You are not logged in.

#1 2014-08-20 01:50:23

jajacool

Issue setting up ALSA and getting sound

This is my first time really using Arch.
I cannot for the life of me get the sound to work. All channels are unmuted and I did manage to get white noice to the speakers using some command which I can't find anymore (aplay /dev/urandom something something card 1), but all speaker-test commands failed. I think the issue is that Alsa is using my HDMI as the default, which I can't find a way to change form the wiki's instructions due to them having the same module name snd_hda_intel.
If you can help I'd appreciate it

#2 2014-08-20 04:27:02

headkase

Re: Issue setting up ALSA and getting sound

Here's a template from my own system at one time for when different hardware shares the same driver and going about managing them:

options snd_hda_intel enable=1,0 vid=8086,10de pid=3b56,0bea
options snd_hda_intel index=0 vid=8086 pid=3b56
options snd_usb_audio index=1

You get the "vid" and "pid" from "lspci -nn | grep -i audio" → See in: This Section.

In the given example there are two audio cards, one 8086:3b56 and one 10de:0bea.  Notice how they are split in the enable options.  In the enable options, 1 is enabled and 0 is disabled.  The next line, the "index=0" line, makes the card that was enabled the default device as well by making it "0".  You can ignore the "snd_usb_audio" line as that is specific to my own system to make a webcam microphone the next device in line.

If you want both audio devices enabled, using vid and pid give one index 0 (the one you want to be default) and the other index 1 or greater.  In this case you would also not have an enable line.

Save the given configuration file with your specific vid's and pid's as "/etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf" and reboot your system for it to take effect.

Last edited by headkase (2014-08-20 04:35:57)

#3 2014-08-20 04:48:59

ewaller
Administrator