You are not logged in.

#1 2014-09-11 06:20:53

fennectech

Btrfs disk surface scan

Okay good question here.  How do i make btrfsck scan for or become aware of bad blocks in the disk?

Last edited by fennectech (2014-09-12 05:16:13)

[FennecTECH@ArchOS ~]$ cat about_myself
Hello there my name is FennecTECH I am a novice arch user though I am here to learn  I live in central Minnesota where I hangout in the console and make my way into X11. Nice to meet you all! Enjoy my home directory feel free to poke around. There is a solution to every problem, so long as you do not break the laws of physics.
=^_^=
[FennecTECH@ArchOS ~]$

#2 2014-09-11 10:37:49

x33a
Forum Fellow

Re: Btrfs disk surface scan

Please use a more descriptive thread title.

#3 2014-09-11 18:22:10

nstgc

You really don't fsck a btrfs partition. Instead you should run # btrfs scrub start /path/to/mounted/partition (I run it with the switches -Bd). Is there a reason you need to run fsck?

#4 2014-09-11 21:10:32

fennectech

did not know of btrfs scrub   will check it out

Hello there my name is FennecTECH I am a novice arch user though I am here to learn  I live in central Minnesota where I hangout in the console and make my way into X11. Nice to meet you all! Enjoy my home directory feel free to poke around. There is a solution to every problem, so long as you do not break the laws of physics.
=^_^=
[FennecTECH@ArchOS ~]$

#5 2014-09-11 22:00:12

karol
Archivist

Please edit your first post and change the thread title as x33a asked.
Please use punctuation marks and capital letters.

#6 2014-09-11 22:07:27

fennectech

scrub device /dev/sda1 (id 1) done
    scrub started at Thu Sep 11 16:22:59 2014 and finished after 1593 seconds
    total bytes scrubbed: 81.63GiB with 68 errors
    error details: csum=68
    corrected errors: 0, uncorrectable errors: 68, unverified errors: 0
ERROR: There are uncorrectable errors.
[fennectech@archos ~]$

it only scrubed  like a third of the disk yikes

=^_^=