You are not logged in.

#1 2014-08-31 02:27:15

ralph99

issue with virtualbox installation

Hi All,

I'm keen to install and use Arch but I'm having some difficulty.  I have very little computer knowledge but I want to learn.  I managed to get ubuntu 14.04 up and running (after accidently wiping windows 8.1 from my computer during the install.  that accident turned out ok because now my home is 100% linux).  Because of the accident just noted I thought I'd try Arch by virtual box in the ubuntu 14.04 host first.  So I installed virtual box, downloaded the Arch iso, started up virtual box and it was all going very well. I was very pleased with myself when the Arch page appeared on virtual box (I was following the very excellent tutorial by wideaperture.net/blog/...) and then the root@archiso ~ # _ appeared so I thought all was well.  But then  nothing happened, I couldn't enter anything after the root sign (I could actually, but it took 10-15 minutes, and what appeared was something like: iiiiiiiiiiiiiisssssssssss/////////).  Then virtual box "aborted". 

During the installation the screen noted problems. The first was: [0.000000] tsc: Fast TSC calibration failed. The second was [1.171623] failed to access perfctr msr (msr cl iso).  But the installation kept going after those error messages.  However later in the installation it said [ three red astrisk] A start job is running for Rebuild Dynamic Linker Ca in (8s/no limit) [96.354344] piix4_smbus 0000:00:07.0:smbus  base address uninitialised-upgrade BOIS or use...(then it disappeared when virtual box aborted).

I understand that I may not be ready for Arch yet, and maybe I should stick to ubuntu for a while longer, but I'm wondering if anyone can help me with the above installation issue.