You are not logged in.

#1 2006-01-30 02:08:07

lumiwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 712

snd configuration - rosegarden

Hi!

Again me and question about Rosegarden and sound card configuration help:
In the rc.conf I have:
MODULES=(snd-emu10k1-synth)

In the /etc/modprobe.conf:
# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF version 1.0.10 ---
alias snd-card-0 snd-emu10k1
alias sound-slot-0 snd-emu10k1
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---

Everything works (mid, mp3, mpg, avi...) except Rosegarden. When I started it computer freezing. Yesterd Rosegarden start first time, works without problem but when I start next time was same as ''normal''.

Lsmod show me:

lsmod | grep snd
snd_rtctimer            2700  0
rtc                    10932  1 snd_rtctimer
snd_seq_oss            33408  0
snd_seq_midi            7328  0
snd_emu10k1_synth       7040  0
snd_emu10k1           121764  3 snd_emu10k1_synth
snd_ac97_codec         95136  1 snd_emu10k1
snd_pcm                84100  2 snd_emu10k1,snd_ac97_codec
snd_ac97_bus            2176  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_page_alloc          8840  2 snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm
snd_emux_synth         36608  1 snd_emu10k1_synth
snd_seq_virmidi         6400  1 snd_emux_synth
snd_rawmidi            21152  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_emu10k1,snd_seq_virmidi
snd_seq_midi_event      6400  3 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_virmidi
snd_seq_midi_emul       6912  1 snd_emux_synth
snd_seq                51984  8 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_midi_emul
snd_timer              22148  4 snd_rtctimer,snd_emu10k1,snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device          7436  7 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_emu10k1_synth,snd_emu10k1,snd_emux_synth,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
snd_hwdep               7712  2 snd_emu10k1,snd_emux_synth
snd                    49124  15 snd_seq_oss,snd_emu10k1,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_emux_synth,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device,snd_hwdep
soundcore               8160  1 snd
snd_util_mem            3840  2 snd_emu10k1,snd_emux_synth

I have a SB Live!.

Thanks in advance,

Mitja

Offline

#2 2006-01-30 04:52:30

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

Are you sure your user's in the audio group?

Offline

#3 2006-01-30 12:15:46

lumiwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 712

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

reb wrote:

Are you sure your user's in the audio group?

Yes, I am sure.

Offline

#4 2006-01-30 12:46:44

filoktetes
Member
From: Skien, Norway
Registered: 2003-12-29
Posts: 286

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

It was just a thought, but if it weren't none of the other programs would have worked either, would they...

Offline

#5 2006-01-30 12:54:32

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

reb wrote:

It was just a thought, but if it weren't none of the other programs would have worked either, would they...

You can check if it is a permission error by running the application as root

Offline

#6 2006-01-30 14:09:11

lumiwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 712

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

pressh wrote:
reb wrote:

It was just a thought, but if it weren't none of the other programs would have worked either, would they...

You can check if it is a permission error by running the application as root

I did try before and was same: computer freezing. And problem was on Xorg 6.8 and the same is on Xorg 7.0 which I have now.

Mitja

BTW: KMid works fine.

Offline

#7 2006-01-30 18:54:11

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 878

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

did you run rosegarden from console to see what the output was?

Offline

#8 2006-01-30 19:08:52

lumiwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 712

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

Pajaro wrote:

did you run rosegarden from console to see what the output was?

yes, I did but problem is that was start picture of rosegarden above text in the console. I will try again in the evening. Thanks.

Offline

#9 2006-01-31 00:48:54

lumiwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 712

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

Pajaro wrote:

did you run rosegarden from console to see what the output was?

I did run again as root from console. Computer freez, there are no error messages.

Offline

#10 2006-01-31 09:47:29

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 878

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

what i would do now:

¿Does it crashes even if you have jack NOT running?
Try to recompile rosegarden and jack (this may help)
Try to unload all sound modules and leave only the basic necessary modules for it to open

hmmmm... that's what i can think about now

Offline

#11 2006-02-01 12:00:36

lumiwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 712

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

Pajaro wrote:

what i would do now:

¿Does it crashes even if you have jack NOT running?
Try to recompile rosegarden and jack (this may help)
Try to unload all sound modules and leave only the basic necessary modules for it to open

hmmmm... that's what i can think about now

Nothing help...for now pacman -Rd

Thanks a lot smile

Offline

#12 2006-02-01 20:04:47

rmrfwindows
Member
Registered: 2006-01-28
Posts: 17

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

I had the same problem. If you run jackd manually (not the service jack-audio-connection-kit), it seems to help.

Also, if you compile rosegarden from cvs, it works fine without the jackd running.

Offline

#13 2006-02-01 20:39:04

lumiwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 712

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

rmrfwindows wrote:

I had the same problem. If you run jackd manually (not the service jack-audio-connection-kit), it seems to help.

Also, if you compile rosegarden from cvs, it works fine without the jackd running.

Thanks, I will try in the evening smile.

Offline

#14 2006-02-02 01:23:51

lumiwa
Member
Registered: 2005-12-26
Posts: 712

Re: snd configuration - rosegarden

rmrfwindows wrote:

I had the same problem. If you run jackd manually (not the service jack-audio-connection-kit), it seems to help.

Also, if you compile rosegarden from cvs, it works fine without the jackd running.

Thanks a lot. It works and I will compile now smile.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB