafaa34aefc in ?? () from /usr/lib/libkdeinit4_kwin.so
#24 0x00007fafaa32f4b5 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libkdeinit4_kwin.so
#25 0x00007fafaa2b6c75 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libkdeinit4_kwin.so
#26 0x00007fafa431d6ea in QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, QMetaObject const*, int, void**) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#27 0x00007fafa41fa958 in QFutureWatcherBase::event(QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#28 0x00007fafa3491f0c in QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libQtGui.so.4
#29 0x00007fafa34984d0 in QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libQtGui.so.4
#30 0x00007fafa8bfa88a in KApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libkdeui.so.5
#31 0x00007fafa4309a6d in QCoreApplication::notifyInternal(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#32 0x00007fafa430caad in QCoreApplicationPrivate::sendPostedEvents(QObject*, int, QThreadData*) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#33 0x00007fafa352f71c in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtGui.so.4
#34 0x00007fafa43086cf in QEventLoop::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#35 0x00007fafa43089c5 in QEventLoop::exec(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#36 0x00007fafa430dae9 in QCoreApplication::exec() () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#37 0x00007fafaa2e7896 in kdemain () from /usr/lib/libkdeinit4_kwin.so
#38 0x00007fafa9ee5b05 in __libc_start_main () from /usr/lib/libc.so.6
#39 0x00000000004006fe in _start ()

Offline

#3 2014-04-10 03:34:17

TheGuyWithTheFace
Member
Registered: 2012-12-09
Posts: 113

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

A little more information:

Well, evidently the update was not as minor as I thought. I checked /var/log/pacman.log, and according to it, today I updated the following packages:

fftw
hplip
lightdm
liblightdm-qt4
nss
coreutils
kmod
libsystemd
libutil-linux
linux
util-linux
systemd
systemd-sysvcompat
tp_smapi
gdb
git

I may have easily missed something, so here is the log from today: http://pastebin.com/3jEBP60j If anyone needs more information, or the logs from further back, I'm happy to provide.

Well, it's obvious that this was not a minor update, and I should've read the logs more diligently. Aside from that conclusion, given that these packages have been updated, what can I do now? Is this an easy fix, or should I start filing bug reports and downgrade some of these packages in the meantime, or what?

Some of those KDE effects are fairly vital to my workflow,(desktop grid, for example.) so I'm grateful for any thoughts or suggestions at all that might help me get them back as soon as possible...

Offline

#4 2014-04-10 08:24:43

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 265

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

I have the same problem as you describe.

I tried to downgrade the latest packages and the problem persisted. Then I switched in the advanced settings - compositor type to xrender (worked), then to OpenGL 1.2 (worked), then to OpenGL 2.0 (worked), then OpenGL 3.1 (where it originally was before things broke) and it crashed.

I tried upgrading again and see if OpenGL 2.0 and earlier were working with latest packages, but they don't.

So it seems that there are 2 bugs. Some upgrade from some days ago seems to have broken OpenGL 3.1 (though I've tried a few downgrades from previous days and didn't find the cause). And then today's upgrades broke OpenGL altogether.

QT Graphics System was always set to Native.

(note: I couldn't find this thread at first. Maybe it should be moved to "Pacman and Package upgrade issues". There's where people look whenever an upgrade breaks something - at least that's what I do).

Offline

#5 2014-04-10 08:54:19

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 8,892

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Linux graphics stack relies on 3 components :
kernel
mesa / videocard driver
X

Of those 3 , the kernel is in the list :

[2014-04-09 20:32] [PACMAN] upgraded linux (3.13.8-1 -> 3.14-4)

I'd suggest to downgrade the kernel to verify if that's the cause.

Bogart : please comfirm whether you are using Intel graphics also ?


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#6 2014-04-10 09:08:04

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 265

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Yes, I'm using Intel graphics. I downgraded the kernel (along with a few packages that might depend on the kernel version and were upgraded together, like bbswitch, systemd, coreutils, kmod...) and with that the problem is half fixed (effects work again, but only with OpenGL 2.0, not with OpenGL 3.1 as before).

I also tried downgrading other previous updates like xf86-video-intel, but I couldn't get OpenGL 3.1 to work for now.

Offline

#7 2014-04-10 11:17:15

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 265

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

It seems to be the same bug mentioned here:

https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=75723

Some Mesa bug triggered by some changes in kernel 3.14. There is a proposed patch that seems to fix the problem, but I didn't try it myself.

Offline

#8 2014-04-10 12:06:06

cthulhu
Member
Registered: 2012-04-26
Posts: 8

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Same problem here with my Thinkpad X200.
Video card is Intel as showed by lspci:

Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller

Downgrading the new kernel to the previous version as suggested by Lone_Wolf solved the problem.

[PACMAN] downgraded linux (3.14-4 -> 3.13.8-1) 

To downgrade the kernel look for an older version under /var/cache/pacman/pkg. In my case it is 3.13.8-1:

pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/linux-3.13.8-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Offline

#9 2014-04-10 12:19:31

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 265

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

cthulhu wrote:

Downgrading the new kernel to the previous version as suggested by Lone_Wolf solved the problem.

And can you use OpenGL 3.1 after downgrading? For me it works good with OpenGL 2.0, but with 3.1 it still crashes (In "System settings > Desktop effects > Advanced > Compositor type").

Offline

#10 2014-04-10 12:43:41

cthulhu
Member
Registered: 2012-04-26
Posts: 8

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Bogart wrote:

And can you use OpenGL 3.1 after downgrading? For me it works good with OpenGL 2.0, but with 3.1 it still crashes (In "System settings > Desktop effects > Advanced > Compositor type").

It was showing OpenGL2.0. It set it to OpenGL 3.1 and KWin crashed but I left it with OpenGL 3.1. After a reboot it shows OpenGL 3.1.

Whenever I try to change the Compositing type or the Qt graphics system, KWin crashes.

Offline

#11 2014-04-10 14:17:20

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 265

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

cthulhu wrote:

Whenever I try to change the Compositing type or the Qt graphics system, KWin crashes.

And this is with kernel 3.13, right? So as with me, there seems to be 2 different bugs. The most important one is introduced with kernel 3.14 (though it's a Mesa bug, as explained in the bug report I linked above) that completely crashes Kwin with any OpenGL acceleration, but there's a previous recent bug that also causes instabiity (in my case it crashes Kwin only if I set it to OpenGL 3.1).

Offline

#12 2014-04-10 14:35:13

cthulhu
Member
Registered: 2012-04-26
Posts: 8

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Bogart wrote:

And this is with kernel 3.13, right?

Yes. This is correct.

Here my current package versions that may be relevant:

core/linux 3.13.8-1
extra/xf86-video-intel 2.99.911-2
extra/intel-dri 10.1.0-4
extra/mesa 10.1.0-4
KDE 4.12.4-1

Last edited by cthulhu (2014-04-10 14:36:20)

Offline

#13 2014-04-10 15:38:50

tomaszc
Member
Registered: 2010-09-11
Posts: 19

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Temporary solution until the error will be fixed:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=332784#c3

Offline

#14 2014-04-10 16:13:26

TheGuyWithTheFace
Member
Registered: 2012-12-09
Posts: 113

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Downgrading to Linux 3.13 fixed it for me as well, except for OpenGL 3. For now, I can manage fine with OpenGL 2.0, and this weekend when I'm not quite as dependent on my laptop, I'll try the temporary solution tomaszc suggested. Whatever cthulhu did, I'm not able to replicate to get to OpenGL 3.1, but I'll keep trying.

Quick Question: I've only been on arch for a few months, this is the first time I've had to downgrade anything, especially the kernel. Now that I have a solution that I can work with for now, should I go ahead and update the kernel when the newest version comes out, or should I just keep an eye on that bug report until they say it's solved?

Also, I saw that someone mentioned that this might've been better posted in pacman and upgrade issues - I'm not sure how to do that, but to any mods reading this, please tell me if I should've moved it, and how I can do so if you think I should.

I appreciate the help!

Offline

#15 2014-04-11 03:44:46

McKlain
Member
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 12

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

I have downgraded to 3.13.8-1 and the desktop effects works again, using OpenGL 3.1 works too for me.

Offline

#16 2014-04-11 04:33:36

snoxu
Member
Registered: 2010-01-24
Posts: 141

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Same issue here. Downgrading the kernel does not solve it for me.

Offline

#17 2014-04-11 07:46:22

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 265

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

snoxu wrote:

Same issue here. Downgrading the kernel does not solve it for me.

If you were using OpenGL 3.1, just downloading the kernel might not solve it. You have to go to System Settings > Desktop effects > Advanced > Compositor type and select OpenGL 2.0.

@TheGuyWithTheFace:

You should keep an eye on the bug report (and/or subscribe to this forum topic) before upgrading the kernel. About where to post it was me who suggested the other forum, but I think that a moderator should be able to tell you better than me.

Offline

#18 2014-04-11 11:04:39

Xeitgeist
Member
Registered: 2012-03-14
Posts: 17

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Same issue on my end running Intel graphics. Had to downgrade to kernel 3.13.8 and set compositing type to OpenGL 2.0.

lspci output:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor DRAM Controller (rev 18)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 18)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset HECI Controller (rev 06)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 06)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 06)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev 06)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev 06)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 6 (rev 06)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 06)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev a6)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Interface Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 4 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Thermal Subsystem (rev 06)
03:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
ff:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-core Registers (rev 02)
ff:00.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture System Address Decoder (rev 02)
ff:02.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Link 0 (rev 02)
ff:02.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Physical 0 (rev 02)
ff:02.2 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor Reserved (rev 02)
ff:02.3 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor Reserved (rev 02)

Offline

#19 2014-04-11 12:34:21

TheGuyWithTheFace
Member
Registered: 2012-12-09
Posts: 113

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Xeitgeist: Your specs look very similar to mine:

lspci output:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor DRAM Controller (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset HECI Controller (rev 06)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 06)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 06)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 06)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev 06)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev 06)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 06)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev a6)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Interface Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 6 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Thermal Subsystem (rev 06)
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N 6200 (rev 35)
ff:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-core Registers (rev 02)
ff:00.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture System Address Decoder (rev 02)
ff:02.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Link 0 (rev 02)
ff:02.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Physical 0 (rev 02)
ff:02.2 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor Reserved (rev 02)
ff:02.3 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor Reserved (rev 02)

McKlain: What hardware are you on?

Offline

#20 2014-04-11 12:56:16

snoxu
Member
Registered: 2010-01-24
Posts: 141

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

Bogart:

Nevermind my previous post. Second time around the kernel downgrade fixed it. I might of done something wrong. I was originally using OpenGL 2.0  BTW

Last edited by snoxu (2014-04-11 12:58:05)

Offline

#21 2014-04-12 02:36:43

McKlain
Member
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 12

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

TheGuyWithTheFace wrote:

Xeitgeist: Your specs look very similar to mine:
...
McKlain: What hardware are you on?

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)                                                                                     
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary) (rev 03)                                                           
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (secondary) (rev 03)                                                               
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 04)                                                                                           
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 04)                                                                                             
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 04)                                                                                     
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 04)                                                                                     
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 04)                                                                                     
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 04)                                                                                     
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f4)                                                                                                             
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 04)                                                                                             
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 04)                                                                                       
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 04)                                                                         
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 04)                                                                                                     
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Qualcomm Atheros AR242x / AR542x Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)                                                                       
02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)

Offline

#22 2014-04-13 12:37:10

itsjeyd
Member
Registered: 2014-04-13
Posts: 1

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

tomaszc wrote:

Temporary solution until the error will be fixed:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=332784#c3

I got the exact same error as OP, and I can confirm that this solution works for me. I've been using Arch for close to a year now and I've never had to roll back any updates, let alone the kernel, so I figured I'd go for this solution first wink

Specs:

- Kernel: 3.14.0-5-ARCH (x86_64)
- ThinkPad T400
- Intel graphics
- KDE 4.12.4
- Compositing type: OpenGL 2.0 (might try with 3.1 later, just happy for now that things are working again)
- Qt graphics system: Raster

Offline

#23 2014-04-13 18:05:48

TheGuyWithTheFace
Member
Registered: 2012-12-09
Posts: 113

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

thanks itsjeyd, I'll try it soon. Just out of curiosity, does anyone know the difference between Native and Raster Qt Graphics Systems? I'm on native right now, just mildly curious.

Offline

#24 2014-04-13 23:34:17

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 265

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

With the updated Mesa package (10.1.0-5) the bug is fixed.

I still can't use OpenGL 3.1 as I used to, but that is a different bug not introduced with the new kernel.

Offline

#25 2014-04-19 07:35:25

TheGuyWithTheFace
Member
Registered: 2012-12-09
Posts: 113

Re: [Solved] KDE Desktop Effects no longer working

I can confirm that the upgrade to the latest mesa + Linux stack went smoothly, and so long as I stick to OpenGL 2.0, everything works fine. Note that this is without having to try the linked workaround - I assume the patch was merged upstream or something.

Thanks to everyone for your help!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB