You are not logged in.

#1 2006-02-08 20:22:11

ak-87
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2006-02-08
Posts: 15

Internet connection and pacman?

i am using 64K isdn line.I've installed wvdial,set up connection.Wvdial connect,but when I entered>

#pacman -Sy

I've got this>

"gethostbyname: Resource temporarily unavailable"
"error: cannot connect to ftp.archlinux.org" 

Also when I "ping" google for example,I get that there is no host...
Does anyone know the solution for the problem?

P.S.I've found similar problems on forum,but there is no concrete solution... :oops:

Offline

#2 2006-02-08 21:43:46

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: Internet connection and pacman?

Can you ping 66.102.9.147 (Google's IP address)? If so, you need to set up /etc/resolv.conf. If not, does ifconfig show ppp0? Do your logs show a connection being made?

Offline

#3 2006-02-09 07:54:37

ak-87
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2006-02-08
Posts: 15

Re: Internet connection and pacman?

I've set up resolv.conf,it ping Google's IP,but it doesn't work with www.google.com.Also ifconfig shows that there is ppp0 connection...
:?:  :?:  :?:

Offline

#4 2006-02-09 09:19:29

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: Internet connection and pacman?

That means your resolv.conf is not set up correctly. The minimum requirement is one line like this:

nameserver <IP address>

but typically you would have two lines, and you can have as many as you want. Obviously, you need to be able to ping or traceroute the addresses entered.

Offline

#5 2006-02-09 11:01:43

ak-87
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2006-02-08
Posts: 15

Re: Internet connection and pacman?

Ok,thanx,connection works fine now..I copied Debian resolv.conf where nameserver is set like this>

Nameserver
xxx.xx.xxx.x
xxx.xx.xxx.xx

,so that's where the problem was... :oops:

Now,I would like to know how can I connect using wvdial as a normal user?
When I try to connect I get back that /dev/ttyS0 is busy...But with root account there is no problem?

Also,I have problems with cyrillic fonts,because they are awful in SeaMonkey,is there any package that can fix that?

Offline

#6 2006-02-09 11:06:03

ak-87
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2006-02-08
Posts: 15

Re: Internet connection and pacman?

not just cyrillic fonts,all fonts look awful!
They are too italic or too small...

Offline

#7 2006-02-09 11:43:03

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: Internet connection and pacman?

I don't use wvdial, so I can't help you there.

Re fonts, there are numerous threads on the subject - have you done a search?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB