You are not logged in.

#1 2014-04-15 14:21:37

Quantum
Member
Registered: 2013-07-13
Posts: 12

[SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

I have an Asus H87M-Pro mobo with a E3-1265L v3 Intel CPU.  This CPU does my audio and video, but the problem is I haven't had audio since I installed this mobo.  Dead silent.

I believe the problem must be that HDMI audio is siezing card0, which I infer is the default sound slot, but blacklisting the modules hasn't worked:
blacklist snd-hda-intel-hdmi
blacklist snd-hda-codec-hdmi

... and setting those modules to never, never take card0 hasn't worked:
options snd-hda-intel-hdmi index=-2
options snd-hda-codec-hdmi index=-2

alsamixer always comes up first with
Card: PulseAudio
Chip: PulseAudio

I can <f6> and choose HDA Intel PCH and it's not muted, but that doesn't get me audio.

With no settings in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf I get:

$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: ID 2807 Digital [ID 2807 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC892 Digital [ALC892 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

$ aplay -L
default
    Playback/recording through the PulseAudio sound server
hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA Intel HDMI, ID 2807 Digital
    HDMI Audio Output
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output

With my above settings in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf, plus:
options snd-hda-intel id=PCH,HDMI index=1,0

... I do find a change:

$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC892 Digital [ALC892 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: ID 2807 Digital [ID 2807 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

... but the machine is still mute.  -How- can it be HDMI -and- PCH?!

I have never had a problem with audio before.  Anyone know what's going on here?

Last edited by Quantum (2014-04-16 18:03:02)

Offline

#2 2014-04-15 15:00:57

ReiserFS
Member
Registered: 2014-02-01
Posts: 56

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

1.

echo "set-card-profile 1 output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo" >> /etc/pulse/default.pa

2. logoff
3. login

Offline

#3 2014-04-15 16:44:59

Quantum
Member
Registered: 2013-07-13
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

Thanks, but still no audio.  I checked to make sure that line is actally in default.pa, and it is.  I even rebooted, and nothing.

Offline

#4 2014-04-15 19:09:05

emeres
Member
Registered: 2013-10-08
Posts: 1,570

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

How can PCH be default when you set it as secondary with this line?

options snd-hda-intel id=PCH,HDMI index=1,0

Since both use snd-hda-intel module either change to index=0,1 or better yet use vid and pid to like described in alsa wiki.
With PA killed, does speaker-test work?

speaker-test -c 2 -D plughw:PCH
Quantum wrote:

-How- can it be HDMI -and- PCH?!

Again both use mainly the same module, so simultaneously blacklisting a part of hdmi and setting it as default, apparently confuses modprobe. You should not be forced to blacklist anything.

Offline

#5 2014-04-15 19:36:27

headkase
Member
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,873

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

In "/etc/modprobe.d/intel.conf" put:

options snd_hda_intel enable=1,0

This is how you disable or enable specific audio hardware when they share the same driver.  If the wrong one gets disabled then replace "1,0" with "0,1"

You can also call "intel.conf" anything you like as long as the file ends in ".conf"

Reboot for the changes to take effect.

Offline

#6 2014-04-15 23:44:41

Quantum
Member
Registered: 2013-07-13
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

emeres wrote:

How can PCH be default when you set it as secondary with this line?

Because you hadn't taken a half-second to give more than the barest of instructions.  No explanation of what the fields might be, so how am I supposed to know?  Swirl myself up into a vortex and cast my mind out to telepathically infer what these arrays and matrices mean which you dictate without any explanation?!  Don't you have any sense?

I feel sorry for those you must bully every day.

headkase wrote:

In "/etc/modprobe.d/intel.conf" put:

options snd_hda_intel enable=1,0

This is how you disable or enable specific audio hardware when they share the same driver.  If the wrong one gets disabled then replace "1,0" with "0,1"

You can also call "intel.conf" anything you like as long as the file ends in ".conf"

Reboot for the changes to take effect.

Thanks headkase, but I've tried that too.  Now I get:

$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC892 Digital [ALC892 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
$ aplay -L
default
    Playback/recording through the PulseAudio sound server
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=PCH,DEV=1
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 1
    HDMI Audio Output
sysdefault:CARD=HDMI
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output

Still no audio though.

Offline

#7 2014-04-16 00:01:15

emeres
Member
Registered: 2013-10-08
Posts: 1,570

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

options snd-hda-intel id=PCH,HDMI index=1,0

The first index value (1) corresponds to first id (PCH) and since sound cards are counted from 0, this sets HDMI as primary. This should become pretty clear following the example on wiki.

options snd_hda_intel enable=1,0

This is ambiguous, since, like I previously stated snd-hda-intel is used by both cards. Again the link to wiki where it is explained step by step how to determine vid and pid and use it with options. Vid and pid are used to determine a specific card and so specific options can be set for a specific card. They can be used with both suggestions. Yes there are very unlikely scenarios, where it might cause more trouble than good.

Last edited by emeres (2014-04-16 00:02:59)

Offline

#8 2014-04-16 00:05:07

headkase
Member
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,873

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

You know, I read the thread to make sure it wasn't mentioned.. In alsamixer you have unmuted the channel right?  Press the "M" key to toggle mute on a channel, you'll know it's unmuted when you get a volume number.  If you want to save the alsa configuration between reboots do "alsactl store" as root/sudo.  Alsactl is in alsa-utils.

Edit: dammit, missed the sentence where you said you did.

Last edited by headkase (2014-04-16 00:07:31)

Offline

#9 2014-04-16 16:44:44

Quantum
Member
Registered: 2013-07-13
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

emeres wrote:
options snd-hda-intel id=PCH,HDMI index=1,0

The first index value (1) corresponds to first id (PCH) and since sound cards are counted from 0, this sets HDMI as primary. This should become pretty clear following the example on wiki.

Oh it's clear when you have different sound cards, as with their example of the MIA.  But what's not clear at all within the Intel driver, is the relation between "index value" (an utterly abstract term unconnected with anything substantive), and ID.  I infer that the IDs in this case are PCH and HDMI.  But HDMI has two possibilities, analog and digital, as does PCH.  How can HDMI have an analog function?  And is PCH my goal? And what does PCH mean anyway?  Why does everything have HDMI in the name?  Where does Pulse fit in all this, since alsamixer considers it the default?  And why is the module named snd-hda-intel-hdmi.ko yet when it's loaded it's called snd_hda_intel_hdmi?  And which should I use in blacklist.conf?  And why is there a snd-hda-intel-hdmi.ko and snd-hda-codec-hdmi.ko?  And which should I use in blacklist.conf for options?

See none of this is explained in the wiki, and yet is fundamental to understanding how to set this up.  Whoever wrote the wiki already knows all this and assumes the reader does too, which is a common failing of tech writers.  With huge gaps in the information, I can't begin to synthesize a solution.  Maybe fundamentals aren't important to the kids these days.  They will find out soon enough though.


emeres wrote:
options snd_hda_intel enable=1,0

This is ambiguous, since, like I previously stated snd-hda-intel is used by both cards. Again the link to wiki where it is explained step by step how to determine vid and pid and use it with options. Vid and pid are used to determine a specific card and so specific options can be set for a specific card. They can be used with both suggestions. Yes there are very unlikely scenarios, where it might cause more trouble than good.

I think you mean this:
blacklist.conf:

options snd-hda-intel id=PCH,HDMI index=0,1
options snd-hda-intel-hdmi index=-2
options snd-hda-codec-hdmi index=-2

# aplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC892 Digital [ALC892 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Unfortunately it doesn't work.  Notice that now everything has HDMI in the string... ridiculous.

By vid/pid, I think you mean this:

# lspci -nn |grep -i audio
00:03.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller [8086:0c0c] (rev 06)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller [8086:8c20] (rev 04)
05:00.0 Multimedia video controller [0400]: Conexant Systems, Inc. CX23885 PCI Video and Audio Decoder [14f1:8852] (rev 03)

Where's HDMI?  Where's analog?  Guessing that "4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller" might be HDMI:
blacklist.conf:

#	PCH
options snd-hda-intel index=0 model=auto vid=8086 pid=8c20
#	HDMI
options snd-hda-intel index=1 model=auto vid=8086 pid=0c0c
#	Hauppauge
options snd-hda-intel index=2 model=auto vid=14f1 pid=8852

alsaplay -l

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC892 Digital [ALC892 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Now thankfully I do now have audio for the first time on this mobo.

But HDMI is now 3rd? And there is no Hauppauge?  Can anything be done about that?

Last edited by Quantum (2014-04-16 18:01:57)

Offline

#10 2014-04-16 17:49:16

emeres
Member
Registered: 2013-10-08
Posts: 1,570

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

There is only one thing I want to clarify: when multiple sound cards use the same module, depending on various factors, boot order might change (though in your case very unlikely), which is the reason to use vid and pid.
Blacklist.conf is usually used for blacklisting only, sound.conf or alsa-base.conf usually holds options for modules.
Good, you read the whole chapter. Does Hauppage use snd-hda-intel? I doubt it, delete that last line or change module loaded to that one that the card actually uses (it should be loaded by autoprobing, instruction in the wiki).

Last edited by emeres (2014-04-16 17:50:12)

Offline

#11 2014-04-16 18:06:42

Quantum
Member
Registered: 2013-07-13
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

O I see, yeah the Hauppauge uses a different driver.  I've removed the line, but it's such a hassle to reboot since this is my main server.  vid:pid will remain the same through any reconfiguration, so they should be about the safest option.  I've had to physically grab the cards by the neck and slam them down into the right slots...  diplomacy didn't work.

And actually my modprobe file isn't named blacklist, it's my name so when I reinstall I know exactly which files I've customized.  Doesn't really matter.

Thanks for your help emeres and headkase.  Still alot of mysteries, but at least I have audio.  Now for the MythTV segfaults...

Last edited by Quantum (2014-04-16 18:10:33)

Offline

#12 2014-04-16 19:10:51

headkase
Member
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,873

Re: [SOLVED]Intel HDA HDMI Keeps Coming Back From The Dead Like a Vampire

You're welcome, I believe emeres provided better help though. smile

Last edited by headkase (2014-04-16 19:11:05)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB