You are not logged in.

#1 2014-08-11 19:56:17

Fallere825

[Solved] Give Programs permission to write files to external HDD

Well, I'm quite new to Arch, and to be blunt, this problem didn't arise in any other distro I've tried till now (not that I'd want to go back)

Because I have a Laptop with an 128Gb SSD, disk space is quite rare, so I want programs like Browsers, Donloaders etc. to write the files they download to my external hard drive. But whenever I, let say, download a picture using chromium, and select /run/mdia/kano/Elements/Download (kano is my accountname and Elements the exHDD's name) as download path, chromium says "Cannot save due to insufficient permissions. Please save to another location.". It's the same with JDownloader and Konversation (using DCC), with similar errors.

I can't even copy files to it, altought I can read all files.

I already tried changing permission by using

sudo chmod -R 775 /run/media/kano/Elements

(I read that somewhere else) but it didn't solve the problem.

I also read that the problem is the fact that th exHDD's file system is ntfs, which the kernel boots as read-only. however, I did not find a way to change this.

I'd be really gratefull if someone could tell me what commands I have to use to make the exHdd read and write, as I guess that there is some kind of command for this I'm not aware of.

Last edited by Fallere825 (2014-08-11 20:44:25)

There are no bad questions in this world, because with every answered question humanity grows a bit.
And if all questions would be answered, we'd be living in an awesome world.

#2 2014-08-11 20:00:09

runical

Re: [Solved] Give Programs permission to write files to external HDD