You are not logged in.

#1 2014-06-25 10:15:48

supernerd

How to inspect AUR package PKBUILD and .install files

Hi,

Linux and arch newbie here. I was reading the wiki article about the AUR and noticed this bit:

Warning: Carefully check all files. cd to the newly created directory and carefully check the PKGBUILD and any .install file for malicious commands. PKGBUILDs are bash scripts containing functions to be executed by makepkg: these functions can contain any valid commands or Bash syntax, so it is totally possible for a PKGBUILD to contain dangerous commands through malice or ignorance on the part of the author. Since makepkg uses fakeroot (and should never be run as root), there is some level of protection but you should never count on it. If in doubt, do not build the package and seek advice on the forums or mailing list.

This is something that have not been doing at all in the past, but I am trying to improve my practices managing my system.

The problem is, I do not know what exactly I am looking at or for in these files. If I give these files a look over before installing the package, can I honestly expect to spot something malicious? What would I need to learn to notice if something was fishy?

Anyway, I am not to worried about this practically, because I only use a handful of AUR packages and I usually install ones based on recommendations, not just at random. But it still seemed interesting for the wiki to stress this so strongly. How important is this guidline anyway?

Thanks!

[EDIT: spelling]

Last edited by supernerd (2014-06-25 10:41:13)

#2 2014-06-25 10:49:39

karol
Archivist

Re: How to inspect AUR package PKBUILD and .install files

You need to read the whole PKGBUILD and understand what it is doing and why.

#3 2014-06-25 10:59:33

supernerd

karol wrote:

You need to read the whole PKGBUILD and understand what it is doing and why.

Understanding 'what' is not so difficult usually. It is understanding 'why' that seems hard I guess.