You are not logged in.

#1 2006-02-09 11:28:43

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Busted state of Arch64

I've been trying to install Arch64 for the last 7 hours. I wrote a new install script (which is also busted, don't use it) and tried all kinds of crap, but Arch64 refuses to boot. I've tried initrd and non-initrd kernels, neither work. If I don't get a VFS panic, I get a modprobe loop panic.

My question is: Why is Arch64 so bloody hard to install?! :evil:

When I get up, I'll try using a Gentoo LiveCD. (Already tried Arch install CD and Ubuntu [ubuntu is a ^#*&^#$ piece of crap, btw].)


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#2 2006-02-09 13:16:13

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,771

Re: Busted state of Arch64

Ok use a live CD (64 bit) Kanotix64 Gentoo64 (install) many others not unbunnypoo lol

set up paritions mount points then try out ArchBS script in wiki ....

you will need to add kernel package & boot manager ;-)

There should be no real difference between 32 bit install & Arch64

Just that Arch64 iso is waaay out of date

More to the point the project needs more help & support

I have Arch64 installed but could never get X working correctly (my fault!)

HTH


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2006-02-09 15:46:06

Moritz
Member
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: 2002-10-12
Posts: 166

Re: Busted state of Arch64

I had no problems installing arch64 using the wiki pages.
Even lilo from testing works for me!

Offline

#4 2006-02-09 17:31:32

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: Busted state of Arch64

Never had any problems either. I have installed it from the gentoo iso many many times.

Offline

#5 2006-02-10 00:34:29

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: Busted state of Arch64

Thread can be deleted, I got it working, then I broke it again.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#6 2006-02-15 12:38:28

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: Busted state of Arch64

Moritz wrote:

I had no problems installing arch64 using the wiki pages.
Even lilo from testing works for me!

Lilo works :shock:  Great news.

I just missed a few threads the last days. Sometimes leaving the forum marks the threads have been read although I haven't :evil:

Offline

#7 2006-02-15 21:22:15

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Busted state of Arch64

AndyRTR wrote:

I just missed a few threads the last days. Sometimes leaving the forum marks the threads have been read although I haven't :evil:

Yes, I noticed that a while ago. When you log out, all threads gets marked as read even though you didn't read them.  Although I find that unconvenient, I've never bothered reporting it.  roll

Offline

#8 2006-02-16 00:32:36

codemac
Member
From: Cliche Tech Place
Registered: 2005-05-13
Posts: 785
Website

Re: Busted state of Arch64

I think that the problem is that phpbb handles posts as "new" and "old" instead "read" and "unread."  So if you log out, everything posted before you logged out is "old."  And obviously if you are using the "Posts since last visit (XX)" link, they'll be handled on a time of posting, not read state basis... but then again... the whole board shouldn't work like that, just that search.. hmm.  bug indeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB