You are not logged in.

#1 2014-06-11 11:28:35

Mons1990
Member
From: Pianoro (BO) - Italy
Registered: 2012-04-23
Posts: 91

[SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

Hi, this is the harder problem I've faced in my life and I hope there's a solution but I'm not very certain.
I had to hide two very personal files hiding their names too and I found this solution: i took these files, compressed them in an inside.zip file, then compressed the zip one other time in an outside.zip file protected with password.
Today I needed to rename the inside.zip archive but File-Roller broke my archive at all (outside.zip has 22B size without chance to recover it)!
So i went on ~/.cache and I took my inside.zip from File-Roller cache, but it appears as corrupted and I can't open it (not sure but I suppose this is due to the fact that the whole archive was encrypted because part of outside.zip).
Is there a method by which I can try to fix it (zip -FF already tried)?
Thank you in advance.

Last edited by Mons1990 (2014-06-11 17:15:47)


Hardware configuration: Intel Core i5 3.4GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, NVIDIA GEForce 9600GT
Software configuration: Arch Linux, Gnome 3
Mons

Offline

#2 2014-06-11 11:54:23

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,441
Website

Re: [SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

I wouldn't be too hopeful, unless you have a backup of the original file. sad

What is the output of "file inside.zip"?

Can you browse the contents with "vim inside.zip"?

Offline

#3 2014-06-11 12:31:52

Mons1990
Member
From: Pianoro (BO) - Italy
Registered: 2012-04-23
Posts: 91

Re: [SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

Thank you for the answer.

drcouzelis wrote:

What is the output of "file inside.zip"?

$ file inside.zip
inside.zip: data
drcouzelis wrote:

Can you browse the contents with "vim inside.zip"?

nano opens the file, of course no readable output but it show me the content


Hardware configuration: Intel Core i5 3.4GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, NVIDIA GEForce 9600GT
Software configuration: Arch Linux, Gnome 3
Mons

Offline

#4 2014-06-11 13:42:57

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,441
Website

Re: [SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

Mons1990 wrote:
drcouzelis wrote:

Can you browse the contents with "vim inside.zip"?

nano opens the file, of course no readable output but it show me the content

NANO?! tongue

The reason I said Vim is because it can read the contents of a ZIP file and show you the filenames inside. If it can read the filenames from your ZIP file then it's a start. smile

Offline

#5 2014-06-11 13:58:10

Mons1990
Member
From: Pianoro (BO) - Italy
Registered: 2012-04-23
Posts: 91

Re: [SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

drcouzelis wrote:
Mons1990 wrote:
drcouzelis wrote:

Can you browse the contents with "vim inside.zip"?

nano opens the file, of course no readable output but it show me the content

NANO?! tongue

The reason I said Vim is because it can read the contents of a ZIP file and show you the filenames inside. If it can read the filenames from your ZIP file then it's a start. smile

Installed vim, but it reads only the raw file full of meaningless chars. :-(

Last edited by Mons1990 (2014-06-11 14:12:54)


Hardware configuration: Intel Core i5 3.4GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, NVIDIA GEForce 9600GT
Software configuration: Arch Linux, Gnome 3
Mons

Offline

#6 2014-06-11 14:09:56

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,441
Website

Re: [SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

It sounds like either a corrupt file or (like you suggested) it's still encrypted some how.

How big is "inside.zip"? Is the size appropriate for the contents?

How did you create the ZIP file originally?

I suggest trying as many applications as possible, even WinZip on Windows.

You could post the file online to see if anyone can hack into it.

...Other than that, I'm pretty much out of ideas.

Offline

#7 2014-06-11 14:13:02

Mons1990
Member
From: Pianoro (BO) - Italy
Registered: 2012-04-23
Posts: 91

Re: [SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

THANKS GOD I tried ALL of the files cached by file-roller and of 12 total archives with the same size ONE OF THEM WORKED! I really thank you too for helping me.

Now that I found my stuff the question is... WHY THE HELL File-Roller caches my encrypted archive on my hard disk and does it without any encryption?! It seriously violates my privacy and then broke my archives. Today I learned something: NEVER use this s***!!!

Thank you so much for help!

Last edited by Mons1990 (2014-06-11 14:14:31)


Hardware configuration: Intel Core i5 3.4GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, NVIDIA GEForce 9600GT
Software configuration: Arch Linux, Gnome 3
Mons

Offline

#8 2014-06-11 14:36:48

ANOKNUSA
Member
Registered: 2010-10-22
Posts: 2,141

Re: [SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

For future reference: GnuPG. Just give your files inconspicuous names and encrypt them.  You can also encrypt tarballs with it, if you still wanted to go that route. If you consider the issue solved, don't forget to mark your thread as such.

Offline

#9 2014-06-11 15:00:17

drcouzelis
Member
From: Connecticut, USA
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 3,441
Website

Re: [SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

Yay! smile You can add the word "[SOLVED]" to the thread title by editing the first post.

Mons1990 wrote:

Today I learned something: NEVER use this s***!!!

I use TrueCrypt (now tcplay) myself. smile

Offline

#10 2014-06-11 17:12:34

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,574
Website

Re: [SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

Please edit your first post and choose a thread title that reflects your actual issue, not your assessment of its complexity:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … ow_to_Post


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#11 2014-06-11 17:14:55

Mons1990
Member
From: Pianoro (BO) - Italy
Registered: 2012-04-23
Posts: 91

Re: [SOLVED]File-Roller corrupted zipfile

I've just encrypted with gpg, thank you all.


Hardware configuration: Intel Core i5 3.4GHz, 8GB DDR3 RAM, NVIDIA GEForce 9600GT
Software configuration: Arch Linux, Gnome 3
Mons

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB