You are not logged in.

#1 2014-06-20 17:45:28

Peilonrayz

[Solved] 'Best' way to install programs?

I was wondering what the arch Linux community thought the best way to install things is.

I was wondering if compiling things from source would be better in some cases then using Pacman, I'm sure I read that you prefer people to install from source, when I was reading the tex live wiki. Now I could have been wrong, read something wrong or just not understood.
I'm sure this makes the program faster, and makes me be able to install them to my every need, but then is updating and keeping them up to date problematic? Should I install OpenGL and mesa from source, and leave the rest like Firefox to Pacman?

I am new to Linux, and haven't compiled anything from source, and would like to know how to.

Last edited by Peilonrayz (2014-06-21 12:03:57)

#2 2014-06-20 17:49:07

HalosGhost
Forum Moderator
Website

Re: [Solved] 'Best' way to install programs?

Even if you compile from-source, you should still install using pacman. PKGBUILDs are your friends.

All the best,

-HG

#3 2014-06-20 17:50:17

samiam
Banned

See https://aur.archlinux.org/

I prefer packer to manage it, but I'm sure you'll get other suggestions.

I'd highly recommend staying away from compiling from source. If you don't know how to make a PKGBUILD for whatever it is you're compiling by hand, you'll probably regret doing it.

#4 2014-06-20 17:54:09

bstaletic

Wether you build packages from source or use binary packages from the repos you should install using pacman. If you want a package that is not in the repos nor in the AUR find the source and write PKGBUILD for it. After that feel free to submit it to AUR.

#5 2014-06-20 18:14:42

ANOKNUSA