You are not logged in.

#1 2014-04-23 04:11:18

stevenplanet
Member
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 19

Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

So I have this weird problem I can't seem to fix. Tint2 works perfectly absolutely perfectly when I have a single monitor enabled. However I have a second monitor which is tilted in portrait mode, so my main monitor has a resolution of 1920x1080 and the other 900x1400 (since its in portrait mode). When I disable the portrait monitor tint2 is fine, but when I turn it on in Nvidia X server settings tint2 disappears! But its still there since I can click to where the bar should be and I can see my windows coming into focus and others out of focus. I have a GTX 660 with nvidia driver package installed. I know this is a really weird problem. Hopefully one of you have had experience with this, thanks.

Offline

#2 2014-04-23 06:29:26

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: Asteroid B-612
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 3,692
Website

Re: Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

In tint2rc:

taskbar_mode = multi_desktop

Maybe?


_0_
__0
000

Offline

#3 2014-04-23 06:44:02

stevenplanet
Member
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 19

Re: Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

In tint2rc:

taskbar_mode = multi_desktop

Maybe?

Tried it, same thing hmm Thanks for the reply though.

Offline

#4 2014-04-23 22:54:05

jedijimi
Member
From: Hartford Wi
Registered: 2013-12-10
Posts: 93

Re: Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

Have you tried the 'tint2conf'??


Crude matter we are not, Luminous beings we are

Offline

#5 2014-04-24 00:06:40

stevenplanet
Member
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 19

Re: Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

jedijimi wrote:

Have you tried the 'tint2conf'??

Hmmm that didn't work either. This the output of me starting tint2 in terminal. And my tint2rc and tint2confrc as well.

tint2 &
real transparency on... depth: 32
xRandr: Found crtc's: 4
xRandr: Linking output HDMI-0 with crtc 0
xRandr: Linking output DVI-D-0 with crtc 1
tint2 : nb monitor 3, nb monitor used 3, nb desktop 4
icon with depth: 32
tint2 : not icon_swallow
icon with depth: 32
tint2 : not icon_swallow
icon with depth: 32
tint2 : not icon_swallow
icon with depth: 32
tint2 : not icon_swallow

//file tint2rc
# Tint2 config file by Kexolino

# Background definitions

# ID 1
rounded = 0
border_width = 1
background_color = #2D2D2D 100
border_color = #484848 100

# ID 2
rounded = 0
border_width = 0
background_color = #D64937 100
border_color = #000000 100

# Panel
panel_monitor = all
panel_position =  bottom center horizontal
panel_size = 100% 31
panel_margin = -2 -1
panel_padding = 0 0 10
panel_dock = 0
wm_menu = 1
panel_layer = normal
panel_background_id = 1

# Panel Autohide
autohide = 0
autohide_show_timeout = 0.2
autohide_hide_timeout = 1
autohide_height = 0
strut_policy = follow_size

# Taskbar
taskbar_mode = multi_desktop
taskbar_padding = 0 0 10
taskbar_background_id = 0
taskbar_active_background_id = 0

# Tasks
urgent_nb_of_blink = 20
task_icon = 1
task_text = 1
task_centered = 0
task_maximum_size = 200 32
task_padding = 10 4
task_background_id = 0
task_active_background_id = 2
task_urgent_background_id = 0
task_iconified_background_id = 0

# Task Icons
task_icon_asb = 100 0 0
task_active_icon_asb = 100 0 0
task_urgent_icon_asb = 100 0 0
task_iconified_icon_asb = 100 0 0

# Fonts
task_font = Droid Sans 9
task_font_color = #dcdcdc 100
task_active_font_color = #FFFFFF 100
task_urgent_font_color = #FFFFFF 100
task_iconified_font_color = #dcdcdc 80
font_shadow = 0

# System Tray
systray = 1
systray_padding = 0 6 15
systray_sort = left2right
systray_background_id = 0
systray_icon_size = 16
systray_icon_asb = 100 0 0

# Clock
time1_format = %H:%M
time1_font = Droid Sans 9
clock_font_color = #FFFFFF 100
clock_tooltip = 
clock_padding = 10 6
clock_background_id = 2
clock_lclick_command = gsimplecal
time1_timezone = 
time2_timezone = 
clock_tooltip_timezone = 

# Tooltips
tooltip = 0
tooltip_padding = 2 2
tooltip_show_timeout = 0.0
tooltip_hide_timeout = 0.0
tooltip_background_id = 2
tooltip_font = Droid Sans 9
tooltip_font_color = #FFFFFF 100

# Mouse
mouse_middle = none
mouse_right = close
mouse_scroll_up = toggle
mouse_scroll_down = iconify

# Battery
battery = 0
battery_low_status = 20
battery_low_cmd = notify-send "battery low"
battery_hide = 96
bat1_font = Liberation Mono 8
bat2_font = Liberation Mono 8
battery_font_color = #B5B5B5 100
battery_padding = 2 0
battery_background_id = 0

# End of config

//tint2confrc
#---------------------------------------------
# TINT2CONF CONFIG FILE
default_theme = /home/ansm/.config/tint2/tint2rc
cmd_property = python2 /usr/bin/tintwizard.py
width = 500
height = 350

Offline

#6 2014-04-24 00:11:51

jedijimi
Member
From: Hartford Wi
Registered: 2013-12-10
Posts: 93

Re: Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

Try this, run 'sudo nvidia-settings'  Set up (monitors) then logout and back in and see if that helps.

*edit
I found that in order for nvidia to make permanent changes need to 'sudo'

Last edited by jedijimi (2014-04-24 00:13:43)


Crude matter we are not, Luminous beings we are

Offline

#7 2014-04-24 06:10:47

stevenplanet
Member
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 19

Re: Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

I've tried everything including that at this point. I love tint2 and openbox so much, they make such a good team but unfortunately perhaps tint2 does not carry decent multi monitor support. I'm typing this unfortunately on a fresh Arch install and the problem still comes up. Tint2 ACTS like its there but I don't see it. Theres even a blank part of my browser at the bottom that I can see the wallpaper through where tint2 should be. This is so weird...

Offline

#8 2014-04-24 09:28:58

emeres
Member
Registered: 2013-10-08
Posts: 1,570

Re: Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

stevenplanet wrote:

I've tried everything including that at this point.

Did you contact the developer? Tint2 might not know/respect, that one desktop is rotated. Does tint2 show up, when forced into center of the screen or with compositing turned off? How about running two independent instances (use DISPLAY variable)?

Offline

#9 2014-04-24 10:18:26

jedijimi
Member
From: Hartford Wi
Registered: 2013-12-10
Posts: 93

Re: Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

hmm so strange. Have you tried to move tint2 around and put it on the other monitor?? After this I'm out of ideas for ya man. I would contact the developer. Also on a side note I have tint2 w/ dual monitors, and everything is good.. hmm

Also maybe something to look at this is my tint2

# Panel
panel_monitor = 1
panel_position = bottom center horizontal
panel_size = 100% 25
panel_margin = 0 0
panel_padding = 0 0 o
panel_dock = 0
wm_menu = 0
panel_layer = bottom
panel_background_id = 1


*edit     look my  'panel_layer = bottom' maybe try that   

*edit2   I can't find the wiki for posting code if someone can help me out with that thx. I'll bookmark it

Last edited by jedijimi (2014-04-24 10:36:04)


Crude matter we are not, Luminous beings we are

Offline

#10 2014-04-24 10:54:55

emeres
Member
Registered: 2013-10-08
Posts: 1,570

Re: Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

Use '[ code ][/ code ]' without spaces, the link is under 'post a reply' text form (BBCode)

Offline

#11 2014-04-24 21:36:49

jedijimi
Member
From: Hartford Wi
Registered: 2013-12-10
Posts: 93

Re: Tint2 does not appear when multiple monitors are enabled

emeres wrote:

Use '[ code ][/ code ]' without spaces, the link is under 'post a reply' text form (BBCode).

Thx for that didn't even realize that was an option lol


Crude matter we are not, Luminous beings we are

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB