You are not logged in.

#1 2014-06-01 12:15:39

PieterGen
Member
From: Groningen, NL, EU
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 59

LXQt good news!

I'm watching this with interest as I'm looking for a way to add "just a little bit of eye candy" to my Openbox and Herbstluft desktops...... Getting rid of GTK in the process. If that's possible, I haven't really dived into this I must confess......

Anyway, the debian sid based distro siduction presents its LXQt version. 

Edit: I posted this here in the general GNU/Linux section for those interested in the progress of toolkits/DEs.  LXQt seems to gain some traction, indicating it's getting better, which means more choice for us linux users. Which is a good thing, right? :-)

Last edited by PieterGen (2014-06-01 14:18:21)

Offline

#2 2014-06-01 13:03:39

libernux
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2009-09-29
Posts: 53

Re: LXQt good news!

I don't see any purpose to post this in the Arch-forum as we already have LXQt in AUR.


I was born with nothing and I still got most of it

Offline

#3 2014-06-01 13:10:51

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,640

Re: LXQt good news!

It's the general GNU/Linux discussion area, so why not. There is just not much to discuss, that has not been discussed a thousand times. Some GTK haters like me will show up and say how glad they are to get rid of GTK, some Qt lovers will show up and say how happy they are, Trilby will show up, telling us, that toolkits suck anyway, Karol will go and find all related links on the topic and a mod will close it after moving it to TGN, because the five people here actually using LXQt are too busy, well, actually using it to come here and post their five cents on nothing.

Offline

#4 2014-06-01 14:13:57

PieterGen
Member
From: Groningen, NL, EU
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 59

Re: LXQt good news!

@Awebb LOL, let's see how it goes.  Purpose added to original post.

Offline

#5 2014-06-02 00:21:35

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: LXQt good news!

@Awebb - Hahaha that is so accurate!

Offline

#6 2014-06-02 05:30:06

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,535
Website

Re: LXQt good news!

Awebb wrote:

It's the general GNU/Linux discussion area, so why not. There is just not much to discuss, that has not been discussed a thousand times. Some GTK haters like me will show up and say how glad they are to get rid of GTK, some Qt lovers will show up and say how happy they are, Trilby will show up, telling us, that toolkits suck anyway, Karol will go and find all related links on the topic and a mod will close it after moving it to TGN, because the five people here actually using LXQt are too busy, well, actually using it to come here and post their five cents on nothing.

Wow, you just described the whole Arch forums wink

Offline

#7 2014-06-12 05:32:42

PReP
Member
From: Sweden/Sala
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 347
Website

Re: LXQt good news!

I would use that as a quote if space was not limited!
That is the most casual-everyday-trueish hillarious post i have read yet this year! (the one by awebb)
*copy-pasted somewhere for keepsaking*!

(and this post of mine is doing the actual topic dis-service, i am sorry)

Last edited by PReP (2014-06-12 05:33:29)


#1 Main: Intel Core i5 2500k (Sandy) @ 3.9 Ghz, 8 GB DDR2-XMP RAM @ 1600 Mhz, Geforce GTX 570 (Gainward Phantom) - Arch Linux 64-Bit
#2 Server: Intel C2D E8400 @ 3.6 Ghz, 3 GB DDR2-RAM @ 802mhz, XFX GF GTX260 XT -ArchLinux 64-bit.

<- Server Homepage: http://prep.mine.nu ->

Offline

#8 2014-06-29 23:54:50

z1lt0id
Member
Registered: 2012-09-20
Posts: 169

Re: LXQt good news!

I use LXQT on my again work desktop (AMD x2 5000) and it runs amazingly fast as long as I don't use compositing effects such as compton.  I'm really impressed by this desktop for lower-end machines.

Offline

#9 2014-07-02 16:35:04

PReP
Member
From: Sweden/Sala
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 347
Website

Re: LXQt good news!

I tried out lxqt compiled from the lxqt-desktop aur package and it's fellow pkgbuilds.

Though i seem to run into something quite odd, whenever i try clicking the panel, it blacks out the entire screen - until i click somehwere else on the desktop that is not the panel :S
This is on an nvidia, prop' drivers and, what i think is, the defaults? (i.e without tinkering with it apart from copying the template/skeleton configs.

Is this something known, or am i just unlucky?.

In the meantime i went back to "pure" openbox again smile

(Btw, is lxqt more or less openbox + panel + compositor in reality?)

Last edited by PReP (2014-07-02 16:35:58)


#1 Main: Intel Core i5 2500k (Sandy) @ 3.9 Ghz, 8 GB DDR2-XMP RAM @ 1600 Mhz, Geforce GTX 570 (Gainward Phantom) - Arch Linux 64-Bit
#2 Server: Intel C2D E8400 @ 3.6 Ghz, 3 GB DDR2-RAM @ 802mhz, XFX GF GTX260 XT -ArchLinux 64-bit.

<- Server Homepage: http://prep.mine.nu ->

Offline

#10 2014-07-02 17:12:52

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,570
Website

Re: LXQt good news!

PReP wrote:

Btw, is lxqt more or less openbox + panel + compositor in reality?

That's all any desktop environment is in reality: window manager + panel.

I don't see anything that hints at LXQt using a compositor. It's just Openbox (but I could be wrong).

Offline

#11 2014-07-02 17:41:00

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,535
Website

Re: LXQt good news!

drcouzelis wrote:

That's all any desktop environment is in reality: window manager + panel.

And a whole lot of "carefully" thought of Programs/Applications, which you may or may not like wink

Offline

#12 2014-07-02 19:18:48

PReP
Member
From: Sweden/Sala
Registered: 2010-06-13
Posts: 347
Website

Re: LXQt good news!

Oh, yeah i suppose that is the main idea behind a DE coming to think of it, i was merely thinking in comparison to say KDE, or Gnome, with things like kwin and stuff.
And about the compositor part, perhaps it just "automagically" took hold of compton since i had already installed it, i know i got my compton.conf owerwritten and such, but perhaps it was something else.

Anyways, even if i got this odd bug at the moment, and i am leaning towards keeping it just openbox again for the time being, the project is interesting - and qt has always felt less "messy" then gtk in my personal opinion - so i am all for that smile (i switched out lxterminal for qterminal due to finding out about this at least)

Last edited by PReP (2014-07-02 19:19:04)


#1 Main: Intel Core i5 2500k (Sandy) @ 3.9 Ghz, 8 GB DDR2-XMP RAM @ 1600 Mhz, Geforce GTX 570 (Gainward Phantom) - Arch Linux 64-Bit
#2 Server: Intel C2D E8400 @ 3.6 Ghz, 3 GB DDR2-RAM @ 802mhz, XFX GF GTX260 XT -ArchLinux 64-bit.

<- Server Homepage: http://prep.mine.nu ->

Offline

#13 2014-07-02 19:41:07

HalosGhost
Member
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 1,486
Website

Re: LXQt good news!

Awebb wrote:

It's the general GNU/Linux discussion area, so why not. There is just not much to discuss, that has not been discussed a thousand times. Some GTK haters like me will show up and say how glad they are to get rid of GTK, some Qt lovers will show up and say how happy they are, Trilby will show up, telling us, that toolkits suck anyway, Karol will go and find all related links on the topic and a mod will close it after moving it to TGN, because the five people here actually using LXQt are too busy, well, actually using it to come here and post their five cents on nothing.

There's also got to be some mention of tacos.

You know what would make LXQt really awesome? A Choco Taco theme.

My work here is done.

All the best,

-HG


"All errors are ᴘᴇʙᴋᴀᴄ errors—It's just a matter of narrowing down which keyboard and chair." -Trilby
\ldots

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB