You are not logged in.

#1 2006-01-27 03:20:32

jef
Member
Registered: 2006-01-26
Posts: 18

Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

Are there any plans to make Arch Linux run on the new Intel based Macs?

Offline

#2 2006-01-27 03:25:20

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

Well, if WinXP works on it, Arch should...

Offline

#3 2006-01-27 04:58:47

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

Does anyone know if the INtel based Macs are 64-bit? I would think so but I'm not too sure.

Offline

#4 2006-01-27 06:29:19

dojo
Member
Registered: 2005-11-02
Posts: 96

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

No, at the beginning they are 32-bit based. Later they will be 64-bit.

Greets

Sunnemer

Offline

#5 2006-01-30 15:31:02

mac57
Member
From: St. Somewhere
Registered: 2006-01-06
Posts: 302
Website

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

BTW, talking to an Apple salesman over the weekend. Apparently the new iMacs will run Windows Vista too! Unlike previous Macs, they are not using a proprietary Apple BIOS setup, but something more general purpose that is compatible with Vista too. Apple doesn't want you running MacOS on your PC, but they don't seem to mind you running Windows on your Mac. Lets them get into the booming PC hardware business! The salesman assured me that most Linux distros would be able to run on the machines.

I played around with them, and despite having on 2 GHz chips (but two of them, of course) the iMacs were very responsive. I can only guess that MacOS is lighter than Windows, and hence faster subjectively on these "slower" processors.


Cast off the Microsoft shackles Jan 2005

Offline

#6 2006-01-30 16:34:27

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

No one ever had XP running on a mac. The story about running this OS on that machine was just theoratical.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#7 2006-01-30 16:41:20

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

They had XP running on the developer models that apple shipped to developers..so they could get their code ported over.
The developer models were not quite the production versions, as they had more generic hardware in them. Still, XP ran on those...

Note that I think running XP on a mac is some kind of perversion of nature. wink


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#8 2006-01-30 17:08:22

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

Afaik, the first developer machines where not very "appelized". Just a pre-release of intel hardware that can boot macos. They'll tweak it to keep windows away. Afaik the lately released Intel based Macs can't even boot cdroms for PCs.
Meanwhile it seems a lot of people have destroyed their macs patching the EFI, trying to follow Computer Guru's "Ramblings of a Computer Guru"
Perverts.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#9 2006-01-30 20:21:13

jellywerker
Member
From: Sunny Seattle
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 286

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

There is a guy who seems to have booted xp on them now. Hehe, there will be one in my house soon, and I might get myself one when I can afford it. Being able to boot vista, arch, and osx side by side would be awesome, I just hope you can eventually get nvidia cards for them, as I personally despise ati, mostly because of how they work with blender and linux.

Offline

#10 2006-01-30 20:44:11

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

No. they will not tweak it to keep windows away. They will tweak it to keep osX from migrating away. They will put a drm chip on their hardware, and have osX check for the drm chip (code signing most likely).
What MS want(s|ed) to do with tcpm, apple will be doing..to a certain degree.

At least, that is based on everything I have read so far regarding the subject. If you find contradicting information, definately post the links.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#11 2006-01-30 21:02:13

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

Moo-Crumpus wrote:

Afaik, <snip>

That's not the best way to convince someone of something. Better is to provide a link to some somewhat authoritative sources that confirm the information you provide. It gives much less of an aura of 'I made this up, but if I say it maybe it will become true'.

Dusty

Offline

#12 2006-01-30 22:38:46

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

from what i heard ms and apple made a deal. ms would support the mac for 5 years (office and stuff) as long as apple didn't do anything to prevent windows from running on their hardware. i also read that this isn't the first time someone has used efi. gateway seems to have used efi before in one of their systems and xp was shipped with that system. i personally want to get a quad g5 before they disappear. my powerbook and mini rule! i love cocoa!

Offline

#13 2006-01-31 19:15:55

jellywerker
Member
From: Sunny Seattle
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 286

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

Syamajala: But... It's prettymuch the same, just faster... Still looks pretty, still runs osx stuff. I want them to make an intel mac mini and an affordable 17in monitor, say $1000 for a slightly beefed up mini and the display. It would sell like hotcakes (maybe ipods is a bit more relevant modern term big_smile)

Offline

#14 2006-01-31 22:40:41

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Arch Linux on Intel Macs?

but in terms of upgradability nothing can beat the quad g5. and if i got a system like that i would probably be able to use it until after i graduated from college.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB