You are not logged in.

#1 2014-09-04 20:49:56

kaslusimoes

[SOLVED] Dual UEFI Arch (ext4+btrfs) installation

Hey there,

I'm already using Arch on a UEFI motherboard installed on a EXT4 partition for quite a while whithout further problems but I'd like to install another Arch (I'm using Gummiboot) just to test BTRFS.
Since I'm not so sure of how to do it, and as I'm somewhat new to Arch, I thought it'd nice to ask here first.

1. Can I use the same EFI partition without both Archs conflicting or do I need to do some workaround?
2. Does Gummiboot support BTRFS naturally?
3. Is there any precautions I should take (besides a backup)?

Thanks

Last edited by kaslusimoes (2014-09-06 01:20:44)

#2 2014-09-04 21:12:56

Head_on_a_Stick
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Dual UEFI Arch (ext4+btrfs) installation

1. I think you would have to use different subdirectories as both installations will have a vmlinuz-linux & initramfs-linux.img; just set the paths in the gummiboot config files.
2. Gummiboot operates in the EFI system partition (FAT32), so the btrfs root partition will not effect it AFAIK.
3. Backup
smile

#3 2014-09-05 18:51:42

teateawhy
Website

Do you already have free space for the btrfs partition on your harddrive?

#4 2014-09-05 23:23:30

kaslusimoes

@teateawhy Yes.

Actually I already managed to get it working ^^
Just had to follow some things spread over the ArchWiki and set a differente name for initramfs-linux.img (and add another Gummiboot entry).

I could explain it if someone wanted

#5 2014-09-05 23:31:26

Head_on_a_Stick
Website

@kaslusimoes: I believe it is considered polite for the OP to share an independently-discovered solution with the community.
After all, life is a two-way street tongue
Also, won't the initramfs-linux.img be re-renamed every time the kernel is updated?

#6 2014-09-06 01:19:20

kaslusimoes

@Head_on_a_Stick Oh, my bad.. Surely you are right!
I don't exactly remebered every step but I'll try to summarize it in here by parts: