You are not logged in.

#1 2014-07-30 11:22:04

snowblind
Member
Registered: 2013-07-18
Posts: 39

tun module does not load automatically (or even with modprobe)

I'm running into an issue where the tun module does not load automatically. As I understand it, the tun module should automatically be loaded as needed -- as soon as you start a VPN connection for instance.

However it doesn't actually do so. VPN connections immediately and automatically fail.

Even when I do `modprobe tun` it doesn't actually load:

[winter@winter ~]$ lsmod | grep tun
[winter@winter ~]$ modprobe tun
[winter@winter ~]$ lsmod | grep tun
[winter@winter ~]$ 

However, if I find the actual tun.ko file and use insmod, it loads just fine:

[root@winter ~]# lsmod| grep tun
[root@winter ~]# insmod tun.ko 
[root@winter ~]# lsmod| grep tun
tun                    20931  0 
[root@winter ~]# 

And I'm able to complete the VPN connections successfully.

Does anyone know why this might be happening, and what I can do to solve it so I don't have to manually insert the tun module every time I restart my computer?

Offline

#2 2016-07-24 13:05:02

devurandom
Member
Registered: 2016-01-29
Posts: 1

Re: tun module does not load automatically (or even with modprobe)

I do have the same issue with the Linux Kernel 4.6.3-1-ARCH:

Autoloading does not work:

NetworkManager[10089]: open /dev/net/tun: No such device

modprobe fails:

# sudo modprobe tun                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
modprobe: FATAL: Module tun not found in directory /lib/modules/4.6.3-1-ARCH

insmod succeeds:

# sudo insmod /lib/modules/4.6.4-1-ARCH/kernel/drivers/net/tun.ko.gz
# lsmod | grep tun
tun                    28672  0

Last edited by devurandom (2016-07-24 13:08:42)

Offline

#3 2016-07-24 13:48:36

Scimmia
Fellow
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 11,325

Re: tun module does not load automatically (or even with modprobe)

devurandom, that looks like you simply failed to reboot after a kernel upgrade.

Please don't necrobump 2 year old threads.

Online

#4 2016-07-24 14:10:50

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,678
Website

Re: tun module does not load automatically (or even with modprobe)

As noted, please leave old threads in peace.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … bumping.22

Closing.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB